We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birtley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great hotel”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Me and my partner stayed in a double room on sunday 25th November 2012. Got a last minute deal and we were really pleased with what we found.
The room was really spacious and clean and the shower was really powerful.
The staff were all very efficient and helpful and the porter was on hand immediately to help with bags.
Only thing to mention was that the main entrance and parking was quite tricky to find, we done a few laps before having to park and ask a local restaurant for directions, and we know the area really well!
But overall a lovely clean hotel, equipped with all you could need for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the 9th floor (911-920) have the train line running by directly outside window across the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    592
    267
    153
    129
See reviews for
229
903
42
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We attended a wedding on Sat 17th November..excellent day and evening. Most of the staff from doorman to reception,dining room were very efficent and couteous, the food was hot and delicious only downside were the bar-staff at the evening buffet ...they didnt seem to know what they were doing and the price of a gin & tonic (£8.00) seemed a bit steep woundnt have been so bad if it had been served in the correct type of glass...not a half pint...no ice or lemon etc!!...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valricjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at the Vermont Hotel on Sunday 18th November through a livingsocialdeal, we have never been to Newcastle before and loved every minute of it. The hotel is in a brilliant location, all staff on reception, bar, dining room and cleaners were all welcoming. Our room was spacious and spotless. We dined in the Restaurant overlooking the bridge which was a lovely setting, all 3 courses were excellent and wine included in deal was good quality, service was superb and all staff was lovely and chatty. Breakfast also good quality and served at the table not buffet style. Overall this is a top quality hotel and we will hopefully return very soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyPManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieW, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Can I take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful feedback that you left following your recent visit to the Vermont Hotel.
Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in.
It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel was clean but a bit dated. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We got there at 12.45 but could only check in on paper as room not ready till 2pm. It wasn't easy to find therefore ended up going round in circles a few times. Can't comment on the breakfast as we were room only. Great location for the shops and arena and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adnilancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here 15-18th November my third visit in the space of a year and how disappointing it was this time. I was given room 1019 which was very close to the railway tracks which meant little sleep. The sink in my room was very poor to say the water trickled away slowly would be an understatement, some tiles were missing near the bath and some were different from Others.
The breakfast is self service and the presentation of the food was a shambles,eggs piled on top of each other,bacon barely cooked,hash browns mushy. The staff seemed incapable of replenishing food when it ran out. No alternatives were offered. At one point I saw 3 members of staff ask a couple it they wanted more toast which they did but by the time I left still no toast. It's a shame to see a nice hotel go downhill so much in the space of a year. Whoever rates these hotels needs to revisit and regrade certainley not worthy of 4 stars.

Room Tip: always ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Due to attending a local concert, we decided to stay in Newcastle rather than travel back home late at night. From searching website for reduced hotels on the night in question I found a double room en suite at The Vermont Hotel on sale at £47. Knowing the hotel I knew we could not afford to stay on nonreduced prices so booked for the one night no breakfast option and we were not dissapointed. Of course we realised that we were not going to be given a top room with river view and we were not, but the room was very adequate for our needs. In fact the room was very large, clean and tidy. Had all the ameneties you want and without having to ask reception for eg hairdryer. The ensuite was large and supplied with the nice touch of shampoos, shower gel, flannel (proper towelling one too). Towels lovely and soft too. Bed comfortable, armchairs to relax in as well. It seemed a shamed in the end that we were only staying the one night. Reception staff on checking in and out were very professional and friendly. One comment to add, would be the concierge at the hotel. He was friendly, helpful and with a lovely sense of humour which is very nice to see when they must deal with a high volume of visitors all with different temperaments.
Would recommend a stay here, even if just for one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBYORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I stayed here with my partner on Saturday 17th November, as a special pre Christmas treat. This is not what I would consider a 4* Hotel. The room was drab the carpet dirty and the mattress was without doubt the lumpiest and most uncomfortable I have ever experienced. It was like a cast odd from bad lads army!!. The breakfast in the morning was self service and the presentation of the buffet resembled a road smash, the fried eggs were congealed, all thrown on top of each other with bust yolks....I certainly think someone had upset the chef!!, and the sausage and bacon looked under cooked and very unnappetising, we had no cups on our table and butters and jams had not been replenished and used plates were not removed....generally a very unsatisfactory overall standard. This was a Living Social Deal purchase, and I feel perhaps we may have been given a budget room but would still expect a certain standard which was clearly not met.I would not have paid the full price for this standard of accommodation. I would not return even if they were giving the rooms away!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 72Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vermont ApartHotel
The Vermont ApartHotel
#47 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing