We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, classical, clean but some problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient, classical, clean but some problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed for two nights on business recently. I was pleased with the situation of my room - top floor front of hotel, views of the river and bridges. The hotel itself is an easy 5 minute walk to the centre, and also convenient for the station.

My twin-bedded room was of a good size, as was the bathroom. The decor maybe would have benefited from brightening up but was not tatty. Both beds were very soft and springy - felt like they had seen better days. There was free WiFi - not a strong signal but enough to watch TV by (very limited range of channels on the old-fashioned 'fat' set).

Bath towels were generously sized. The shower was fabulous, very powerful, but sadly COLD on the final morning. Reception told me that the boiler should be fixed soon, which transpired to be overly optimistic. Apologies were scarce and no solution offered, such as being able to use one of the vacant rooms. Very disappointing.

The woman serving breakfast was friendly and kind, as were the concierges. Breakfast itself was underwhelming, although I was content with croissants and coffee. The cooked options did not look appetising, as my colleagues confirmed.

Other colleagues stayed in another city centre hotel, similarly priced but with a decent breakfast and comfortable beds - I shall request that one next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westmesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieW, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback; as a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not.
Can I firstly apologise for the poor experience you feel you had at the Vermont Hotel. This is certainly not the impression that we wish to leave with our guests and please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this way. As part of the forthcoming improvement program, all hotel beds will be replaced and a £3m investment will help to return The Vermont Hotel to the standards our guests have come to expect.
I really do hope that you can accept my apologies for the issues you raised, and I will work with the team to ensure that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    585
    264
    152
    127
See reviews for
223
886
42
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband booked what we thought was a great deal through living Social for £49 B&B. I've always thought The Vermont was a luxury hotel and the truth is it is far from it. Staff were fine but the hotel room was horrendously dated and dreary. I understand the hotel does not make money on these deals but I thought that they do this so that the customer would recommend the hotel and return on a full price etc. However that will not be the case as they put us in the deepest darkest corner of the hotel overlooking the rail bridge and the rear wall of the hotel. The interior had seen bette days 15 years ago. Literally the only good thing was the power shower but even that soaked the wall paper making it mouldy :( we will never return to the Vermont, we were really shocked at how bad it was. Save your money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birtley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Me and my partner stayed in a double room on sunday 25th November 2012. Got a last minute deal and we were really pleased with what we found.
The room was really spacious and clean and the shower was really powerful.
The staff were all very efficient and helpful and the porter was on hand immediately to help with bags.
Only thing to mention was that the main entrance and parking was quite tricky to find, we done a few laps before having to park and ask a local restaurant for directions, and we know the area really well!
But overall a lovely clean hotel, equipped with all you could need for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the 9th floor (911-920) have the train line running by directly outside window across the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We attended a wedding on Sat 17th November..excellent day and evening. Most of the staff from doorman to reception,dining room were very efficent and couteous, the food was hot and delicious only downside were the bar-staff at the evening buffet ...they didnt seem to know what they were doing and the price of a gin & tonic (£8.00) seemed a bit steep woundnt have been so bad if it had been served in the correct type of glass...not a half pint...no ice or lemon etc!!...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valricjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at the Vermont Hotel on Sunday 18th November through a livingsocialdeal, we have never been to Newcastle before and loved every minute of it. The hotel is in a brilliant location, all staff on reception, bar, dining room and cleaners were all welcoming. Our room was spacious and spotless. We dined in the Restaurant overlooking the bridge which was a lovely setting, all 3 courses were excellent and wine included in deal was good quality, service was superb and all staff was lovely and chatty. Breakfast also good quality and served at the table not buffet style. Overall this is a top quality hotel and we will hopefully return very soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyPManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieW, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Can I take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful feedback that you left following your recent visit to the Vermont Hotel.
Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in.
It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel was clean but a bit dated. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We got there at 12.45 but could only check in on paper as room not ready till 2pm. It wasn't easy to find therefore ended up going round in circles a few times. Can't comment on the breakfast as we were room only. Great location for the shops and arena and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adnilancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here 15-18th November my third visit in the space of a year and how disappointing it was this time. I was given room 1019 which was very close to the railway tracks which meant little sleep. The sink in my room was very poor to say the water trickled away slowly would be an understatement, some tiles were missing near the bath and some were different from Others.
The breakfast is self service and the presentation of the food was a shambles,eggs piled on top of each other,bacon barely cooked,hash browns mushy. The staff seemed incapable of replenishing food when it ran out. No alternatives were offered. At one point I saw 3 members of staff ask a couple it they wanted more toast which they did but by the time I left still no toast. It's a shame to see a nice hotel go downhill so much in the space of a year. Whoever rates these hotels needs to revisit and regrade certainley not worthy of 4 stars.

Room Tip: always ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Vermont ApartHotel
The Vermont ApartHotel
#48 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing