We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of date room interior, Appalling Service”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of date room interior, Appalling Service”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

When we first arrived in the hotel, there was a very unhappy customer who had only stayed the first night of their stay. The reception was rude him. At first I thought the customer was being fussy.
We had to wait 15 minutes to be looked after with no apology. The receptionist was rude and very unhelpful when asking about things to see and do in the area.
When we got to our room, it was very hot and smelled of TCP. My friend (who is a supervisor in a 4* hotel herself) went to complain, which the receptionist was very miserable about and very unhelpful. Reluctantly, we were given another room, which wasnt much of an improvement.
There was no air-con in the room and the window only opened ajar; all that was provided was a small fan.
On one occasion, we rang room service. 40 minutes later we were still waiting. We had to ring again, which they passed off saying "there had been a problem" No apologies were given for this. We planned to have dinner in the hotel but decided to spend our money elsewhere.
Other friends had stayed in Sleeperz around the corner, which was more modern, with friendly and helpful staff. This was also cheaper and more central.
The pluses of this hotel: it has a gym and the bar is very young and trendy. It is also very central with a good view, if requested.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Can I firstly apologise for the poor service you feel you had at the Vermont Hotel. This is certainly not the impression that we wish to leave with our guests and please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this way. Following your feedback, I have arranged a meeting with the front of house team to highlight the importance of you, our guest and ensure that everyone works together to deliver the Geordie welcome for which we are renowned!
I really do hope that you can accept my apologies for the issues you raised, and I will work with the team to ensure that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    601
    275
    154
    131
See reviews for
238
925
43
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Superbreak which included rail travel on East Coast trains and Bed and Breakfast in this hotel,
Our room was spacious with kings size bed and large bathroom. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar in the room. There was a rather old fashioned TV and DVD player available. Wifi was free and worked well. However probably because we were on a cheap deal we were given a room at the back overlooking a dingy fire escape and had practically no natural light which meant we needed the lights on all the tine. It was a bit tired decor wise but clean with good large fluffy towels.. There was continuous buzzing from water pipes or similar but did not stop us from sleeping. To be honest if we had been staying any longer I would have complained and asked for another room.
Breakfast was a cold buffet of fruits, cereals etc with a good selection of cooked breakfast available. However the eggs Benedict I had was disappointing as it came in a sea of cold sauce completely swamping the eggs.The public areas of the hotel were pleasant.
We enjoyed our break but if staying in the future I would demand a refurbished room with daylight!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one at the front or at least with some sort of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank av1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Can I take this opportunity to thank you for the feedback that you left following your recent visit to the Vermont Hotel.
Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in, and likewise areas for improvement.
It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.
Bedroom allocations are booked based on a first come arrangement, and often third party bookings do take a little longer to reach the hotel than those made direct. Should you prefer a specific bedroom or view, please do not hessitate to book directly on 0191 233 1010 and we will do our utmost to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Staff very professional and helpful.
Hotel does look very grand from the outside and ground floor and reception lobby areas are pleasant. However I think it really does depend on how much you paid for your room. This was a business trip so I would have stayed in a standard or basic room. Rooms were fairly clean with good facilities but quite tired and probably in need of updating to maintain to overall standard that the hotel must aspire to.

Wi-fi, although complimentary, is fairly poor. You may also get a really bad room which I did in terms of where it was located (right next to the railway line where the trains wait, with very poor light and very noisy) however reception kindly sorted me out with another room.
As this hotel is in the city centre, expect noise. Even though I was staying mid week there's nightclub noise with music and screaming people that keep you up until the early hours.
Breakfast was average, often food was burnt and rock hard even though supposedly cooked to order.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0w_it_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I appreciate your kind comments relating to the staff throughout The Hotel, and will pass this on to all. All public areas of The Hotel have recently been upgraded and I hope; do reflect the grandeur and standard expected within such an iconic hotel.
Guest bedrooms are scheduled to undergo the same development in the New Year, until which time our maintenance and housekeeping departments do their utmost to improve the standards that you, our guest receives.
I am sorry that you did experience some issue with internet facilities during your recent visit. This is something that has recently been upgraded, and should therefore be without issue. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I really do hope that you can accept my apologies for the issues you raised, and I will work with the team to ensure that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for our 41st wedding anniversary.

The hotel was excellent in every way possible, the staff were superb, the room very good and the breakfast was well cooked and served.

I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay while in Newcastle.

Room Tip: I heard the hotel was noisy so asked for a room in the quiet part of the hotel, we can honestly say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Can I take this opportunity to thank you for this wonderful feedback following your recent visit to the Vermont Hotel. It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel "comes with wifi in every room" - false, and when staff were told, weren't helpful. Little to no security - people can walk in and out of the hotel, and go onto any floor without check. We had a drunk man asleep in the elevator!!!!
Reception looks very nice, however rooms were very dated. Electrics which were due to be tested 03.01.13 still weren't on 22.10.13!!!
No room safe box, hairs in bed and bathroom.
For the price, I'd really recommend shopping around for another city centre hotel!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Can I firstly apologise for the poor experience you feel you had at the Vermont Hotel. This is certainly not the impression that we wish to leave with our guests and please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this way.

As part of the forthcoming improvement program a £3m investment will help to return The Vermont Hotel to the standards our guests have come to expect. This has already included a new wifi provision throughout.

I really do hope that you can accept my apologies for the issues you raised, and I will work with the team to ensure that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed as was going to gig at the sage - great location, 5 min from sage / 5 min from city centre...
Hotel advertised free parking, and I got it.. But by luck only. There is only a handful of free car parking spaces and first come first served
Lobby looks great.. The place goes down hill from there
Room was big, a twin room, but dated
Haven't seen such an old tv in years, 6 channels was ure limit
All appliances had PAT testing labels advising that next text was due January 2013.. Worrying
Free wifi? Not I'm my room. Advised reception who werent interested at all
Poor cleaning
No security in the hotel - people walk in and out of the hotel at will, on all floors. Drunk man in lift at 1am...
Really wouldnt recommend this hotel...

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. As a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not. I would like to apologise for the poor experience you feel you had at the Vermont Hotel, and I will work with the team to ensure they do not occur again.
We do offer concierge parking to ensure that all residents are accommodated, the wifi provision has been upgraded to improve the service we provide, and the forthcoming bedroom upgrade program will help to return The Vermont Hotel to the standards our guests have come to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just couldn't really complain about the 2 nights we have just spent at the Vermont. Went with friends and all our rooms were fine, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and well cooked. We were kept waiting 40 mins or so to check in as one of the rooms was not ready. We had requested adjacent rooms but we were told this was not possible as they had a wedding going on and these guests had priority and in any case requests are not guaranteed, fair enough. We found the location excellent as one of our friends has mobility problems and there is a pub just across the road from the main reception and if you go down the lift to the lower entrance you are straight into the bars and restaurants near the Quayside. We didn't do much more! 5 minute walk from the railway station too. We booked our rooms through a 3rd party agent and were very happy with the deal we got.

Room Tip: Some rooms just don't have a view but I was happy to watch the railway, sad eh?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAJH595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; as a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not.
As part of the forthcoming improvement program an extensive investment will help to return The Vermont Hotel to the standards our guests have come to expect. It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the NEW Vermont Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing