We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good sumptuous traditional style hotel”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Couple, stayed for one night in the Vermont Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne. Very good position close to many city attractions,historic area, shops, many restaurants and pubs. Also close to the river with good views from some rooms of the river ,bridges and sage. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The public rooms have been recently refurbished are lovely and sumptuous, the bed rooms are good although perhaps in need of a little refurbishment which I was believe is happening in 2014.Lovely bar, restaurant and function rooms Highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.
The hotel does have a a small sauna, steam, room gym

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misswickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent visit to The Vermont Hotel. I hope we will have the oportunity to welcome you again, perhaps in 2014 once the development program is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,084 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The Vermont Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne is a great place to stay. The hotel is very comfortable with striking art deco interior. Bedrooms are comfortable and spacious. Some rooms have views to the River Tyne and its famous bridges. For functions, there is even a roof top terrace with stunning views. Ideally located beside the Castle. A great place to stay and highly recomnended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback - It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Service was 1st class from initial booking to departing. Rooms were well maintained and a good size. I had booked rooms for myself and 3 clients who had traveled up from London all made complimentary comments about location and service. Well done

Room Tip: South side on higher floors have a fantastic river veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 449DerekM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for one night during a visit to Newcastle and was very impressed by the place. The hotel was stunning, the location ideal, the staff very attentive and would highly recommend to anyone staying in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunterbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. I look forward to welcoming you again to The Vermont Hotel, Newcastle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed at this many times over the past few months and my experience of the hotel gets better every time I stay. When you arrive at the hotel you cannot help but be impressed by it's imposing and stately presence and this is only magnified as you walk up the steps past the concierge, into the foyer and through to the reception area. The decor is classy and sympathetic. The staff are polite, friendly and most helpful. As stated in a few other reviews the rooms are currently being updated (in fact a brand new 42" plasma screen appeared on my wall while I was out during the day...) and this will only make the hotel an even better place to stay. The breakfast is fantastic and well worth the money. The bar area is comfortable and has a great atmosphere however if you want something a bit more lively then Livello is your place which is situated at the side of the hotel leading onto the quayside.
Overall a great hotel and I will be staying there again and again.......

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyELancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Can I take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful feedback. Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in.

It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here as we were spending the Saturday shopping and going to a gig at the metro arena at night. Was a great location for both. Staff very friendly and we managed to check in early. Parking is free which is an added bonus. The rooms are looking tired but apparently a refurbishment is going on so this should improve. I asked for a quiet room as I'm a light sleeper and had read reviews about noise. I have to say that we weren't affected at all by this. The only down side was that there was no hot water in the morning. They did have an engineer fixing it and said it would be sorted in an hour but we had people to meet so couldn't wait.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbmanc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are undergoing a refurbishment at the moment, with the guest bedroom program beginning in January. I am sorry that you stay was effected by some of the work taking place, and I do hope we will have the oportunity to welcome you again to The Vermont Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We recently visited Newcastle and stayed at the Vermont Hotel.The Booking was made by a friend and when I viewed the pictures I was a little dubious.However my concerns were unfounded as Both the hotel and staff were great.
The rooms are a little dated but the Bar area and receptions are warm with a nice atmosphere.
The Breakfast was served in a large clean room and the food iself was excellent.
There is a lively bar at the bottom of the hotel which can be noisy but didn't affect us too much.
Overall I would recommend a stay here if in Newcastle

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkRealo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments. It does mean alot to us that you enjoyed your visit to The Vermont Hotel, and we hope to have the oportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £73 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing