We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Afternoon tea”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Afternoon tea (£14.95) at the Vermont in Newcastle was lovely. It was busy (but not noisy) and although we had not booked, we were given a table with no fuss. The room was very relaxing with big leather sofas and an open fire. The only downside was as the huge flat screen TV which did not add to the atmosphere. The service was very friendly and attentive, with an offer of a fresh pot of tea and refills of milk. The sandwiches were spot on, cakes and scones were freshly made with loads of fresh cream, butter and small pots of jam. We had to take a doggy bag home with some cakes as there were so many. The afternoon teas start at 1pm which is earlier than most and useful if you want to use it as an extended lunch. Probably the best I've had in Newcastle and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LucMcloog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    592
    267
    153
    129
See reviews for
229
901
42
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lanchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to book a last minute one night stay on the quayside and the best deal was with the Vermont! Neither of us have stayed here before and most likely won't stay again unless there's another deal on! The location was perfect however the room was less desirable! It was very dated although pulled off the shabby chic look! It was very very cold as the windows had been left open prior to our arrival. The bed was comfortable and it was all very clean. However when I wanted a shower the water leaked out of the bathtub and did a good job of flooding the bathroom floor!!
Lovely visit however I think it's very over priced for what it has to offer!
The valet parking was a lovely addition as well!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip - all staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has it's own parking FREE of charge which is an added bonus. Very close to the Quayside and restaurants close by that are reasonably priced. Rooms dated with Mahogany furniture but comfortable. Would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corineross59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seahouses, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

booked a night through late rooms on wine and dine deal, the staff are wonderful the room was superb couldn t fault the meal it was beautiful,it was to celebrate our wedding anniversary, our daughter rang to place champagne in the room and said they were so helpful would recommend to anyone will definately return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandTegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

great stay, not a modern hotel, but for comfort, views and a great night sleep, just brilliant. Car parking for guests so no worries there, also very close to the station but during the night never heard one train. Close to bars and restaurants fantastic location.

Room Tip: higher floors facing the Tyne give you a great pictures when dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Best New Years Eve night ever in our party of 8. Pink fizz on arrival, dinner in the Gold Room complete with 'Casino' and Las Vegas dancing girls, Swing Band in the Ballroom and fireworks at midnight on the roof.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our New Years Eve Celebrations were designed to be exciting and special event for all; I am so pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience.

On behalf of all at The Vermont Hotel, I wish you all the best for 2014 and look forward to welcoming you to celebrate NYE2015 in The Heart of The City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I cannot understand some of the reviews on here. We have stayed in every decent hotel in Newcastle but this is fast becoming my favourite. The communal areas/bars are very swish, and the fact it is linked to Livello is a big plus for those fancying some elegant decadence.

The hotel itself has a grand/stately feel, located next to the Castle keep and nice old fashioned Bridge pub. One of the best things is you are in the only hotel which is central to both the town centre/railway station, and also the quayside. Just get out on the appropriate floor.

Some of the rooms are a little dated, but they have every facility and are clean and very spacious. Remember the design is discreet elegance, not ultra modern minimalism. Having said that the rooms are currently being refurbished and we were lucky enough to get one on floor 11 with a nice flatscreen tv. There is free wifi throughout the hotel too.

As for the person complaining about the radiator our room definitely had it's own thermostat which was easily changed, and there was also a fan provided.

I never have a bad night's sleep at The Vermont and I am a very light sleeper, so I think some other guests were probably just unlucky. Hey, it happens in busy city hotels, especially Friday/Saturday nights. I have been in modern top of the range hotels and had to evacuate due to drunken jokers setting the fire alarm off.

Finally try the afternoon tea in the lounge, it was excellent, great choice and quality, and good value.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the quayside, they tend to be a bit quieter than side rooms. And, obvious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toncasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Vermont ApartHotel
The Vermont ApartHotel
#47 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing