We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely city centre hotel”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Fabulous public rooms in this city centre hotel and great river views from the dining room.

Excellent food both for dinner and breakfast.

Bedroom adequate, decorations a bit tired. We had a great nights sleep, lovely visit to Newcastle and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank BaildonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,066)
There are newer reviews for The Vermont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,414 - 1,420 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great hotel in a central location,rooms clean and large compared to most city center hotels .valet service for parking at busy times .and a great breakfast choice. Lounge bar like a gentle mans club ideal to enjoy a large drink at the end of the day .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The reception area, and bar restaurant are very nice, staff were all very polite and friendly,
my first room, the bath and toilet were broke, but got moved rooms really quickly and easily.
Second room was nice, bed is really comfortable, however the room is dated, and really needs a refresh. Had similar issues with the key card, locking me out every day and having to pop down to reception, seems a common issue. Mini-bar was shoved in a drawer. However my biggest gripe was the TV and Wifi which were shocking, Random channels in a random order stored on the tv and wifi was almost non existant, in this day and ages and for a 4 star hotel is pretty poor. However for the price, still had an enjoyable trip

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night after celebrating my friends wedding at the hotel.
Our stay at The Vermont was overall an average one although I did have 2 problems.

The hot tap in the bathroom wouldn't work at all, there was just no water coming out whatsoever. I reported this to reception and they said they'd send housekeeping up to have a look at it and also offered to move us to a different room if they couldn't fix it but as we were there to celebrate my friends wedding packing up and moving when their evening reception was about to start wasn't very appealing.
When we returned to the room we realised the heating in the room also seemed to be non existent. I followed all the instructions left on how to work the air conditioning unit but it just blew out cold air and made it worse. I turned the thermostat to 5 and still the room stayed cold. As it was nearly 2.30am we decided to just make the best of it and wrap up under the quilt.
Waking on Sunday morning to the same coldness and having to get out of a hot shower to that did not send me home in the best of moods.
One thing I can praise the hotel for is some of the staff. The bar staff and the housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. Tracey and Jack stood out from all the rest.

I have emailed the general manager with my complaints but obviously the staff are much better at customer service than their superiors.

I think I'd have reservations about booking to stay here for the night again at the price they charge. I've had better experiences in a basic hotel in magaluf!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JoJoBee_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My friend booked this as a mystery hotel - booking two single rooms. When we arrived we were delighted. We were each given a double room, very comfortable and clean.The hotel is very central for the Sage and Baltic and the shops. Everything very accessible in easy reach of buses and the metro. Loads of restaurants nearby. Staff helpful and friendly.
A great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed on a Thursday night. Reception area very plush, however the bedroom was drab and dated. Cold water taps in sink and bath didnt work. Shower didnt work. Ran a bath but the hot tap jammed and couldnt be turned off so when the hot water ran out, bath filled with cold water. Very poor channel choice on the TV and no radio. Was woken in the early hours by drunken hen party making noise in the corridor. Emailed general manager and didnt get any response, which sums up the attitude to customer service in this hotel. Dont waste your money - stay at a Holiday Inn/Premier Inn, you will pay less and get a much better standard of facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeppll2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I got this room at a bargain price, and this was certainly reflected in what I was given. The hotel entrance and lobby were stunning, really setting the scene of how good this hotel should have been. The staff were polite but I left them feeling rushed and they weren't exactly friendly. The standard double room I was given was ok however I feel a modern premier inn room would have been nicer. The wallpaper was peeling, the tiles in the bathroom had mould on the grout, the tv tuning was poor to say the least (4 channels and not the main ones, fuzzy picture) When it came to the 'valet' parking I had to do this myself and walk back up from the car park - only a few hundred metres away but this was meant to be part of the service. I suppose if I was driving an Aston Martin rather than a Corsa it would have been. I understand top hotels want to fill their rooms so offer them cheaper when they aren't selling them, (I bought on laterooms.com) but I still expect the normal service associated with that hotel. If this was supposed to be 4* then i've been staying in 5* budget accommodation as i've had better service and facilities in £30 a night rooms than this £70 a night one.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jeeters11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £74 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing