We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in a Great City”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Newcastle is a great city and this is a great hotel in a great location. As indicated before, this hotel is undergoing refurbishment but this is not disruptive. I wanted a quiet hotel close to the centre. Most reviews showed noise to be a problem in other city centre hotels. Here I had a completely quiet night in a room facing the Tyne, next door to the castle, yet 5 minutes walk from the central station. The room was clean and the bathroom bright and modern. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. I missed dinner but my poached eggs for breakfast were perfect. The rates were a bargain and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
There are newer reviews for The Vermont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,359 - 1,365 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Excellent hotel probably the best in Newcastle. Met all our expectations with very helpful staff.
The BB plus evening meal deal priced at £119 is good value for money. We will stay at the Vermont on our next visit to the NE.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room near the railway line
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant stay
Clean tidy rooms curious staff
And local for bars and restaurants
Totally recommend this hotel
5 minute walk from the theatre royal and free parking with your stay.
They also have a night club at the back of the hotel. As you are staying at the hotel you become a vip for the venue.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hi We have just stayed for the one night on there wine and dine promotion this is not the first time we have stayed here and it will not be the last .The hotel is spot on, the bridge dinning area is class and the meal was outstanding, the staff could not be more helpful you can tell that the staff take a pride in the place. If you are looking for a nice place to stay with a bit of class and not silly prices the Vermont is the place to go

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PERCYWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Attended a wedding here at the Vermont, lovely venue and excellent staff. Couldn't fault the place as a wedding venue, I know the bride and groom loved every minute. We stayed in a double room which wasn't huge but big enough for one night. The bathroom in particular was dated but clean and certainly useable! Overall a great stay, only negative really was that we didn't have a great nights sleep as the room was too hot as the radiator would not turn off and we couldn't have the window open as there would have been too much noise from the railway line/people outside. We did report to reception but had just missed the maintenance team to come and help. We were offered another room but had all our stuff out in the room so didn't want to swap at that point, but perhaps should have on reflection.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissSunshine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed overnight in this classy hotel. Room and bathroom were lush and way better than expected for the price we payed. The bar/lounges are really smart. Located perfectly between the Quayside and town centre, its easy to walk anywhere.....literally 2 minutes to the local nightlife. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epiglo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of couples and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Great location for seeing the town and the Quayside. Some of the elements of the bedrooms were tired but the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The staff were helpful and we all enjoyed the evening meal included in the booking. The restaurant staff were great and accommodated all of us on one long table setting. Breakfast was also good. As I said, everyone enjoyed the stay - so much so we have booked a return visit for our annual group Christmas meal.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank R0sie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £74 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing