We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions are deceiving! Two night mid week stay”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on its website reviews, website photographs and the sky lounge facility.
We arrived and a very a very attentive valet who took out bags and packed out car so first impressions where immediately excellent. We arrived at the reception desk and all was lovely. Checked in no bother and the hotels Lobby, Reception, Bar and Grill restaurant where as seen on the website, modern, clean a touch of luxury. However this could not be said about our room on the 11th floor!
I am glad I took my slippers as the carpet was filthy, the shower head had all pink/red mould on it and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. We were put in a room which over looks the railways line so the from that was a factor. The be linen was crisp and clean however the bed was by far the firmest I've ever slept on in a hotel.
I was bitterly disappointed that we were unable to use the sky lounge facility as it is reserved for private functions only ! This facility was one if the only reasons I booked this hotel and had I of known this before hand I would not have booked it.
Value for money ?? In my opinion no! The room was poor and is short of its trip advisor 4 star rating. The hotel is in need of updating to bring it up to its first impressions as you walk through the door.
On a positive! The staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shar t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,066)
There are newer reviews for The Vermont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,335 - 1,341 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Chose the hotel because it is near the station. Stayed two nights. On first night the heating was on full, even though it was a warm day. Turned the thermostat to zero, but didn't seem to make any difference. The only opening window was broken, so could not be opened.

I complained the next morning, and was told someone would look at the thermostat. Guess what, on my return in the evening I had exactly the same problem. Hotel agreed to move me to another room. Went in, heating was on full. Turned down thermostat and opened the windows. Went out for a couple of hours, but when returned the room was still very hot.

Hotel moved me to another room. This one had aircon, and was great.

In summary. Hotel is OK, and if I had been given the room with aircon originally I would have given it 4 out of 5. However, the first room was worth no more than 2.

I doubt I will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our short visit to the Vermont. The staff were polite and attentive and our room on the 9 th floor was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous. We were served a huge full English breakfast which was delicious. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the team here at The Vermont Hotel. We strive to ensure that every guest receives the warm welcome for which we have become renowned, and it really does mean a lot that you have enjoyed your visit with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stunning hotel, visited on a hen party, greeted at the door by a very polite and friendly gentleman , lovely rooms spotless, outside secure bar fab with door persons keeping the un invited out. Lovely buffet breakfast, polite and smart staff, gluten free bread was no hassle at all. Would strongly recommend a visit, brill location with a nice Italian over the road.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen200763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It means a lot to us that you and your party enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked a one night stay here to do some shopping in Newcastle.
We have stayed at most of the mainstream hotels in Newcastle over the years so a stay at the Vermont was one we were looking forward to.
Not sure if the hotel is offering a low price based on the decor of the rooms and the ongoing refurb work but at £62 b&b you can't find many other hotels that offer this sort of value.
Arrived at the hotel and parked in the front car park close to the main entrance.
We has luggage and our baby son in his pram but we had to carry him up he stairs because the hotel doesn't have any ramp access in or out which made access in and out if the hotel a bit awkward.
Checkin was a bit slow and the guy on reception didn't seem fully versed in the process but eventually he got there and we received our room card.
No directions to the lifts and rooms were given and no details on breakfast and dinner times.
The room was ok and looked like it had been partially refurbished but the bathroom was old and dated with some mould visible.
We had to phone down for a cot for our son even though I requested one when we booked!
We had dinner in the lounge which was lovely and reasonably priced.
We asked if the hotel had another entrance easier for access with a pram and we were told to use the lower level to access the street behind the hotel but this still didn't have any ramp access and just meant that we had to walk back up the hill from the quayside with our baby.
The hotel is lovely inside and is undergoing some room refurbishment but we didn't really think it was child friendly or child welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandango86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for his bday,and we had an excellent time. We stayed on the 10th floor and had stunning views of the Tyne bridge and millennium bridge. It was spectacular at night time. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is under refurbishment and shows, as we have stayed here before . We got an excellent deal through trivago, bed and breakfast for two nights only £130. The staff were excellent and very discreet. We will be back!!!!my only downside was the room was boiling, we did have a fan , but unfortunately we didn't sleep well, we would have given five stars. However it did not spoil our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Brilliant view from our 11th floor room, sun glinting off the Sage and Tyne Bridege, certainly no fog.
Welcome check in, good room, excellent 3 course meal, as part of the Wine and Dine package,in the newly refurbished restaurant, followed by night cap in bar.
Will be returning shortly for another break,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas01hahhah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £74 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing