We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed at the Vermont a lot over the past there years or so. Ranging from stays of two nights to over a week. Each time it has been a pleasure and excellent value. I have always found the staff delightful and always willing to help in any way they can. True some of the rooms have needed updating but that programme is well underway, although, personally I think the revamped dinning room is frankly a disaster. There was little wrong with the previous decor and layout, while new look is cross between a cheap gift shop and the idea of a gentleman's club created by somebody whose never been in one.
One of the things that aways fascinates me on tripadvisor is the vindictiveness of some reviews which often bear little or no resemblance to the places I have experienced.
Last week I arrived at 11o'clock at night, on a Friday, with no room booked. Andrew, plus the other staff could not have been more helpful in a very stressful circumstances which they knew nothing about. A big "thank you" as always to the Vermont.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloomsbury60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,319 - 1,325 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location, room, parking breakfast and value.
No noise issues that you might expect in town. Easy walking distance everywhere.

Not very well sign posted on arrival - sat navigation takes you straight there but due to lack signage a confusing moment.

Would happily recommend.

X

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AussieAmy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

after having a weekend away we decided to extend our weekend by visiting friends in Newcastle so we booked this hotel via lastminute.com and got a double room with breakfast for £57.00 we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room and interior of the entire hotel. the room was spacious and the bathroom was spotless with one of the best power showers I have ever had ..
there was a minibar and a small fan provided also a hairdryer was in one of the drawers view wasn't brilliant but I don't sit looking out the window for hours on end so acceptable..
now to the disappointing point of the hotel which is a shame has everything else was top quality and that is the breakfast
we went down for breakfast around 9am and received cook breakfast about 9.20 but it was quite dry the black pudding was a struggle to cut through the beans were like they had been kept warm for a long time and the eggs were like they had been fried and reheated in a microwave ..
other than the breakfast the hotel was superb and actually looks amazing inside and out..

Room Tip: was in room 805 which overlooks the keep, better to book a room looking over the high level bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilly2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our daughter recently got married in st. Nicholas cathedral nearby the Vermont and we booked half the hotel. We were welcomed when we checked in and pleased with the staff who were friendly and helpful, especially the reception, concierge, waitresses, and the cleaning staff too. The rooms were cleaned well, and although some of them were a bit too hot (as the weather was warm) and not all have air conditioning, a fan was provided on request.

Our room facing the river and bridge had a nice view and was lovely and quiet. Tea and coffee facilities in the room were available,too. There are plenty of good affordable restaurants nearby in close walking distance to the Vermont, too. It is also an 8 min. Walk to the train station and metro which was convenient.

Breakfast was very good and we felt it was worth the £10pp extra we paid. Cereals, scrambled eggs or omelette, bacon, sausage, croissant, yoghurts, toast, etc. Was all available. Alastair did a good job managing our bookings and we thank all the Vermont staff for ensuring we had a good stay during our three nights in Newcastle, thank you!

Room Tip: Facing the bridge for quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were warmly welcomed at the door on arrival and the hotel is in an excellent location with fantastic views over the river from the higher floors. The lobby, bar areas and dinning rooms are fitted out to a high standard.
I travel extensively abroad on business and stay at many hotels. For the prices being charged here (£209 inc breakfast for a 1 night stay) the room (1106) was well below standard. Not only was the room and bathroom very small, it was also shabby. Stained carpets, furniture from the 70's, very small double bed, peeling wallpaper and dirty ceilings are not what I expect to get for that kind of money. The welcome letter in the room said rooms are being refurbished, it is still no excuse.
On the plus side, staff are friendly, breakfast and service were 1st class and we were made to feel welcome. That along with the location mean there are lots of plus points also.
On departure, check out was quick and efficient, although i wasnt asked if there was anything that could have improved my stay.
I would stay at the hotel again if staying over in Newcastle, but would want one of the refurbished rooms with the river front views next time.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors with river front views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

In my past 4 visits to Newcastle I have been fortunate to stay at the Vermont.. On all occasions including this one, the service and hotel in general has been better than other hotels I have stayed in within the area.. Ideally located with (tight) but good parking facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A wonderful welcome by the door staff when we arrived at the hotel. Unfortunately the reception staff were too busy doing something else to concentrate on us.
The hotel is well situated with access onto Dean St. with only a few steps to the City Centre in one direction or the Quayside in the other.
The room on the ninth floor overlooked the city and was directly above the ground floor very noisy bar.
The room was a little dated and bed of average size. There was no air con.
The bathroom was very dated, the bath small, the overhead shower ineffective. The tile grout wasn't dirty; but in places black with mildew.
Sleeping was okay, but it was hot outside, with no air con the windows had to be open and the noise drifting up from late night revellers made relaxation difficult. If it were cooler and you had the windows closed or it were mid week then it would be quieter.
The breakfast was probably above average, we had omelettes freshly made by the kitchen which were good.
All in all we stayed in what was once a very nice hotel, but unfortunately compared with a lot of modern hotels, The Vermont is a little dated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulWhitehead409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £74 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing