We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The appearance and location of the hotel makes for the 4 star status. In stones throw distance to the castle keep, close to the quayside with a hotel entrance/exit, not far from the centre and train station. Can't ask for a better location. Reception and downstairs areas including the restaurants also keep up the 4 star quality. The rooms however don't live up to the 4 stars, very dated carpets, curtains and cupboards. There is no air conditioning and it was a very hot weekend, there was a small fan in the wardrobe to use. The bathroom had it's faults but mainly with the decor, walls peeling and chips in the bath/shower. Nice comfy beds rescued the stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,401 - 1,407 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Room was nice and large, a twin rather than the double we booked but not a problem, however the noise from the railway was. It was hot so had to have windows open so we got the early morning train noise.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TomandSuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent two night in this hotel. The hotel is very good situated, near to exhibitions, shops and also near to the tyne and the hotel itself is old but good. The bed was a bit small, size 1.40m. The breakfast was ok. The parking was forfreein front of the hotel, there was also free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InaRA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A big hotel, didn't have time to explore it all.
We stayed 2 nights in 1114 corner room quiet.
Basic room but there was a notice to say they are upgrading them.
Room service excellent , iron, lunch with icecream sundie to die for,
and breakfast scamble eggs were the best I've ever had ...
Staff helpful, Taxi firm they organized was excellent....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALICE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Today I took my Nana for an afternoon tea at the Vermont Hotel for her 80th birthday. I found the hotel on line and thought the pictures looked beautiful and we wanted it to be a special treat. After my call to the hotel to book I was certain
we had made the right choice. Staff (Tanya) was helpful and amazing. She provided excellent customer service and even provided a choice of sitting in the lounge or Bridge Restaurant with a recommendation for the restaurant to cater for my elderly Nana.
When we arrived. Staff greeted and seated us, the table was set up beautifully. The young gentleman was very attentive and I cannot fault the service at all.
When the food arrived it was better then I could have expected. Everything was fresh and absolutely delicious. I am over the moon to have been able to experience this venue with my dear Nana. We now have some very treasured memories. Thank you Vermont Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights to enjoy the local nightlife!
Worth every penny! Staff were delightful, good size rooms, good bar. (Beers were pricey).
We had food in the restaurant which was very good, recommend the steaks.
Will be coming back in the future.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Crudge666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadiaHernandez, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the team here at The Vermont Hotel. We strive to ensure that every guest receives the warm northern welcome for which we have become renowned, and it really does mean a lot that you have enjoyed your visit with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind Regards
Shadia Hernandez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

An excellent hotel with good facilities and fairly quiet location nestled behind the castle on the north bank of the River Tyne above the famous quayside. All the staff were totally professional, very friendly and approachable at all times and nothing was to much trouble for them. The rooms were light and airy and the bed very comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. Especially as it has an excellent rooftop terrace with great views of the bridges across the Tyne especially the Tyne and Millennium bridge.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper make sure you ask for a room which isn't adjacent to the railway line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £73 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing