We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Nearby Hotels
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,092)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveller rating
574
704
472
242
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
704
472
242
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the riverbay windowclub roomafternoon teabit datedcar parkcity centrewould stay againbars and restaurantslovely roomstayed here for one nightcouldn't faultfull englishsaturday nighttynequaysidenewcastle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,014 - 2,019 of 2,092 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2007

This was not my first stay at a Copthrone property and hence should not have constituted a disappointment at the value received for my £149.00 per night room.
Firstly, however, the hotel offered a nice view of the river, bridge and greenry on the south side of the Tyne. The hotel itself and the reception lobby are spacious and modernly designed. The hotel offers free parking as well as a central location at the quay on the river and close to restaurants and downtown.
Having said that, this 'four star' hotel suffers from a run-down bathroom, ugly bathroom facilities, offers no free Internet access, mere access to free and over-the-air television channels and, here is the kicker, torn (yes at least one visible hole) linen.
For a hotel like this and at such prices to not have a relatively new bed sheet, updated facilities or some modicum of luxury is incredible.
The reception staff were polite and eager to help, the view was good as was the lcoation, but how could they justify their run-down rooms or lack of amenities?

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dadada767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Oct-2007: this was a second stay and only because of short availability and lack of conference facilities eleswhere in Newcastle, Our first stay in May2007 was dissapointing and revealed a hotel short on renovation and maintenance of 4 star room comforts, with old furniture and past its sell by date linen, faulty air conditioning and generally tatty room furniture. This second stay was completed on the basis of a room upgrade to Club hoping that facilities would be better. Not so!! as rooms were just as old and dated, bathrooms in need of refurbishment and linen etc even older than the first visit (you need two towels because the towels are see-through). Our room AC had to be supplemented with a portable fan and we did our own washing up of theTea facilities because staff failed to complete basic service functions. Internet access costs an arm and a leg if your working but thats legal because its a Hotel! or so they think. the only saving grace was the top floor view and a decent full english breakfast and the best Indian restuarant we have been too for a long time called "VUJON on Queen Street which is less than a 10 minute dawdle from the Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank torridontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

This was our third stay at this hotel and the worst of the three stays. i am originally from Newcastle and know the town very well and so appreciate the location of this hotel being right on the quay side with stunning views of the river and the bridges.

The service on the previous two occasions (both in the last 2 years) has been hit and miss and the hotel is design wise still quite modern but is looking tired in some areas. On one of our visits we couldnt get booked into the hotel restaurant for dinner as it was full!!!

We arrived for our one night stay (saturday 15th September) at 4.35pm having been told that check in was 4pm. Our suite wasnt ready and we were asked to wait. We were after 10 minutes asked if we would like a drink or coffee but being on a rather tight schedule for the evening we declined. At 5.15pm i asked how long we were going to have to wait. As the initial 15 minutes was now long passed. The receptionist looked stricken and shouted to her colleague who reached behind the counter for our room keys. Not sure why we had to wait....

Our suite was at the end of the corridor on the 5th floor, it was spacious, adequate and had great views of the tyne. Bed was soft but comfortable and there are tea and coffee making facitilites. The heating did not work and there are no heated bath rails so we had wet towels for the duration of our stay. (after the first shower) if you want bath robes you are asked to contact reception.

We ordered room service which was pleasant enough but came back later in the evening to find the trays still there (6 hours later) and when we ordered service again they called to say they had no beans in the building. To their credit they waived the charge for the second room service.
Breakfast the following morning was meant to be taken in the 5th floor lounge, a rather grand name for a room with chairs, desk and tv. At 9.45am the lounge was full of other guests and therefore we decided to eat in the main restaurant. Great choice, both hot and cold, fresh fruit and nice surroundings. My coffee cup was sticky with some unknown substance as were those on other tables when i tried to find a clean one. i gave up eventually.

we did have the option of a late checkout but as we had other committments we needed to check out at the normal time of 12noon. Prior to this we decided have a quick cup of coffee in the 'lounge' on the 5th floor only to find the place looked as though it had been ransacked. Dirty dishes on window sills , papers strewn across the floor, no cups, to make coffee with only dirty glasses and a dirty table cloth on an empty serving table.

To this end i went off to check out and told the receptionist how disappointed i was as we had paid for the better room with additional services and in my opinion hadnt received value for money. She agreed to have someone sent up to the lounge and apologised the wrong newspaper which had also been delivered and agreed to a reduction on the room rate. I told her my dilemma as we need to visit Newcastle each christmas to see family and friends, this hotels location being perfect but after this one night i was not sure i would be back. However, i did appreciate her promptness to appease and promises to pass on my comments.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank imperiallwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Excellent location in Newcastle, although find out how to walk into the town from the hotel, as you can easily get lost. Lovely looking hotel from the front, and free parking in the adjoining multi storey car park.
Rooms were what you would expect for a business hotel, but were starting to look a little old. The TV had no remote control, but we arrived too late to really be bothered to contact reception about it.
The bar staff didn't know how to make an Irish coffee but were eager to learn!
Overall, the hotel did exactly what we needed - a central location with reasonable comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finbarr_in_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2007

Stayed on a Sunday night with a family group.
The check in was smooth and our room was ready at 1400, even though, as it was a Sunday normal check in is stated 1600.
First impression, room had a lovely view, via a bay window, fairly large a bed and a seating area in the window.
The decor and room could be described as comfortable and adequate. Tea/coffee making facilities, bit mean in the biscuit dept' with one v small one each. one hot chocolate between two but I am sure if I had rang house keeping we would have received more!
The bathroom was a bit of a let down, I would say past its sell buy date. grouting around bath a bit grey and the bath a bit old and knackered (local speake)
We ate out in stowle street (china town) at king neptune, excellent. Breakfast was lovely and the service excellent, we were all able to sit together and served together(which sometimes is a rarity if your group is over 6)
My brother used the pool and said it was good and very quiet. There is a spa and I glanced at the treatments, which were quite extensive and cheap.
The benefits of this hotel make up for the some of the room let downs.
Easy parking with nothing to pay, a nice stroll about 20-30 mins into main shopping area, grey street and eldon square. a v short taxi ride to stowell street for dinner. There is a chinese restaurant straight over the road but I dont know what its like to eat in (if you dont fancy trailing around)
Lovely view, if river facing and a seating area on the river front, for a nice pint, if its not raining....

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews