We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding day”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We held our wedding reception day and evening at the copthorne hotel on 21st July 2012,we were a little worried to say the least as we wanted our day to be as special as could possibly be.the wedding planner was the hotels own and was lovely but seemed to be a little to relaxed and messages didn't really get passed on.the events manager Keenan,was just fantastic!! Bent over backwards to make sure everything was the best it could be!the views from where we had our arrival drinks while a gentleman played the piano were out the this world,over looking the glorious sunny river tyne, made out photographs look like something from a magazine.The staff were brilliant.the food was fabulous and for having nearly 100 day time guest? It's was all served at the same time and boiling hot.there was a few hiccups on the night time with the vegetarian food not being put out and the teas and coffees not being served after the reception meal,but as soon as we brought this to keenan's attention he invited 8 members of my family to go for a 3 coarse Sunday lunch and drinks all free of charge as an apologie. We had the bridle suite in the hotel and check out is usually 11am but the lovely girls on the desk allowed us to have a late check out at 1pm! Overall our weddng was just the best! It was better then I could ever imagined!and I would 100% recommed anyone to think about having there wedding at the copthorne quayside Newcastle upon Tyne.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesshall1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent wedding reception with us. Your positive comments with regard to the standard of guest service from Keenan Ozkan, F&B Operations Manager have made his day! As a hotel we are all about offering great standards of guest service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon, and may I wish you both every happiness in your future together.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    596
    436
    228
    94
See reviews for
194
654
71
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

THERE IS A SERIOUS NEED TO EITHER SHUT IT DOWN OR REVAMP IT.

Sourly greeted by a receptionist going by the name of nikki, or nicky? she needs to be named and shamed, very bad first impression of the hotel. must had been a long day for her.

room looked dirty, probably wasn't, but due to the old tired, dated threat bare feel, it looked dirty. the shower didn't work, and apparently there was no maintenance guys in on a sunday, so we were moved to another dark, tired, dated room. breakfast had an ok selection, didnt have dinner there. Drinks ok for a hotel and priced for an average hotel. Bar tender was friendly and polite. there seemed to be a henry hoover living on the first floor the 48 hours we stayed for. Tad tacky if im honest.

Then there was the leisure club. If you can call it that. No sauna, No jacuzzi, No solarium, that are all STILL advertised on the website. the 2 girls on reception told us they are waiting on a refurbishment but also said they had been waiting on it since november last year!! Gym had ikea built machines and weights only went up to 20!!! 2 of the female showers were dripping, one completely out of order. the pool was nice however and the place did look clean. the 2 girls were exceptionally helpful, had great customer sservice skills, and offered complimentary tea and coffee for our disappointment with facilities. Spoke to a member who actually pays money to use the facilities. He said he had been coming for 12 years and the only reason he doesn't leave is because of the employees that work there. I actually felt extremely sorry for them, they looked for ashamed to work there, but put a brave smile on their faces. Employees of the decade i think!

Don't get me wrong, some of the staff are very friendly and try to do their best for you, but there are the occasional employee that couldn't be bothered, and it actually appeared to be the duty managers as opposed to the waiters and receptionists etc. the higher up you are and more responsibility, the less they seemed to be able to do for you.

Needs the room rates on reception to be taken down because its just ridiculous. it was reasonably cheap, i thought i was getting an amazing deal but actually i did feel ripped off, i would actually rather pay the 10 extra to stay in a premier inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiniNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your review highlights a number of points which have contributed to a disappointing stay, which is regrettable. It is by no means reflective of the quality of the hotel, nor of the standards in place. Your comments with regard to your personal perception of the standard of guest service are contradicted by the huge volume of positive comments on this site regarding this area.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I was lucky enough to have first floor room witha large bed, comfy chair and french doors opening onto the standing balcony with a great view of the river, there was a reasonable choice on the hot and cold buffet breakfast and staff were very friendly. The down point was that when we got back to the hotel on day 2 all our cards had been deactivated and we had to troop back down to reception to get access to our rooms organised

Room Tip: ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlf7609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the bedroom quality, view from the balcony and the breakfast selection. Sorry to learn there had been an issue which the key access, which I hope was resolved promtly for you at the time. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had a 2 night stay at the Copthorne with dinner on the 1st night and breakfast, I must say the food was the best part of our stay. The staff at this hotel were all lovely and friendly although it took 4 calls to reception to get a towel replaced. When we arrived our key card did not work and it took 3 visits to reception to get it sorted. The room was a lovely size, nice and clean but very dated and tired looking, this hotel is badly in need of some TLC. I have stayed in a lot of 4 star hotels but this one was not up to the rating. The best thing about this hotel is its location overlooking the Tyne.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your constructive review, following your recent stay with us. Your positive comments with regard to the standard of guest service were appreciated. The hotel is about to commence an extensive refurbishment programme, which wil have a significant impact on the physical quality of the hotel. The issue with the keys is being looked into at present to ensure a full resolution. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We found this Hotel to be very welcoming. The Staff were very helpful, The room although not luxurious was very clean, and the furnishings were good. Two easy chairs by the large picture window to take in the view of the Tyne. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice. As we were on Coach Trip Dinner Menu was limited (Obviously done to a budget) but OK, Would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Some Rooms may have noise from Trains on Bridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLMON05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, bedroom cleanliness, breakfast quality and hotel location. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

From the moment we arrived we were greated by friendly staff and this continued throughout our stay. We had a two night stay 1 night DB&B the other just B&B all the food was very nice and plenty to help yourself to at breakfast. The location on the Quayside is perfect for getting around and the view is lovely and also very quiet considering your in a city centre. We used the swimming pool and steam room both nice and clean. Would reccomend anyone to stay here

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5th floor very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service (the cornerstone of the hotel), quality of food, hotel location and swimming pool. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I booked my family into the Copthorne in Newcastle for a milestone birthday celebration. They were well looked after with friendly and enthusiastic staff. The room was lovely and clean with views of the Tyne and a huge bed. The location of the hotel is situated on the Quayside within walking distance of bars, restaurants and the city centre but just far enough that there is no noise or disturbance. The food in the hotel restaurant was of high quality and there was plenty of choice on the breakfast buffet. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msb0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent special event held here, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, quality of food, quality and cleanliness of your bedroom and the hotel location. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing