We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Second stay at this hotel and it is in a great location, all rooms overlook the river. The rooms are starting to look tired but it was very clean and well stocked with toiletries. The air conditioning did only seem to blow out cool air but a separate heater was in the room. We ate in the restaurant on out first night and the meal was very good value, well presented and tasted great. From the reception staff to the cleaners all where very friendly and could not do enough to make our stay excellent. Cannot comment on the spa as we did not use it. The reception area is in the process of being decorated which will brighten up that area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor, if you can get one on a lower level they did seem to have better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Many thanks for your positive feedback, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the standard of guest service and the hotel location. We have just commenced this week an extensive hotel refurbishment programme, which will upgrade the bedrooms and also the bedroom temperature comfort system throughout the hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    574
    427
    227
    92
See reviews for
183
635
70
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Great location, excellent views and friendly staff. Prompt check in and spacious rooms but that's all of the positives. The negatives are the room was really hot and the air con only blew hot air. The gym is tiny and equipment dated, sauna not working and the pool is tiny and impossible to swim when more than a few people in it. Breakfast was poor, everything over cooked and had to go and ask for coffee. Quite a bit of noise early in the morning from the metro, rooms and public areas really dated and on 2nd floor no opening windows, so really stuffy. Definitely not 4 star as it is now but could be if it was refurbished. I was on business but would be really disappointed if I had paid to stay there.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. Sorry to read that your recent stay has not met your expectations. The refurbishment programme commences here on 17 September, and will see a significant upgrading of the facilities here, including the bedroom temperature comfort system. Breakfast comments noted, normally a key strength here. I do hope you will consider staying here again in the future.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on 10th September for business. Arriving by taxi the front of the hotel is actually quite impressive and the reception area was clean and tidy. There were 5 waiting to be checked in and two receptionists. The process was quick and painless and i was given room 426. The room itself was a little bit away from the lifts but easily managed. When I opened the door I noticed the view out was very good, straight onto the river. However with the exception of it being clean this was the last of the positives. The carpet was stained, the chairs was frayed, the TV was about 10+ years old and where the fridge was meant to be was an empty cupboard. The bathroom had mould coloted marks on ther the tiles. Now I know I was here for only one night but no one is going to convince me this is a 4 star hotel. Breakfast was average and I had to ask for a refill on coffee twice. I am due back in Newcastle again next month and will not be staying here again until the rooms are all refurbished.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your recent stay with us has clearly been a mixed one, with your constructive points noted and reviewed. We commence an extensive refurbishment programme on 17 September, which will make a significant difference throughout the building. I do hope you will consider staying here again in the future.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here with work along with two colleagues and we all seemed to have the same view. Location is excellent with good restaurants and bars close by. Check in was fine and the staff were friendly and the bed was very comfortable.

Major disappointment with the room. Large and overlooking the river which was nice, however, so tired and in need of refurbishment. The carpet was folded in parts, threadbare and had stains on it, the chairs in the room were badly stained and looked very old, faded and threadbare. The bathroom looked scruffy and a bit dirty, I think it has been cleaned but the basin was chipped, found a number of black hairs around. No soap for face or to wash hands or face cloth. I thought the soap must be a mistake so rang housekeeping on the room telephone. Tried four times within a 45 minute spell, no reply just rings out! We all decided to walk into town where I purchased soap and face cloth from Boots, really not good for a 4 star hotel.

As we weren't impressed cancelled dinner reservation for the restaurant and decided to eat out. Ended up having a lovely meal at Uno. Reception tired to ring the restaurant to cancel, but again, no reply so they made a note and said they would pass it on. No staff seem to answer the phone anywhere in the hotel, the bar staff are hard to find, however, I think it is probably because they are short of staff rather than unhelpful!

Needs to improve and fast, otherwise, I would advise all colleagues to stay somewhere else. Great pity because due to location, this could be a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry to read of your disappointment with certain elements of your stay. We commence an extensive refurbishment programme within the hotel this month, which will make a significant impact on the physical property itself. Cleanliness issues within the bedrooms and service efficiency issues are very rare here, with your points duly noted. I can assure you (and other readers of this site) that your stay is by no means reflective of our normal standards here.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had an amazing time, the staff were totally focussed on making everything stress free and perfect. decor is ready for refit. food was excellent quality and service was great, The wedding planner Keenan, made the day run seemlessly and was 100% attentive the whole 3 day stay. Very happy couple and guests,

Room Tip: First floor has balconys, view of the river is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent wedding reception held here at the Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, with particular regard to the standard of guest service (you have made Keenan's day!) and the quality of food served. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon, and wish you all the best for the future.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We were originally booked to stay at the Marriot but found out on way that a computer problem meant they were over booked, so they booked us into the copthorne,
Easy to find with car parking attached to hotel, spacious reception area friendly staff, quick check in.
Bedroom very good size especially for travel cot, view over looking the river, room needs to be refurbished as carpet was ruffled furniture dated old CRT tv some floor tiles cracked in bathroom, bed very comfy.
Breakfast excellent service by staff, food nice and plentiful.
Facility's
Swimmimg pool male Changing area communal would have been nicer to have cubicals, pool area also needs a refurb not a good idea to have small stone on dividing wall, jacuzzi not working, nice water temp.
Would I stay here again?
Yes
Be interesting to see what refurbishment work has been done.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chipstar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, bedroom size, quality of breakfast and hotel location. Our refurbishment programme commences in September, and will have a big impact across the hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I have worked regularly with a client in Newcastle and this has been the hotel I have stayed in most often. The hotel bar and food options here are pretty good and I would be happy to eat in for a few nights during the week - though we often take trips out to local restaurants.

Staff in reception, the bar and restaurant are professional and helpful. The rooms are generally well proportioned though I would say the bathrooms are now looking a little dated against the competition these days.

When I stayed here over the summer (more than a year ago) I did find the air-con system wasn't up to much and that made for a difficult night's sleep. I would come back here pretty much anytime at the right rate (good deals are available generally - though there is some new local competition now!)

Room Tip: I like rooms on the first floor where I can open balcony doors - I love some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your repeated stays with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service and the quality of food. We commence a refurbishment programme this month which will include an upgrade to the bedroom comfort system. Your continued custom of the hotel and brand loyalty is greatly appreciated, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing