We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel In Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel In Newcastle”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have been residing at the Copthorne Hotel In Newcastle for the last seven weeks and have to say i find it amazing. everything from the look, the views, the food as well as the staff is second to none. A special mention to ALL of the staff from housekeeping to front of house, the bar and breakfast team, who i believe on numerous occasions have gone out of their way to do above and beyond what has been asked. I have had friends and collegues come to stay on short trips who have mentioned to me they too have had a good experience staying here.

In short... This is thye Only Hotel i would stay at in Newcastle, i urge you to pay it a visit and challenge you to try and prove me wrong :)

Room Tip: The Rooms towards the ends of the Hotel are a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review from your extensive stay here with us at the Copthorne Hotel Newcastle over the past 7 weeks. Your kind feedback is really appreciated by us. Offering great guest service is the cornerstone of the hotel, in line with its prime location, and we could not wish for a better recommendation than that which you have been kind enough to post. Thank you so much.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    605
    440
    229
    94
See reviews for
197
657
71
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I don't know why some people are moaning about this hotel!!! The location is brilliant, walking distance from the station and city centre. Right on the river, with an amazing view of the Tyne from the first floor twin rooms we had. 8 of us stayed here for a birthday weekend and we couldn't fault the hotel, we thought it was lovely for the price we paid and bonus that we got to use the pool and steam too.
Very happy customers, we had a great stay :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review, following your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your kind feedback. I'm delighted that you were so pleased with your weekend here, in terms of hotel location, quality of stay and overall value for money, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

This is a tired hotel that desperately needs a refit, so the chain decided to change the carpets in the rooms!! Interesting, I was put in one of these rooms initially!! I felt sick within 15mins of the stay due to the smell of glue! So my problem with this was how they old sell the room in this kind of state!! I actually thought it was dangerous and a serious health and safety issue.

They did move me, and the staff were very apologetic. But not good enough really!!

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Archybald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. The hotel is in the midst of an extensive refurbishment programme, including recarpeting of most of the hotel. Every required due diligence measure has been taken with this programme. I am glad that we were able to resolve the matter experienced through moving of rooms at the time, and apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We used the Copthorne for one night's stay as we were attending a concert. We booked this as it was convenient for the concert and for Newcastle - we took advantage of a special deal when we booked in June. I didn't receive my booking confirmation straight away, on discovery it turned out my email address had been incorrectly taken down but this wasn't an issue.

Check-in was efficient and easy, secure parking which was great. I agree with some of the comments about this hotel, yes, it does require some refurbishing and general updating in parts BUT our room and the hotel generally was very clean. We did mention to one of the portering staff that there was a musty aroma of smoke in the corridor (being a smoker, even I could smell it!) which does need addressing but I was given the impression that this is something the hotel are already aware of and were going to sort out.

Our room was a lovely size but the bed was tiny for the size of the room but thankfully it was comfy. A five foot bed is too small for two - a king size or even two generous twins would have been welcome! Also the air con needs looking at - our room (and our friends') were a furnace when we got there and took the remainder of the evening just to get it to a bearable temperature. On the plus side, we had the most perfect view of the Tyne and the Newcastle bridges plus the Sage.

Breakfast was lovely, fresh fruit and a very good smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel. Another word of advice, Copthorne - tea could do with having more taste, stronger and hotter, I can recommend Ringtons which we use at home!

I would stay here again as staff were helpful, friendly, good breakfasts and was clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular the standard of guest service, cleanliness within the hotel, quality of food and the hotel location. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights from Sunday to Wednesday and received the 20% discount on a 'Club' room with inclusive continental breakfast. The view was stunning ( however industrial) overlooking the Tyne and the sun shone in through the bedroom window every morning. The restaurant was OK and the room service meal was lovely as we were too tired to make it out to a restaurant in the centre. All of the staff were friendly and the pool facility which I used on my own at 6.40 am was delightful.
I understand a gradual, unobtrusive make over is being undertaken throughout.

Room Tip: The Club room on the 5th floor is a little higher priced than the standard but well with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular the standard of guest service, quality of food, and the hotel location. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I booked a room at this hotel for a concert we were attending at the Metro Arena. From the outside the hotel looked very promising and it was on the Quayside which was a lovely view.
The reception area and the bar were very nice, the staff were very friendly and quick to check us in.
We were in a twin room on the first floor, a side room not with a direct view of the river. The room was very spacious but sadly lacking in character and a quite dated. There were marks on the wall where things had been removed. The bathroom was also dated but clean.
I had read that the hotel was due to be refurbished however for a 4* hotel I think that it should have been done much sooner.
Firstly we put the TV on but the picture and sound kept disappearing. We tried to listen to some music on the TV too but it kept cutting out so we ended up listening to music on our phones.
Even with the lights on the room was quite dull and we noticed that the lights nearest the door weren't working, where the biggest mirror was. I called down to reception to ask if new bulbs could be fitted and if someone could check the TV and was told of course.
We got ready and left before anyone arrived. Reception gave us great directions to the venue, even telling us where not to go on our way back.
We returned to the hotel about 12.30am to find that no-one had been to fix the lights or the TV.
We decided to go down to the bar as the brochure said it was open till 2am. We got there at 1am and it was closed. As the TV still wasn't working we just went to bed!!
Breakfast tasted great but it was very disorganised. It was very busy when we arrived and everything was running out. There only appeared to be 3 people working and it took 15mins to get a cup of tea. Once the food was eventually replenished it was very good, except for the toast which took ages to cook and came out burnt on one side and half cooked on the other. By the time I waited for this the rest of my food was cold.
All in all not a terrible stay as the concert was fantastic but could have been much better and definitely not 4*.
I paid for this hotel using Avios, which took me forever to collect, however a stay here is not worth the over £200 room rate that was advertised on the wall.

Room Tip: Cook your toast before getting the rest of your breakfast. Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your stay with us has clearly been a mixed one. We are in the midst of an extensive refurbishment project, which will positively impact on a number of areas within the hotel. Constructive feedback duly noted for further review, as our normal standards have not been attained in a couple of service areas mentioned. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed here on business and had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the river - this is such a bonus. Good sized opening window which allows in fresh air.

Staff friendly and welcoming and seem to be interested in you and your journey to the hotel. Very informative about the area and go the extra mile to find information.

Bar staff do not push particular dishes and tend not to offer side dishes so when the meal arrives you run the risk of no vegetables. Good location and good views of the river and bridges. Pleasant walk to the station and the Metro and staff will point you to shortcuts. Overall pleasant stay with staff wanting to make the experience good for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view of the river - not a side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, hotel location and the great view from the bedrooms (100% of our rooms overlook the river). I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing