We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be modernised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Choppington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Needs to be modernised”
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

As a travel agent I got an agent rate to stay here and I'm glad I did as I wouldn't pay the full price. I had a standard double room and they are very spacious with lovely views over the river and of the bridges but they desperately need upgrading. One of the plugs in our room was hanging off the wall. The bed looked like it had been broken in the middle there was such a big sag and it did guarantee roll together all night. The toilet seat was not attached properly and there was no toilet brush. When I turned on the shower there was a lot of black water dripping from the taps below which really put me off. We parked the car in the hotel car park which anyone could use but I wasn't expecting to pay for it being a resident of the hotel. It was a reduced rate though of £5 for the whole night. We didn't use any other facilities so I can't comment on anything else. The staff were friendly and efficient on check in and check out. It is a good location for exploring newcastle city centre quayside and also very good if
you're seeing a show at the arena as it is walking distance with a few good restaurants and bars within walking distance also.
The hotel is nice and I would stay again but only with a reduced agent rate unless they did some modernising.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleefamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished at present, a process that will take several months for completion.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    607
    440
    229
    94
See reviews for
200
659
71
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here for one night in October 2012 for a business trip. First impressions of the hotel were great. Reception area imacculate and very friendly and helpful girls at the Check-In Desk.
Stayed on a room on the Second floor accessed via the lifts. Stepping into the lift, it seemed that it was a very old lift that perhaps could be done with replacement. Thats just a little thing though. On entering my room I was pleased with how large it was, also the large windows overlooking the great view of the Tyne. The room however big was a little dated. Some of the electronics, ie the TV was like something out of the 1990's. Big boxy black one, which I thought was extinct in chan hotels at least, the kettle also looked like it could be as old as I am (I'm 26!). The air con controls in the room also were very dated, and despite being on the lowest heat setting and highest fan speed setting (I like a cold room) I was still roasting throughout the night, which kept me awake!
On opening the cabinet under the tv I found a sign that said "Dear Guest. For your convenience a bottle opener is located behind the bathroom door!!" And yes there is was attached to the tiles behind the door was a bottle opener. Possibly the strangest place ever ive found a bottle opener!! The bathoom door was also smashed in from one side which was a bit off putting! It would have also been nice to have a heated towel rail in the bathroom. Again little things, but all things that help.
Food was fine, breakfast was really nice. Must say the guys who served our meal to our company in our private Dining room were great. Especially the young guy who said it was his second day on the job. Great work,keep a hold of him! :)
Lastly, there were 3 young men out the river side of the hotel, with a People carrier, with all the doors wide open and blasting happy hardcore music at 12am ! What were they doing there you might ask........oh they were fishing!! They moved on eventually but were there casuing noise for around an hour!! Not something the hotel can control I understand but still a bit offputting should they return haha! Overall though a nice place, if not the top of my list....and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, size of bedroom and quality of food. We are in the midst of an extensive refurbishment programme at present, part of which is a planned TV replacement to flatscreens throughout the hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed for one night, the hotel is over priced. There was a party on and you could hear the music in our room and you could also hear people talking outside,also you could hear the metro line which stopped late and started up early morning.The room over looked the tyne which the best thing about the hotel.No breakfast included in the price which is disappointing.The hotel position is the best thing about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. Sorry to learn that your stay was affected by noise from a party within the hotel, which is relatively rare. Breakfast is an option which can be taken at the time of booking or upgraded whilst here.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Nice reception, nice room with lovely view across the Tyne. Lovely comfortable beds cannot complain about the beds in any shape or form. Shame about the tiny bath and furniture and electrics looking likr they could do with an update. A lovely stay in October 2012 but think they need to think about some updates soon,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of bedroom, hotel reception and hotel location. We are in the midst of an extensive refurbishment programme at present, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Had room which overlooked river and bridges, check in very polite and fast. Lovely bar comfortable beds great location for sightseeing in Newcastle. Ample parking.lovely river walks with bars and places to eat very close, just a great location to see Newcastle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the quality of guest service, hotel location, standard of facilities and ample car parking available. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked 8 rooms in the hotel for family members and the Function room where we were having a party with about 130 guests. All of the arrangements went very well on the night with 2 exceptions. First there was a problem with the pump for Lager and that could not be fixed on the night.The second problem was that there weren't enough bar staff on duty so that we had long queues of people waiting to be served.To be fair, the Food and Beverages Operations Manager (Keenan) did get more staff in quite quickly but it should have been foreseen.The buffet was very good.We had arranged our own band (which was excellent) and the Disco arranged by the hotel was very good.The location is excellent, breakfast was very good and the rooms with views over the river are fine but now in need of a bit of updating . The children in the group enjoyed the Leisure Pool. All of the staff were very helpful and attentive and did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and family event held with us, with particular regard to the quality of guest service, standard of food, and hotel location. The issue with the draught availability was unprecedented, and I hope that it did not impact in any negative way on your event. Your feedback is appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

It pains me to say it, but on our last visit to this hotel standards had fallen way below those which it once mantained. The riverside location is scenic, but the rooms are now very tired. Ours had a broken lamp, a literally threadbare carpet around the bed and the door onto the balcony had no lock, which definitely compromised security. Added to that, the toilet refused to flush in the middle of the night and there were no towels until we asked for them.

But what really annoyed me was the barkeeper who seemed incapable of pouring a pint of lager and a G&T and finding change tor a ten pound note. He kept calling me "mate" (but not in a friendly way) and had a general air of "can't do" about him. He took 40 minutes to eventually set down a club sandwich, by which time our drinks and patience were both finished and we were ready to walk out.

A long way from the normally excellent Geordie welcome.

We wouldn't weekend there again. I would be embarrassed to send my sales reps there. And if I was running the place I'd have a good hard look at the bar. (TVs everywhere, and all tuned to football -- I kid you not.) To be fair, they do serve a very good breakfast, but it doesn't make up for the general shabbiness and the infuriatingly poor bar service. Why put up with this when there's the terrific Malmaison just along the Quayside? Well, we won't do next time.

Looking at the other review it seems as if the Copthorne is refurbiishing. Well and good, but it would have been a courtesy to tell us that before we parted with our hard-earned cash. You just can't expect to run a business like that and have people love you ...

Room Tip: When booking, ask them if they'e finished refurbishing ther place. They need to close it for a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Old_China_Hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your comments, which will be reviewed with my management team. Your stay here has clearly been a mixed one, which is regrettable, and is not reflective of the normal standards here. Guest service issues are extremely rare, as high quality service is the cornerstone of the hotel, as evidenced by the high volume of very positive reviews in this area. There are extensive refurbishment works now well underway, including re-carpeting of most of the hotel, which will impact positively on the property.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing