We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed at the Copthorne Hotel last night as part of our build up to our wedding which we are holding at the hotel on Thursday this week.
We have now had several dealings with the staff over the previous few months (all of which have been outstanding) but this was the first time that we have stayed overnight. We were on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast booking and the whole stay was immensely pleasurable.
The view from the room on the fifth floor over the river was exceptional.
The staff, from reception booking in through to the bar staff, the waiter/waitresses and the events coorindinator are all first class.
The room on arrival was immaculately clean with very good facilities. For those on this site who complain about the tv not being a flat screen and dated, so what!! The tv works with all the available channels.
The food (both dinner and breakfast) is of a very high standard and the whole dining experience was wonderful (even without the koi carp carpet!)
Really looking forward to Thursday and have no regrets about booking the Copthorne Hotel for our big day
Thank you

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper (from approx. 6.30am onwards) then ask to be as far as possible away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us this past weekend, in the build up to your wedding this coming Thursday. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all, and we are also greatly looking forward to your special day. Weddings are a real speciality here, and your reasoned recommendation will I'm sure encourage others to consider the hotel for such an occasion. Many thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    575
    427
    228
    92
See reviews for
183
637
70
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Brilliant, competent, charming, a bargain. None of these words could be used to describe this hotel.

I was a guest at the wedding of some friends of my wife's here recently, and we stayed the weekend in the hotel. There isn't enough room in this review to list all the things that were wrong with it. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and this has to be about the lousiest, most incompetent, shoddily-run place I've ever had the misfortune to visit.

They started badly by ripping us off. Guests of the wedding were supposed to get a 'special rate' for their rooms, which turned out to be more expensive than if we had just booked the room through reception. A blatant con they admitted was true but refused to apologize for.

The room itself - despite being some sort of premium room - was actually rather shabby. The decor was from decades ago, the bed was pretty poor, the toilet didn't flush, and the bath taps were too stiff to turn on (if they worked at all). It was much the same in the half a dozen other rooms the wedding party were staying in.

Breakfast was ludicrously expensive and sloppily executed. There would be eggs out, but you'd have to wait ten minutes for the sausages and bacon, by which time all the eggs had gone, then vice-versa. Coffee was being carried round by a waiter, but we never seemed to actually get any.

The promised pool and gym wasn't even open, and didn't seem to have been for some time (might be an idea to stop advertising it). The wifi, like the parking, was charged - I really don't understand why every fifty quid a night B&B has free wifi, but pay £150 a night in a supposedly 4* hotel and they charge you.

Anyway, then came the wedding - oh my. The waiting staff managed to clear away about a dozen dinners completely untouched (including mine) while people were having photos taken or chatting, then did the same with the pudding (and wouldn't bring them back). The bar was almost impossible to get a drink from. They were just using one bar for both the wedding and the other parties and guests they had in the hotel. Even the groom had to queue for a drink, and then they were rude to him.

And then the DJ (supplied by the hotel) started playing...the highlight of the evening, for all the wrong reasons. It was so bad we thought it was a joke. He ignored people when they asked for requests, then on the few occasions he listened he got the wrong songs. He sang over the music, then kept disappearing for long periods leaving background music on, only to reappear wreaking of cigarette smoke and then spray himself down with aftershave. When people inevitably complained, he got in to rows with half the guests and then shoved a bridesmaid, only to claim he'd been assaulted by her (a girl half his size). He managed to top the night off by throwing a bacon sandwich at the bride in front of about twenty witnesses, then denied doing it.

The response from the hotel management was an absolute joke. Pretty much told everyone to get stuffed. Having now flicked through the reviews on here I can see there are quite a lot of other complaints, and this one like those will obviously be followed by a reply from their general manager (can't help feeling if he spent less time on here and more time running the hotel it would be a better place) saying either that this didn't happen (a lot of witnesses and the video on my iPhone says it did) or that 'this is not reflective of our usual standards'. Having stayed there and experienced it first hand, I'd say the complaints on here are actually typical of their normal standards.

In summation, if you want a wedding so bad it'll end up in the papers, try the Copthorne, Newcastle.

Room Tip: Sleep on the street instead. At least you can go to the loo.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Review fully disputed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed at the copthorne for the weekend as part of a stag do. The location is very central in Newcastle and as we had a room facing the tyne the view was excellent. That however I am afraid are the only plus points for this hotel. There was a wedding party there at the same time, and everyone else in the hotel seemed to be on stag dos. They are obviously trying to pack the place out with as many people as possible.

The hotel I am sure could actually be quite nice if they invested some money into it, but for the price (over 100 pounds per night for a double room) I just felt like I was being ripped off. The room looked like it had been properly hoovered etc. when we arrived but it can only really be described as dirty! There looked like red wine splashed over the ceiling. The TV looked about 20 years old and the mini bar was empty-why bother having it in there then? The bathroom tiles were filthy and the whole thing really needed stripping out. In fact the shower head looked like it had been fixed with a rag or something similar to stop it leaking.

We wanted to use the "leisure club facilities" and went down to try it out. The pool was filled with young children who were having swimming lessons. The sauna was out of order. The steam room was pretty much the only place to use and actually was quite good. Again it seems like they were trying to make some extra money by selling memberships to the club-surely it should be for guests only? Or if not then mention this somewhere on the website?

We were offered breakfast (£14-an absolutely outrageous price for a breakfast buffet) and wisely decided against this as there is a Lloyds next door which does a massive breakfast for £4.50. The room service was totally ridiculously priced, with a steak costing way over 20 pounds. You can visit the hawksmoor or gaucho for these prices.

I have no problem with hotels looking or being a bit outdated-I understand that some places were built 20 or 30 years ago. What I cannot understand however is hotels charging prices that are not reflective of the quality-in short this hotel is really poor value for money. I have just returned from holiday in spain where we stayed in a beautiful boutique hotel in a converted castle with champagne for breakfast and it was about the same price-the copthorne simply cannot justify charging the prices they do. So I think they really only have two options-if you stay in an un-renovated room simply charge less, or charge what they do if they properly renovate the place. It is really not fair otherwise. I really hope the management think carefully about their prices.

The only real plus point aside from the location is that we found the reception staff and cleaners helpful.

Would I return to newcastle? yes indeed it was great fun. Would I stay at the Copthorne. Definitely not-an ibis or travelodge would be much more sensible, cheaper and probably more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdog2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your comments, which will be reviewed with my management team. Sorry to learn that your stay has not met your expectations, and can assure you that the issues raised are by no means reflective of the key standards in place here.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here for three nights with a Room on the 5th floor. Hotel is nice throughout with a good location close to Newcastle city centre. The room was comfortable with a lovely power shower. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very welcoming. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diggler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, hotel location and quality of facilities. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

stayed at this hotel in july - the rooms desperately need upgrading - the spa and leisure facilities also are in need of an up-grade - the whole hotel really needs refurbishing - i wont be staying here again until this happens ?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished at present, a process that will take several months for completion.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

I was at a wedding reception lastnight. When we arrived at 7pm and went to park at this hotel .There charges for parking even though you are at a function is 2 pound an hour. Over 10 for the evening and that was just the start. The location is fantastic and the hotel beautiful. But the bar was a total rip off. I was driving and could only drink non alchohlic drinks. The coke and lemonade on draft were flat. No fiz at all. When I asked why they had not changed the gas canaster I was told that it had been changed three times. Anyone who has run a pub would tell you that was rubbish. They were to busy milking the cash cow to change it . I ended up drinking bottled coke all night witch keeps me awake. Every one who was having lemonade in as a mixer was getting flat sugared water. They didn't reduce the extorionate prices for ruining drinks there sub standard mixer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzybee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your comments, which will be reviewed with my management team. Sorry to learn that your non-residential visit has not met your expectations, and can assure you that the issues raised are by no means reflective of the key standards in place here.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed here as we were going to the Sage for a concert. The room on the fifth floor was very spacious. However difficult to keep warm as a result - although extra heater supplied. In general room very good value and view over the Tyne magnificent. Overall impression of hotel was " a little tired". Initial impression of breakfast was good with lovely choice of fruit, nuts etc. but cooked food a little cool and tired and service below par. A shame as it felt that with a little more effort this could have been a great deal better. Reception staff excellent. Wifi should be free!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestLakesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished at present (including an upgrade to the bedroom temperature comfort system), a process that will take several months for completion.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing