We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Armstrong Wedding 20th October 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Armstrong Wedding 20th October 2012”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

From the moment we walked into the Copthorne we knew this is where we wanted to get married! We had a dedicated Wedding Planner which helped with all the arrangements plus Keenan who was a great help on our special day! We got married in the Cuthbert Suite and had our Reception and Evening Party in the Restaurant which was fab! We opted for a Hot Buffet style reception and everyone loved it, it was such a change from the normal 4 course meal but it went down a treat! I would like to say a big thankyou to everyone at the Copthorne Hotel for making our Wedding Day the best ever!!! All the best from the Armstrong Family!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    607
    440
    229
    94
See reviews for
200
659
71
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Wow not sure where to start.... Honestly, I might have been able to look past the music that has been keeping me up since 9 p.m (ends somewhere between 12:30 and 1:00 am as the VERY RUDE front desk receptionist informed me---as if I knew when I booked several months ago there would be a big Christmas party on this night) EXCEPT the bed mattress is seriously the WORST mattress I have ever laid on. You are either sleeping with your head completely going downhill or upon rotating it sleeping with a big curve in your back going downhill. So uncomfortable.... Also the lights to the bathroom don't really work well---as in you have to jiggle the light switch just right and they will blink on... I have stayed in $40 rooms better than this one, how sad is that.. So sad that this experience is turing out horrible.

Room Tip: I would Not choose a room here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed here on business in December when the temperature was below freezing. The heating in my room didn't work and when I reported this they said it was becuase the place was being refurbished so the heating wasn't working at all. They must have known the rooms would be cold but may no attempt to warn of this at booking stage or check in. I asked for a heater which they gave me but made little differennce. They offered me another heater and an extra duvet but they never turned up. In addition the ironing board would not stand up so I had to kneel on the floor to iron and the bathroom smelled like somone had been smoking in it. Spent a very cold and uncomfortable night wearing my fleece in bed. On reporting all this at checkout the receptionist said she took my call about the extra heater and duvet but offered no explanation why they never materialised and no offer to reduce the bill or compensate me in any way. I stay in Newcastle 2 - 3 nights a week on business but won't be staying at the Copthorne again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Issy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

A grand old hotel full of character compared to modern flatpack hotels with no soul. It does need a refurbishment without a doubt, but the staff there are first class and ensure that everyone's stay is smooth, nothing is too much trouble for them! I've eaten in the bar every day for the past couple of weeks and the bar staff are very friendly whether it is 12pm or 12am. The reception staff are incredibly welcoming and it's hard not to smile when talking to them - again nothing is ever any trouble for them. As for the staff behind the scenes, after my third week in this hotel I still have no complaints about the food and no complaints about the cleanliness of my room. 5 stars all round, but a few quid from the big cheeses at Head Office would really help to update the decor and improve the impressions given by the bricks and mortar

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

For a one nighter this hotel is ok, a bit pricey for room only. Did not eat in hotel at all walked along the quay and ate out at a more reasonable price. Found the bedroom and ensuite to be rather cold this with the heating on full. Furniture very tired and bed the same, all could do with being renewed. Ensuite adequate but very noisy fan running all night, trains and metro very noisy as hotel between two bridges. Car parking is a bonus given where it is but you do have to pay for this in advance.

Room Tip: Can only comment on Room 202, it looks out over river, noise from bridges but at least you are away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEMac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Firstly to explain my poor rating. If this hotel was £50 a night it would be ok and I would have given it a 3. But at the price my company paid I could only give it a mark of 2.

I arrived in the midst of a snow storm and after parking in their multi storey car park I took the lift down. They say first impressions count....oh dear. The lift smelt of damp, the walls had cracks and were dirty and the carpet threadbare. Walking into the Hotel I thought it looked lovely...except it was freezing in there! Oh well. Booking in was a chore because at 6.15pm...just when all the businessmen were turning up, there was only one person on reception.

I arrived at my room and my initial impression was one of tiredness. The TV went out with the ark. Seriously! Who uses one of those huge old square TV's now? The room was absolutely freezing, so like other reviews here I put the hot air blower on, only to notice that it was blowing cold air 10 mins later. Luckily there was a small mobile heater in the room that I put on while having a Shower. Again, maintenance was poor as the shower had 2 settings. Boiling and freezing.

It's at this point that I started looking at things, as you do when your initial impression isn't good. The Toilet was too high. I am 6ft, but sitting on it had me on tip toes. The sink is too low, it should be at waist height not near my knees, and it looked like an afterthought bolt on. There was a door leading through to the next room which looked old and flimsy and then the worst thing of all. I called reception and asked how I log on to the internet.

Now call me picky but I stay in £50 rooms with free wifi...infact I stay in £30 rooms with free wifi. So why the hell should I stay in a £120 room and pay £5 to use the internet? This is rediculous!!

After a night out I slept well enough and in the morning the view was nice. This brings me on to the better points. The breakfast was good, views nice and staff welcoming and friendly.

Thats it.

After reading this review my recommendation would be to book the Premier Inn half a mile further up the road and at half the price. Or pay the extra £20 and stay at the Hilton. Don't stay here.

For the owners please read my review. This Hotel could be great but it needs substantial investment and especially maintenance. It looks like a hotel struggling to stay open and the numbers staying there seemed to prove that.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have stayed for two nights and the hotel is well located, but the room looks stopped in the last century, with a really slow and expensive internet connection. The good things are the indoor pool with a nice view and the breakfast!

Next time I will look for a better option.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xfparreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing