We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I have stayed here a few years ago and the standards have really dropped ! There was food left in my fridge from previous guests ! The staff were bordering on rude I had to ask for service at breakfast for my drink despite sitting fir a considerable time , really disappointing glad it was only a business stay !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneFountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Sorry to read that your expectations had not been met during your recent stay. Issues with bedroom attention to detail are rare here, with your feedback duly noted. Negative feedback on guest service is extremely rare, with this area normally the key strength of the hotel, as evidenced by the huge volume of positive feedback on tripadvisor on this area.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed for two nights while competing in the Great North Run. They'd really thought through what might make the weekend extra special for the runners. The extra touches (e.g. shuttle bus to the start; runners' menu; complimentary drinks reception after the race) were lovely, but the best part was the genuine warmth and helpfulness of all the staff I encountered. As others have noted, the hotel is a little dated (which is why my rating is currently four rather than five) so I really look forward to the refurbishment. That said, my hotel room was entirely comfortable and the Copthorne is very well located for sightseeing and Newcastle nightlife. This hotel was a late choice for me but has been a revelation in terms of customer service. Next year I'll be booking my GNR stay here early!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank 92Ali92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay over Great North Run weekend, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service experienced throughout, and the extra touches which were in place for the weekend. Your positive feedback is a great recommendation to other parties who will be choosing their hotel for next year's race, and is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in September 2014.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Reception Staff Rachel and Abbey were first class, Rachel was smiles, friendly, offering to help without being asked, remembering my name. Abbey came in a close second and tied with Carol in Housekeeping who sorted out a minor problem that was not in her area of responsibility -immediately!! The current refurbishment program will take this hotel to standard acceptable to most travelers, My room had been recently upgraded with the exception of the bar fridge and was very comfortable. Good value compared to my other hotel stays in the UK. The GM should be proud that he has staff who care and that is what made my stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us when visiting the region for the cricket, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service experienced throughout, and the general hotel facilities. Genuine hospitality is the cornerstone of the hotel, and your positive feedback is a great recommendation to other tripadvisor readers and is much appreciated. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again the next time you are in the UK.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

As other travellors have experienced, the first greeting to the hotel is the smelly carpark lift, however, the warm welcome from reception staff removes some trepidation. Location is fantastic and you appreciate the short walk in to town (or should I say toon) and appreciate more when you have had your fill of Chinese food on the way back. There was an excellent communications letter to guests detailling the improvements being made and it is also good to see on Trip Advisor, the Manager taking time out to respond. Did not eat in restaurant but breakfast was good and again service was faultless. More often than not, it is the people that make a hotel, and this one has some excellent staff

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular the high standards of guest service, the hotel location, and the quality of breakfast. Great hospitality is the cornerstone of the hotel, and it is lovely to read that this has had such a positive impact on your stay. We are in the midst of a lot of refurbishment work at present, with much of this taking place over the next two months. This includes the car park lift which was upgraded last week! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A friend recommended this hotel and I can't think of any major disappointments having stayed there for 3 nights. Customer service and facilities totally met my expectations based on the price paid. I didn't love the food on the first night so chose to eat elsewhere the rest of my stay. But I used the great advice from staff and the gym facilities to great satisfaction. I'm a fan of the river views from the room too.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service and the general quality of the hotel facilities. Constructive feedback on dinner duly noted (normally a key strength). I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I paid quite a lot of money to stay for 3 nights + breakfast but then you had to pay extra again for an English breakfast. We ate in the hotel every night which also added another £200 and then we had to pay for parking which was a bit of a joke! overall was very disappointed with my stay and very expensive for all that was offered. unfortunately I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Sorry to read that your stay did not meet your personal expectations. In the absence of much detailed information within the review, there is unfortunately not a great deal of feedback upon which I can base a response. From a car parking perspective, every city centre hotel in Newcastle charges for this facility, with ours the cheapest for any comparable hotel at £5.00 per night (some are up to £16 per night).
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It doesn't start well. Of all the things needing sorting the first is the lift from the car park. Tatty and a bit smelly, this should be a priority. Once you are actually in the hotel things get a lot better very quickly. Reception was faultless throughout the stay. The room was large and comfortable. We didn't eat in the hotel, but only because we were too busy. The location is excellent, with doors onto the quayside and views from the room along the Tyne. We used the gym and swimming pool, which were adequate, and briefly tried the steam room which was appropriately steamy. The staff were very good and there were no bad surprises. Even the many Australians staying for the T20 cricket were very pleasant. We got a good deal on the price (Top Secret Hotel), but would not have been upset paying a little bit more.

Room Tip: Rooms upstream are closer to the slightly noisy metro bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, bedroom quality, leisure facilities and the strong hotel location on the banks of the River Tyne. Your constructive comment with regard to the car park lift is very well timed, as we have been organising for some time to conduct an upgrading project at the start of September, with works taking place this week. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £58 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing