We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Only average”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Best thing was its location! We stayed here for 4 nights on a National Trust holiday visiting properties in Northumbria and Durham. Very central location for such a purpose and the hotel is well situated on the riverside to see the various Tyne Bridges.

The bedroom was a good size, and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was disappointing and the taps were very difficult to adjust to the right temperature-extremely sensitive.

Health suite was OK with an excellent pool but shabby men's changing room.

Breakfast was good, except for the lack of any bread other than plastic sliced. Dinner was ok-ish.

Friendly staff in bar.

Main issue for me was that the Internet cost £1 for 10 mins. or £4 for a day and no other options. I expect to have free WIFI in a hotel of this standing.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your constructive review, with your feedback duly noted for discussion with my team. The hotel's wi-fi policy is a central coprporate one, which I am aware is under review at present.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    607
    440
    229
    94
See reviews for
200
659
71
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birtley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

hotel and restaurants very nice beautiful position on the tyne, easy access to the heart of the city, lovely clean hotel . good car park and safe, good choice of food and a lovely venue for a special occasion, i had my wedding here 10 yeras ago with the red carpet out side love it .

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank miaanyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the hotel location, standard of cleanliness, and calibre of food. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We usually stay across the other side of the River Tyne at the Hotel you will see if you look out your window if you stay here, but thought we'd try this one for a change.
We booked the 'club room' which gave a few extra benefits including free Wi-Fi and one drink per person per day in the bar, plus nibbles. After having to change rooms because the window would not close, and judging by the amount of dust inside the window frame, hadn't been closed for a long time,and after we settled in, we went down to the bar, produced our drinks voucher and were told you can have either a pint of Bitter or Lager, or a small glass of house wine. We chose our drinks and asked what 'nibbles' were available. The young bartender said it was crisps and salted peanuts. I chose nuts, my wife chose crisps. Sorry, came the reply, you can have only one packet of crisps or nuts between you!
This just about sums up this Hotel, cheap as chips, or crisps in this case.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gogandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your constructive review, with the points raised to be reviewed with my management team here. We are looking at the Club product at present, with the bedrooms having been upgraded over the past month with new carpets and furniture.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the Copthorne last weekend for a business conference.
The general feeling of the hotel is very tired. The rooms are pleasant with great views, but the furniture is old and in need of modernisation. We had a 3 course meal in the hotel on both nights and this was very uninspiring. I visited the gym and this is again very dated with not much equipment. The swimming pool however was quite nice. Overall then a good but uninspiring hotel, well placed to enjoy all that Newcastle has to offer.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. There has been a lot of refurbishment already undertaken over the past 12 months in all bedrooms - new carpets throughout, new beds throughout, new TV's throughout, and also new furniture in a high number of rooms. This will be continuing going forward.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at the Copthorn in Newcastle Upon Tyne and had three friends from Wales book it too...I'm a local So thought I would tell them of this good Hotel.....wrong...it was a night mare...jaded poor service even had the rooms mixed up I'm sitting in one room whilst one of my friends was sat in another until I rang her mobile and asked where she was! This was very disappointing for me as I had told them how good it was at the Crapthorn! I complained as did my friends and never even got a reply! Avoid this hotel it's not even two stars in my opinion?

Room Tip: When I checked in I had to demand the room I'd seen paid for and believed I had reserved....they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It is regrettable that your stay has not met your expectations. Your review is not reflective of our normal standards in place here.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Overall nice, clean but really average rooms, in need of a little TLC.
Parking a plus, ok location, I'd advise to pay a little more & go for a better hotel.
If it's a room for the night you need then pay less and you'll feel much better in the morning!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PMP1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It is regrettable that your stay has not met your expectations. Your review is not reflective of our normal standards in place here.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is my first ever trip advisor review. I stayed at the Copthorne Hotel in Newcastle with work colleagues and wives on Friday and Saturday, October 18th and 19th. Oh dear, what a tired hotel with poor food that looked more like school dinners rather restaurant prepared.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It is regrettable that your stay has not met your expectations. This is not reflective of our normal standards in place here, with a lot of refurbishment work already having taken place, with more to follow.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing