We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Bray, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant hotel”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

12 people in our group traveled in October and stayed for a period of 2 days, Friday and Saturday night. The welcome in reception was excellent and the rooms were allocated in a friendly and speedy manner. The rooms were first rate and exactly as they had been described. The room easily accommodated 2 people comfortably and the bathroom was clean and well stocked. I had several requests from our group which were all dealt with in a manner that suggested they were very happy to do so. Nothing seemed like too much trouble.
The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide range of options to suit all. The bar was quiet with a nice relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. Special mention I feel must go to Rachel on reception who was fantastic in her manner and delivery of her duties, however all the reception staff gave me this impression.
The location is ideal for the quayside and the town center which is minutes away. Overall a fantastic trip made even better by our stay in the Copthorne hotel. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that your party enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout (in particular at reception), the hotel location, and the quality and cleanliness of the bedrooms. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    605
    440
    229
    94
See reviews for
198
657
71
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Attended a conference at The Copthorne this weekend. Had a fantastic time!
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, it is so unusual to get such a calm and friendly atmosphere in a busy City Hotel. The food was good and handled the vast number of attendees well. It appears they are doing a lot of work to update the rooms and theBuilding as some scaffolding on the outside, this did not cause any disruption to our stay and looks like they are upgrading.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a river view, its so nice to look down theTyne!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the hotel location, and the quality of the hotel food and general facilities. The scaffolding will also be down very soon! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A regular visitor to this hotel over the last 18 months and all I can say is what a difference. Put me in there last year and you may have heard me saying "get me out of here" but now, a totally different story.

So, new air heating system - not air con but very efficient at warming rooms in the winter, new beds, new TVs, new carpet, new chairs, new fridges in rooms, new elevators, a nice range of good quality food on the menu in the restaurant and room service and to top it off some excellent staff who are attentive and go above and beyond to help you.

Money is being spent on the Copthorne, that is evident. It is cosy and welcoming and if something is not right, why wait until you write a review when you have left? Let them know straight away and Ken's team will put it right.

Some thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable trips recently, thanks to the guys there and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stays here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, and the standard of hotel facilities. Our refurbishment programme is now well underway, and has clearly impacted positively on your recent stays. Our next phase of these works will be commencing early in the New Year. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Copthorne last weekend and had a wonderful time.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is superb, and all food and facilities
extremely good.
We will certainly return tho the Copthorne and we look forward to it.
Excellent all round.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevcldwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the hotel location, and the quality of the hotel food and general facilities. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We regularly go to Newcastle and have tried many hotels. We have stayed several times at the Copthorne over the last few years but on the last couple of occasions before this felt it had gone downhill. However, it has now had a welcome refurbishment and is back to its best. It is a great location overlooking the Tyne, close to all amenities but relatively quiet. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and unlike some other reviewers we found the reception staff very welcoming and we were even given a voucher for free drinks in the bar and, for the first time ever, breakfast was included in the price which I wasn't expecting. We had a 'club room' which is worth the extra.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a club room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service (in particular at reception), the hotel location, and the quality of the hotel bedrooms. Our refurbishment programme is now well underway, with the next phase to commence early in the New Year. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Copthorne Hotel over the weekend 18-20 October. We had three rooms (for my wife and me, our elder daughter and her husband, and our younger daughter).

Our main reason for staying at the hotel was for a family celebration for 16 people on the Saturday evening. I was responsible for making all the arrangements. The Copthorne was chosen after I sent requests for information to 7 hotels in the area. Once we had chosen the Copthorne, the help from Gemma on the events staff was superb – accommodating our special requests and making suggestions which would make the evening more special and enjoyable. This help was invaluable, with me living in Lancashire (over 150 miles away) and never before having stayed at this hotel.

When we arrived on the Friday afternoon we got a very friendly welcome from Nicky at reception (she and her colleague were very friendly and helpful all weekend). We were very pleased that we were all given room upgrades from the standard rooms we had booked, two to “Connoisseur” rooms on the fifth floor and one to a huge suite on the fourth floor. The complimentary bottle of champagne was another pleasant surprise!

Nicky quickly got hold of Susie from the events team (who had taken over from Gemma) and we met with Keenan the Food & Beverage Manager to go through the arrangements for the following evening to make sure everything would go smoothly.

On Friday evening we ate at the Orchid restaurant just across the road from the Copthorne (very handy as it was pouring with rain). I would thoroughly recommend the restaurant – the meal was excellent and we were very glad we had booked as it was very busy. After the meal it was back to the hotel bar which was surprisingly jumping at that time of night (and the prices seem quite reasonable for a hotel bar).

The Saturday night event itself went very smoothly, closely overseen by Keenan and helped by the fact that the four children under 8 years old were impeccably behaved. We had a selection of canapés and champagne in a private area of the “Upper Atrium” (just off the hotel foyer), overlooking the River Tyne. The canapés were very nice, though the “mini” Yorkshire puddings with roast beef were rather substantial! We then moved into the Quay 7 restaurant for a three-course meal and coffees. I think everyone enjoyed their meals (though the portion sizes for the childrens’ meals were rather large!), with Keenan happy to take group photographs and making sure everything was going OK. After the meal the adults retired to the lively hotel bar and stayed there until gone three … we were all rather tired the next day! A short walk along the Tyne on the Sunday morning to the interesting quayside market gave us a much needed breath of fresh air … and by then the sun had appeared.

The hotel is well located on the banks of the River Tyne (one of the reasons we chose the Copthorne). Its exterior though at present is rather spoiled by some scaffolding while exterior remedial building work is carried out, but that should be finished soon. We would not have been affected if we had not been upgraded to rooms on the fifth floor, so we can’t really complain that it spoilt the view from our rooms. There has also been a programme of refurbishment at the hotel which I believe is nearing completion. The rooms now have new carpets, flat screen TVs, very comfortable beds with good quality bedding and were clean and very spacious. The only thing we could fault was the washbasin in our bathroom (room 521) which was quite badly cracked; hopefully in future this will also be updated. My daughter couldn’t close the window in her room (522), neither could the chambermaid who made a call to maintenance and it was closed by the time my daughter returned to the room. Unfortunately, when we all met up there the following day – before we could stop him - her brother in law opened the window to look at the view from the fifth floor … resulting in another call to reception to get maintenance to fix it!

The breakfast buffet was good. We did not find time to use the hotel’s leisure facilities.

Overall, an excellent weekend with great service from the hotel staff and a very memorable family celebration.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent family event held here at the Copthorne Newcastle, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service experienced throughout. Great guest service is the cornerstone of the hotel, and your lovely feedback on the departments (events, reception and F&B service) is greatly appreciated. Our refurbishment programme is well underway now, with the next stage to follow early in the New Year. The issue with the windows is also being resolved as we speak. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great location and large rooms but those are the only real positives.

Disinterested welcome on arrival (similar on departure).

Room are large but sparsely furnished, decor is dated and the bathroom looked old and dirty. Ac didnt work properly so it was like sleeping in an oven.

Not a warm welcome in the bar and having to carry a large piece of paper with you to put drinks on the room is just unhelpful.

Communal areas are really tired and the hotel just needs refreshed physically and in terms of staff attitude.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmac1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
It is regrettable that your personal perception of the hotel has not been a positive one during your recent stay. It is by no means reflective of our normal standards in place here. High standards of guest service are mentioned in almost all reviews, evidenced by the huge volume of positive feedback on this point across these pages. The hotel is also in the midst of extensive refurbishment at present, both within the bedrooms (new carpets, Hypnos beds, Samsung TV's have gone into all 156 bedrooms over the past 12 months, with a lot of other rooms also receiving new furniture) and the public areas (new carpets, blinds and redecoration).
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing