We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, staff, a great experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location, staff, a great experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Copthorne is in a great location, close to all the attractions but away from the general Stag and Hen experience. Booked direct for 3 nights and got excellent deal at basically Premier Inn/ Jurys price. Checking in no problems and room with small balcony fine, stunning views of river. Hotel refurbishment well advanced and it shows. The new beds are some of the best we have found anywhere in the world .We did not eat in the hotel so unable to comment on food. Room heating is rather loud, however we had 3 excellent nights sleep with no disturbance. Swimming pool fine ,sauna working steam room and jacuzzi not. Staff all very friendly , will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiecrew5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, the hotel location, and the comfort of the bedroom (all 156 bedrooms have brand new Hypnos beds). I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    575
    427
    228
    92
See reviews for
183
637
70
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at the Copthorne in October as it was the venue or a convention which I attended. The hotel staff, from checking in to the bar and restaurant staff, were excellent and to be commended for their friendliness and their attentiveness. The hotel itself is one of the nicest I have stayed in here in the UK. My room had a wonderful view of the Tyne, it was spotlessly clean, comfortable and welcoming, and was serviced daily. I dined in the hotel restaurant each night of my stay, and found the food to be of the highest quality, which my friends and I enjoyed thoroughly. Breakfast was a choice of a wide variety and most enjoyable. As a convention venue the Copthorne is well situated, and is able to accommodate such events with ease. I sincerely hope that the next such event is held here, and I cannot commend and recommend the hotel and its staff highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here for the Dimensions convention, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the quality of the hotel food, and the comfort and cleanliness of the bedroom. We are delighted to be hosting next year's event again, and look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having used the Copthorne as the venue for our Wedding last year, my wife and I returned for a 2 day stay to celebrate our first anniversary.
Once again, we didn't encounter any problems from first booking the stay all the way through to checking out, we were met with a polite helpful approach by all members of staff we encountered, even though there was 2 large conferences taking place in the hotel we always felt that the personal touch was always present.
The re-furb which is still on going is making a welcome difference, but for us personally the comments that some previous reviewers have stated about being out dated have never made a difference for us. What we look for in a hotel is customer service and the Copthorne has this is abundance!
Unfortunately we missed Ken during our stay (taking some well deserved annual leave) but his team have done him (and the hotel) proud in his absence.
Checking in was smooth, very quick and efficient with no problems. We had dinner included in our bill and was met in the restaurant with a warm greeting and the steak we both ordered was divine. We wanted a bottle of champagne but the choice on the wine list didn't include our favourite tipple but on checking with the staff they were able to accommodate our request by getting us a bottle of our preferred drink from the bar. On the second evening, my wife enquired if she could have something off the room service menu that wasn't present on the restaurant menu, once again this request was met with no problems at all and shows the staff's eagerness to accommodate any reasonable requests.
Although all the staff went above and beyond for us, special thanks must go to Keenan who was once again an absolutely fantastic host, Nikki on reception who couldn't do enough for us and to Tommy in the restaurant who's sense of humour is immense.
As our Wedding venue, this hotel is always going to be very special to us but my advice is very simple - if you encounter any problems during your stay, speak to a member of staff and if your problem can be rectified I'm pretty sure it will be.
We are already looking forward to spending our next anniversary with you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout (in particular in reception and the restaurant), the quality of food, and the calibre of general hotel facilities. We are well underway now with our refurbishment programme, with the next phase to commence early in the New Year. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next Anniversary, if not sooner! Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

such a lovely place. a warm welcome. we spent the weekend and had a great stay. the rooms are clean. taking a shower was like having a full body massage. the food was great, the service was prompt. we are planning another visit and will be staying at the copthorne Newcastle again. we normally stay with another hotel chain. but not now. breakfast is served over looking the river. really nice way to start your day. well worth a try.

Room Tip: a room over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank russell h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the quality of the hotel food, and the comfort and cleanliness of the bedroom. We are delighted to have attained your brand loyalty, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was booked to stay at this hotel whilst I was working in Newcastle. The receptionist was friendly, and allowed me to check-in at about 10.30am, much earlier than the official check-in time.

My room (and I was told all the rooms) had a fantastic view of the quayside. Shame about the scaffolding, but this is obviously temporary. The room was a great size, and felt homely. The bed was comfortable, and the shower worked well. I had no complaints at all with this room.

The breakfast buffet was very good. Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to use the swimming pool or other facilities at the hotel, but the pool looked nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout (in particular at reception), the hotel location, the comfort and quality of the hotel bedroom, and the calibre of the breakfast buffet. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here recently for an event. All the staff without exception were very helpful, polite, nothing was to much trouble. The food was well priced and delicious, try the steak! Our room was large clean and bright. Fantastic power shower and very comfortable beds. I will certainly be revisiting this hotel hopefully in the very near future

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoubleCSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the quality of the hotel food, and the comfort and cleanliness of the bedroom. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Have stayed here twice now in 2 weeks, the Hotel is located right on the Tyne in the Quayside, 2 min walk from the Sage (amazingly beautiful building).
Inside it is pretty dated & tired, like the bathroom fittings & actual bedrooms. Last week I stayed on the 2nd floor, this week they upgraded me to the 5th which has just undergone a refurb. The steam room was broken apparently it's been out of action for some time.
Bar is nice but quite expensive, restaurant menu looks nice, I decided to order some chicken from there rather than the bar snacks.., sounded way better than what was put in front of me.., Overcooked, overpriced chicken.
Due to your location you are right next to the Metro train track (also some coal freight trains).
None of the rooms are triple glazed so when they start @ 0600, you also start @ 0600 !!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the left hand side of the hotel away from the Trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stays with us, with your constructive feedback noted for review with my team. Our refurbishment programme is now well underway, with the next phase due to commence early in the New Year. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing