We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of an update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“In need of an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here some years ago (when the hotel was newly opened) and it was good. However, it has seen better days. The location is good but the rooms and especially the bathrooms need updating. Five minutes after arriving in our room the lighting went off. The housekeeping staff couldn't solve the problem so moved us to another room. The bathrooms are pretty grubby with grime in the corners. Breakfast the next morning was forgettable with disinterested staff. It' s not cheap at gbp100 plus night. Not recommended until it is refurbished. Oh ...and no wifi.....unacceptable these days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback, which will be reviewed with my management team. The hotel is in the midst of a period of extensive refurbishment at present, with a lot of work conducted in 2013, and a lot more to follow in 2014. Perceived guest service issues are extremely rare here. I hope you will consider staying with us again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    575
    427
    227
    92
See reviews for
183
636
70
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed one night whilst visiting friends. Excellent position we had a room facing the tyne , very nice. Good night sleep in a comfy bed hotel was nice and quiet. Had breakfast which was very nice a variety of fruit, cereals, pastries and a cooked option nice and hot.
Hotel within walking distance of shops bars and local restaurants. Hotel staff nice, friendly ,helpful.. Rooms need a little bit of attention but position makes up for that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186408Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, the hotel location and the quality of breakfast. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel with my wife as a bit of a treat. The hotel is tired and in need of TLC. I stayed here three years ago and it does not look very much different. The spa was dirty with a hole covered by a unsafe looking ( I am a safety practitioner) that used to house the jacuzzi. The steam room need to be thoroughly cleaned with a rather grubby floor,the changing vroom were off the same standard. The staff were the redeeming feature of the stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloughie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Sorry to learn that your stay had been marred by your perception of the leisure club. The club is operated by a separate company to the hotel - Fitness Express - to whom your comments have been passed and actioned this morning. The protective housing which covers the former jacuzzi (which is no longer in place) is quite safe. I am glad that your guest service experience within the hotel was a positive one. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

New Castle, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were on the fifth floor, which was very dark in the public areas. As it is so dark in the winter, it felt creepy. Although the hotel is to be commended for it's energy consciousness, they have taken it a little too far and even with all the low voltage lights on in the room, it still seemed dark. Food was institutional quality; tasteless pasta, hard eggs in the morning, and rubbery sausages. Room was very much in need of refurbishing; it just seemed old. I hate writing down bad things, but you should know. The reception staff was lovely, and very helpful, however, and Newcastle is a great city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments. The hotel is in the midst of an extensive programme of refurbishment at present, with all 156 hotel bedrooms having had new carpets, new beds, and new TV's in 2013 (along with new tub chairs also on the 5th floor). New curtains are also being planned for early 2014 in all bedrooms. Lighting feedback and breakfast comments duly noted. I'm glad that your guest service experience was a very positive one, with particular regard to the reception team. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

stayed here for one night for business. not bad for a hotel. fantatic views of the rivver and bridges bit noisey though a you can hear the trains goin over the bridge. basic bedroom, bathroom in need of a facelift but shower fantastic. shame no free wii fii in rooms. booked an early morning call to get up for a meeting - didnt recieve it !!! and no pool access as a child had had an accident in it?? nice breakfast and staff friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachieh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, with your constructive feedback noted for review with my management team. Sorry that pool access was unavailable at the time, due to a child leaving an 'unwelcome deposit' in the pool during a swimming lesson, necessitating a full chlorine re-dosing of the pool. I'm glad that you enjoyed breakfast, and that your guest service experience was a positive one. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This used to be a great place to stay. No more. It's clear that the management don’t care about the place and that rubs off on most of the staff. The bedrooms are still in OK condition, but a little shabby, and of course the view is brilliant (of the river). But there were loads of issues. Dinner is nowhere near the standard of an allegedly 4 star hotel. (Although breakfast is good). Despite you paying top dollar, they charge extra for wifi. They charge for parking. (When my wife complained, she was told that this was the cheapest 4 star hotel in Newcastle for parking. She pointed out it was hardly 4 star). Offered tea or coffee for breakfast we were told that espresso would be charged extra. In the event, the espresso was terrible. We were given a pot of tea that smelt and tasted mouldy. We asked for it to be changed, which they did but served it in the same pot, so it still smelt off. The leisure centre opened an hour and a half late, with no word of explanation or apology. These are just examples of poor service. None of this would be good enough in any hotel, let alone one that claims 4 star status. It all felt penny-pinching. Come to think of it, we booked B&B and on arrival they claimed we had room only. Luckily I was able to access the laterooms confirmation on my smartphone to prove them wrong. I hope it gets back on track, because one upon a time it was a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkTimmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Sorry to read that your personal expectations have not been met during your stay. Throughout the hotel team, there is great collective pride towards ensuring a high standard of guest service combined with an increasingly fine standard of product (through ongoing investment), and it is regrettable that your personal view of your stay has been one of disappointment.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Travelled up from London on Friday night to be there for an away game of football. We chose the Copthorne as we like to be by water (river or sea) when travelling and then take the opportunity to go for walks along the water edge or riverside. Copthorne was ideally located for this and our room had a bay window with fab views over the river and the many bridges that straddle the Tyne. Room clean and tidy but the fridge was empty - very strange. Bed a lot smaller than other hotels we have stayed in but it was comfortable. Enough cupboard and wardrobe space available and there was a desk and chair in the room as well as an armchair and chair by the by window to look out over the views. Blackout curtains kept room dark until we were ready to wake up. Checkin and checkout were both fast and efficient. Breakfast choice was good but staff need to monitor levels of food available so that guests are not waiting whilst eggs / bacon etc. are topped up. Hotel bar was very bland. As mentioned before the location was ideal for walks along the river. Nearby Sunday street market along the river bank was good. Walked from hotel into town on the 3 days we were there - better to see the town than from the inside of a taxi and Newcastle is surprisingly quite small so makes it ideal for walks and the football stadium is just north of the town centre so everything compact. Good shopping centre. Took the shuttle bus to the Metro centre which is supposedly the largest shopping mall in Europe but found that disappointing. No wow factor as you approached it to make you want to get your purse out and shop. May visit Newcastle again for next away game next season but would choose another hotel - something with a bit more pizazz which sadly the Copthorne did not have.

Room Tip: river front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArashAshkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your constructive review, with your points noted for review with my management team. I do hope you will consider staying with us again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing