We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as ever ”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Copthorne Newcastle for two nights during our time in Newcastle over the Xmas period. Booked three rooms - a connoisseur, a double and a single. We have stayed in the Newcastle Copthorne before and as usual found the entire experience pleasant. Check in and check out was smooth and professional, staff seem happy and are consequently friendly and helpful, parking costs are reasonable, the hotel location is excellent for its proximity to the city centre yet very peaceful down on this part of the quayside and the rooms themselves are spacious comfortable and spotless clean. We ordered one room service meal and found it well prepared. Will continue to return to the Copthorne Newcastle whenever I am in Newcastle.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waynef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us over the festive season, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the peaceful hotel location, the comfort and cleanliness of the bedrooms and the calibre of room service cuisine. Your repeat custom is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    585
    429
    228
    94
See reviews for
187
640
71
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel is very nicely located by the river!
Breakfast is quite nice and the staff is lovely.
We got a complimentary upgrade to a nicer room.
Although rooms are a bit outdated …. need refurbishing, but it is a good value for money!
On Sundays there is a lovely market by the river right outside the hotel.
We would recommend a cruise on the river - very beautiful and romantic experience, that gives you a good view of the city and its history (if you have the guide on the boat as we did).
Lovely city!
Fingers crossed for you to get some nice weather as well!

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HalleBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the hotel location, the quality of breakfast, the high standard of guest service, and the calibre of bedroom. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Elington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at the Copthorne after a full day of retail therapy. The location is great, it's close the shops, restaurants and nightlife of the city and has fabulous views over the Tyne. The room was clean and comfortable, however, the greatest asset of this hotel is its welcoming nature, with staff who are pleasant, helpful and friendly at all times. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was tasty and plentiful. Breakfast was also a real treat, with a great selection of hot and cold options. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: A river view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hezza234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom, the calibre of cuisine, and the hotel location on the banks of the Tyne. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The access to the hotel was somewhat difficult to find, but our trusty satnav got us there through the labyrinthine streets of Newcastle. When we were there, if was being refurbished, with scaffolding outside. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful, and the room was warm and comfortably furnished, although the sheer view down to the quayside out of the full-length window did get the knees shaking somewhat! There was a great view of the several bridges across the Tyne, and the bar was again friendly and comfortable. It was a short walk along the Quayside to various restaurants, art galleries and theatres, and we were lucky to see the Millennium Bridge open not once but twice. We walked up to the city centre using footpaths, which was steep but educational, with remnants of the old Roman wall and other historical artifacts along the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_of_Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service at reception, the warmth and comfort of your bedroom, and the hotel location on the Tyne. The scaffolding works are now long gone (thankfully!), and all 156 rooms now have an uninterrupted view of the river. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Having previously stayed at the Copthorne a couple of years ago we (mother and daughter), returned for a weekend stay to indulge in a massive festive retail therapy session. We previously had enjoyed our stay, but this time what really impressed us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, whilst at the same time remaining very professional. In particular the Reception staff and the Restaurant staff - nothing was a problem and all delivered with a smile - we would return purely to receive that quality of service! Our room was spacious, with fantastic views of the Tyne and contained everything a guest could want. The food was good, with no queuing for breakfast, all served in an extremely amiable environment. A particular aspect, which we found to be invaluable, was the hotel's promotion and publicity regarding a local taxi company, with a view to guests safety whilst visiting the area (very important for two females). We used the taxi company throughout our stay, but particularly relevant was that being in the town in the early hours of the morning (yes, we had been drinking as well as shopping), we were able to ring the company and get a taxi safely back to the hotel. On previous visits we had encountered real problems in getting a taxi back to the hotel in the early hours.

Will we back and will we recommend the Copthorne? Most certainly, and to the management and staff - well done, you delivered quality service with a smile and demonstrated that you really do care about you guests..

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaras2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, having last stayed with us a couple of years ago. Over the past two years, there has been a lot of investment into the hotel through refurbishment of a large number of key areas (with a lot more to follow in 2014), and I am pleased that you were so happy with the standard of bedroom (and the fine river views) and the calibre of cuisine. Our key focus has been on driving a culture of service excellence, and your lovely feedback on the high standard of guest service experienced is great to read. We have worked with an excellent local taxi company, LA Taxis, for the past two years (having changed taxi provider), to whom I will pass on your positive comments. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed for one night, on business.

The good bits:

Stunning views of the Tyne. Just gorgeous. I could have sat in one of the chairs helpfully set in front of the window for hours. It's the hotels best asset.

The hotel is really comfortable. I can't explain what it is, but it just feels really homely and relaxing in a slightly old fashioned way, in contrast to the Premier Inn-style 'basic furniture, bums on seats' approach.

The reception staff were lovely, and so were the domestic staff.

I didn't use room service, but the menu looked good. Extensive and reasonably priced.

The room plus breakfast were good value.


The not so good:

The bathroom needs replacing. It looked rather old fashioned and smelled a bit musty.

The heating is the air blowing type, rather than radiators, so it could be a little noisy.

The cold breakfast buffet was a bit lacklustre. The only bread was brown & white sliced and the only fruit was some sliced peaches. Other hotels in this price bracket do breakfast much better than this.

The hotel is close to town but I got a cab back after dinner because I didn't want to walk back on my own - the slightly dark roads down to the river from the city is the price you pay for the beautiful views, I suppose! It wouldn't have been a problem for a couple or a group.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a Tyne view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular the high standard of guest service throughout, the comfort of your bedroom (and the great view from it over the river) and the value for money. As part of our extensive ongoing refurbishment, we are shortly to be looking at bathroom upgrading options. Breakfast standard covers a range of fresh fruits in place, and is normally a key strength of the business. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and efficient, upgrading my room to a fantastic suite on the first floor. The views over the river Tyne from my balcony were brilliant. It was a great venue for a Christmas party, food was nice and bar staff quick and efficient. Breakfast was tasty with lots of hot and cold choices. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Newcastle, especially due to its fab views.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us for your Christmas party, in particular the high standard of guest service throughout, the quality of bedroom (and the great views) and the calibre of cuisine, Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing