We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Sandman Newcastle
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (2,112)
    Filter reviews
    2,112 results
    Traveller rating
    584
    710
    474
    242
    102
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    584
    710
    474
    242
    102
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsoverlooking the riverbay windowclub roomafternoon teabit datedcar parkcity centrewould stay againbars and restaurantslovely roomstayed here for one nightcouldn't faultfull englishsaturday nighttynequaysidenewcastle
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1,340 - 1,345 of 2,112 reviews
    Reviewed 31 December 2013

    It is in a great location within an easy walk into town. The rooms are a decent size and breakfasts are reasonable. The general decor is very tired and the bathrooms below standard. The sheer mixer did not work - it was either cold or scalding hot. The bar is a soulless place and the public rooms have a budget hotel feel.
    The staff were very good and the car park handy although this is an extra £5 a night.

    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Terry D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, We are in the midst of an extensive refurbishment project at present throughout the hotel. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
    Best regards,
    Ken Ellington, General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

    Stayed in the Copthorne Newcastle for two nights during our time in Newcastle over the Xmas period. Booked three rooms - a connoisseur, a double and a single. We have stayed in the Newcastle Copthorne before and as usual found the entire experience pleasant. Check in and check out was smooth and professional, staff seem happy and are consequently friendly and helpful, parking costs are reasonable, the hotel location is excellent for its proximity to the city centre yet very peaceful down on this part of the quayside and the rooms themselves are spacious comfortable and spotless clean. We ordered one room service meal and found it well prepared. Will continue to return to the Copthorne Newcastle whenever I am in Newcastle.

    Stayed: December 2013
    Thank Waynef123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

    Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us over the festive season, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the peaceful hotel location, the comfort and cleanliness of the bedrooms and the calibre of room service cuisine. Your repeat custom is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
    Best regards,
    Ken Ellington, General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 December 2013

    The hotel is very nicely located by the river!
    Breakfast is quite nice and the staff is lovely.
    We got a complimentary upgrade to a nicer room.
    Although rooms are a bit outdated …. need refurbishing, but it is a good value for money!
    On Sundays there is a lovely market by the river right outside the hotel.
    We would recommend a cruise on the river - very beautiful and romantic experience, that gives you a good view of the city and its history (if you have the guide on the boat as we did).
    Lovely city!
    Fingers crossed for you to get some nice weather as well!

    Room Tip: River view!
    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
    Thank HalleBBB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

    Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the hotel location, the quality of breakfast, the high standard of guest service, and the calibre of bedroom. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
    Best regards,
    Ken Elington, General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 December 2013

    We stayed at the Copthorne after a full day of retail therapy. The location is great, it's close the shops, restaurants and nightlife of the city and has fabulous views over the Tyne. The room was clean and comfortable, however, the greatest asset of this hotel is its welcoming nature, with staff who are pleasant, helpful and friendly at all times. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was tasty and plentiful. Breakfast was also a real treat, with a great selection of hot and cold options. Definitely worth a visit!

    Room Tip: A river view is a must!
    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Hezza234
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

    Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom, the calibre of cuisine, and the hotel location on the banks of the Tyne. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
    Best regards,
    Ken Ellington, General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 December 2013

    The access to the hotel was somewhat difficult to find, but our trusty satnav got us there through the labyrinthine streets of Newcastle. When we were there, if was being refurbished, with scaffolding outside. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful, and the room was warm and comfortably furnished, although the sheer view down to the quayside out of the full-length window did get the knees shaking somewhat! There was a great view of the several bridges across the Tyne, and the bar was again friendly and comfortable. It was a short walk along the Quayside to various restaurants, art galleries and theatres, and we were lucky to see the Millennium Bridge open not once but twice. We walked up to the city centre using footpaths, which was steep but educational, with remnants of the old Roman wall and other historical artifacts along the way.

    Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view!
    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Roy_of_Leicester
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

    Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service at reception, the warmth and comfort of your bedroom, and the hotel location on the Tyne. The scaffolding works are now long gone (thankfully!), and all 156 rooms now have an uninterrupted view of the river. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
    Best regards,
    Ken Ellington, General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews