We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving situation...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for the past twelve years or so every New Year whilst visiting family. After several years of sliding downhill, hotel is finally upgrading some facilities. Rooms are newly carpeted and beds very comfortable indeed, also new flat screen TVs (about time I hear you cry!). Service needs to improve to become genuine 4 star and staff need to up their game, main foyer could be grand and welcoming but often atmosphere lacking - too sparten. They do have a fire in the lobby with seating - why is this seldom lit? If broken why not repair it? Leisure facilities - great asset to have a pool but why put up with truly terrible programme of repairs and decor which do hotel no favours. However, and above all else, what hotel does have is location. Each room has river view and location is fantastic for quay side, Baltic and Sage etc. Also great restaurants (some of the v best) within walking distance. So on balance, yes I'll keep returning - rooms are now good, clean & well furnished - just the bathrooms to go!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and have noted your constructive feedback for further review with my management team. We are in the midst of a period of extensive refurbishment here at the hotel, with a lot of work conducted in 2013, and a lot more about to take place in 2014 (the bathrooms are under consideration). I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

My Husband and I usually stay in the Hilton for New Years Eve, for the Gala Ball. However we thought we would have a change & after ringing around and checking out the website for a few local hotels we decided that the Copthorn sounded like a good alternative venue.

We arrived to check in & the desk Staff were so lovely, they even gave us a free room upgrade. The room was fantastic, Spotlessly clean & with a fantastic view of the river & bridges in this great city. There even is a small balcony to the suite. The leisure facilities were very good with a small pool & gym etc.

The room for the dinner was lovely & the Food Manager Keenan Ozkan was very attentive & charming. He even remembered us the next morning at breakfast. The food was gorgeous & well presented. We even wandered along to see the Fireworks on the Quayside which is only minutes away..

Very happy & we will return, highly recommended. Good value for money.

Room Tip: River view rooms quieter & much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to celebrate New Year, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the quality and cleanliness of your bedroom, the calibre of cuisine and the hotel location. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have never ever stayed in a hotel that charges you for parking in their hotel car park.Receptionist had attitude when asked about this,also charging for breakfast when already paid for it.Not an enjoyable stay at all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

It is regretable that the nominal £5.00 overnight secure car parking charge has clearly impacted so heavily on your personal perception of the hotel. Every comparable city centre hotel in Newcastle charges for overnight parking, with ours the cheapest (highest is £18.00).
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over New Years. We found the location was good, great views of the Tyne river from our room however overall the hotel seemed tired. Rooms were dated, there was mould in shower, the bed was very uncomfortable which we informed the staff of upon departure, they advised us that were news beds so the last guest must have damaged it. The gym was also very average with some broken machines. For the price we payed the hotel was ok value, we would try the Hilton hotel over the bridge next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your constructive review. The hotel is in the midst of an extensive refurbishment project at present, with a lot of work already conducted, and a lot more to follow in 2014. I do hope you will consider staying with us again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I just wanted to share what a fantastic night my friends and I had at the Copthorne Hotel on New Years Eve. The staff were excellent and very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. The food was particularly good, very tasty and hot, which is often difficult to achieve with large numbers. There was a great atmosphere in the restaurant and the music from the disco appealed to all ages. We will definitely look to book again for next year, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our Gala Dinner held to celebrate New Year, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service experienced, the quality of food and the great party atmosphere. Your recommendation to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We were here for a few nights over New Year. The hotel is in a great location with excellent views over the river and bridges and rooms are lovely, big and spotlessly clean. The staff were really friendly and incredibly helpful and the one meal we had was great.

This place is just a little shabby round the edges. There was no wifi and the bathroom looked aged and worn. The corridors were cold and everywhere just seemed a touch tatty.

There is lots of improvement going on and I'm sure the Copthorne will be great once it's all done. All in all a good value place but not somewhere to stay for a long time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your constructive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service experienced, the quality of bedroom and the calibre of food. We are in the midst of an extensive period of refurbishment at present, with a lot of work already undertaken and a number of new projects about to commence in 2014 (eg. curtains, corridor carpets, bedroom furniture). I hope you will consider returning again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a small wedding reception at the hotel on new years eve, the staff were fantastic and did over and above to make it special, the food was superb and they exceeded my expectations, the main man dealing with the organising on the day was so lovely and helpful, We were given a discounted suite for the night and it was fab, yes the hotel could do with some updating but there is a programme in place which started last year and what the hotel lacks in modernisation the staff more than made up for it. Suzy in the events team dealt with the wedding although she was on holiday the day of it the gentleman who stepped in was just as supportive. They made the space feel very well dressed and organised with no fuss to us. We are having our wedding blessed in church in septemeber and are having a larger party afterwards, I will be using the hotel again for that. Breakfast was very good and hot. Thank you for making our day so special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your wedding reception held here on New Year's Eve, with particular regard to the level of guest service in the organisation and running of your special event, the standard of food at your reception and at breakfast, and the calibre of bedroom. We look forward to hosting your next event in September this year, and wish you both a very happy future together. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#28 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £57 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing