We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* Service....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
surrey
1 review
“4* Service....”
Reviewed 21 August 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at the Copthorne and I must say that the hotel as a whole was a bit dull ...whoever decided that the whole building should be painted a dirty shade of brown ought to be shot! All in all, however, a pleasant stay. Lovely, clean room with a fantastic view of the river Tyne. At breakfast the choice of fresh fruit was fantastic, and although the fried eggs were a little underdone for my liking, the 'Full English' was a pleasant experience. The young lady whom I presume was the manager or supervisor in charge, was very attentive and pleasant and did not hesitating in getting us whatever we asked for. All in all, I would rate the service as 4* plus, but the hotel in appearance definately needs updating.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBeattie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    616
    443
    230
    95
See reviews for
202
667
73
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Stayed for 2 nights with my partner and although it's true it's well located, we found the hotel deco a bit bland, a bit "corporate"- the bedroom itself is nice with good views on the Tyne but the bathroom seriously modernizing- pretty 70's! It's in contrast with the bedroom actually.
The staff are pleasant but not overwhelmingly so, breakfast was plentiful ( and with REAL fresh fruits, not the nasty tinned ones!) but paying over £200 in Newcastle for a room of the sort is definitely not good value for money. Wouldn't rush to return, there's got to be better hotels for this rate around or in Newcastle?!

  • Liked — Location, comfy bed.
  • Disliked — Bathroom, the hotel decor had a corporate feel about it and the noise!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DivingFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Copthorne for a long weekend as a base for 'doing' Newcastle. The hotel is centrally located for the Quayside and the city centre and has ample parking. The hotel is located adjacent to the River Tyne and all rooms have a view directly out onto the river. We stayed in one of the Connoisseur Rooms, and it was a lovely big airy room, albeit the ensuite bath was small.

The hotel has a bar/restaurant which has an outdoor deck area on the riverside, which is a pleasant way to spend a sunny afternoon. There is also a fabulous coffee bar in the foyer, where the very helpful Sue makes a delightful skinny latte.

If you are looking for a good central base for taking in the nightlife of Newcastle this hotel is ideally located - 5 minutes walk away from the chaos and bedlam that is Newcastle, but only 5 minutes walk away. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Nice airy room with a great view
  • Disliked — Bath was very small
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andylovescatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Stayed here with my husband for a short break. Boooked a connieseur room which is supposed to be one of the best rooms. We paid a reduced rate but would definately not of been happy paying the full £255 rate which it should of been.
PLUS POINTS:- Excellent location, staff very helpful and polite, plenty of free car parking via a multi-storey, lovely comfy bed, spottlessly clean.
DOWN SIDES:-Bathroom was in desperate need of updating, not enought milk/biscuits provided on coffee tray in room. Only one biscuit each and only enough milk for 2 cups of coffee each. Considering the prices they charge, would of expected more. When other people had food via room service, there trays were left outside the room with leftover food on for quite a while before collection.
Can't comment on the pool as we never actually got round to using it but whenever we walked past it, it never looked like it got too busy.
We would definately stay again and do recommend this hotel, but dont pay £255 per night for it, you won't get value for money at that price.

  • Liked — Perfect location
  • Disliked — Bathroom in need ot refurbishment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2008

All I can say is don't believe all you read on this site. I stayed at the Copthorne in June with my partner, and we had a fantastic time.
From the moment I called the hotel directly to make my booking, through till check out, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Check-in was swift, pleasant and polite.
Our room was clean and well presented, we even bumped into the rooms manager in the corridor who welcomed us to the hotel.

The only snag we had with our stay was dinner in Harry's/Quay7 (unsure of the current name), when our server, who I can only assume was the supervisor or manager in there, was slightly in appropriately dressed, she was seemed more ready for a night out, with buttons un-done and skin hanging out.

Breakfast was fine, taken in our room, and check out again very efficient, checked out by both a bubbly girl the same gentleman that checked us in.

We completely enjoyed our stay, the staff were superb and would recommend it to anyone travelling to newcastle.

  • Liked — The staff!!!
  • Disliked — dinner staff (had to mention something)
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im_in_the_wardrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

I visit Newcastle regularly with work and have stayed in a lot of hotels in the City Centre, im still to find one that beats all the others.

The hotel is situated on the Quayside, its not the most convenient hotel for Central stations trains/metros, i would recommend a taxi.

The hotel does have loads of free car parking, giving it one advantage over other city centre hotels.

The rooms look dated, they have a real "90's" feel about them, i found them comfortable and a decent size, with nice views out over the river Tyne, be warned you can get a lot of noise from the railway bridge.

Breakfasts were a mix of cold buffet with hot food cooked to order, i found service painfully slow and the staff seemed unable to cope with a full breakfast room.

Check in/out was ok, the conceirge was very helpful.

No wifi in the rooms, but there was a free connection in the reception/bar area,

As others have said, this hotel could be great, it ends up being merely ok, Mike Tyson was staying in the hotel at the same time as i stayed...i wonder what he made of the hotel???

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

My wife booked this hotel for a night away from the kids for my 40th birthday. We paid a little extra for the upgraded Executive suite as a treat. We picked this hotel because of it's central location, brand name and experiences at other Copthorne Hotels.
We arrived a little early and were checked in at reception without any problems. When we got to our room that's when the problems started. The room had not been made up from the previous occupant. We left our bag and returned to reception who stated they would address this. After a while we returned to our room to find it had been serviced but the car park ticket left with our bags had been thrown out and the mini bar had not been replenished. My wife contacted the Duty Manager to report further problems and I checked the room bill to ensure it had been cleared from the previous occupant, To my amasement there was a call charge for our call to the Duty Manager.
Dispondant by now, we again went to reception to complain, a new parking ticket issued and the call charge was taken off. We were informed that the mini bar is not replenished until later in the day even though we had a room rate which included free mini bar snacks & soft drinks.
The leisure centre was next and the changing rooms left a lot to be desired. nearly half the lockers in the male room were broken and towels left on the floor. When staff did come into the room they just looked around and left the pile of dirty towels where they were,
When we returned to our room the Head housekeeper arrived follwed by the Duty Manager (who was the person who checked us into the uncleaned room) The Head Housekeeper was the only one during our whole stay to actually say the word Sorry ! but that only goes so far when you have paid £154 for one night and had nothing but problems and disappointment since arriving.
The room it's self had a nice view of the Bridges down the Tyne but as in other reviews the unsightly bird mess let it down. It was tired with cracked tiles on bathroom and stained threadbear carpet. If you like the early morning trains from the Metro system as an alarm call I would fully recommend this hotel if not then book another or have a bit to drink so you sleep through it. Breakfast is from a menu and my wife had eggs on fried bread which she left as it was not very appertising. I had fully English without the Tomato and Yes it arrived with tomatoe's small point I know but come on I asked and waitress wrote it down. It was pleasant having your breakfast overlooking the the river but the window cleaners oggling you and your food whilst doing their job was rather off putting.
In summary the hotel is looking tired and could do with curtains/carpet upgrade. Staff polite but appear to have been trained not to say sorry, that's the Managers job. I have stayed in a lot better hotels for a lot less and this is definately not one of Newcastle's Premier hotels. Best member of staff was Carol the cleaner who was a great source of help. I got married in the Gosforth Park Marriott and would go there given the night over.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — The Service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing