We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently stayed 1 night at the Copthorne after going to a gig at the metro radio arena. The hotel is perfectly placed and only a short walk from the arena. The staff were friendly, the room very clean and the bed comfortable. What more can you ask.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pOddy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, the cleanliness and comfort of your bedroom, and the close proximity of the hotel to the Metro Radio Arena. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My sister in law and I stayed for one night as we were at a concert at the Metro Radio Arena, which was a pleasant 10 minute walk. We found the hotel reception staff very welcoming and helpful. The twin room was clean, tidy and great view from the balcony window of the river. The breakfast was beautiful everything we needed was there, and, again, staff were very helpful. We cold not fault the hotel and plan a shopping trip with my daughter soon and will definitely book a room here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 708Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service from the reception and breakfast teams, the cleanliness and comfort of your bedroom, and the great view from the hotel overlooking the river Tyne. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

On the whole very good, I had a problem with my booking (my fault) which the staff were excellent at sorting out. The rooms were clean and tidy, the bar well stocked however the rooms could be done with a bit of modernisation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, and the cleanliness and comfort of your bedroom. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a fantastic venue for an event. The students really enjoyed their night. The room was set out in such a way that it felt very spacious and airy. The food was absolutely excellent, I didn't hear one even neutral comment!! The DJ seemed very good too. Your staff were helpful and very accommodating. All in all a fantastic evening. We will definitely be interested in booking again for future years. Staff who have attended many Year 13 Proms, were really impressed with your venue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent prom event held here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the quality of food, the room layout and the DJ. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated by myself and the team, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here 1 night for theatre visit (june 21st) Very friendly staff on check-in. We were a bit early but our room was ready. Room on 3rd floor was very clean except the bins hadn't been emptied which was a minor detail. Bathroom was adequate and very clean but had seen better days.
We had got a 'room only' good deal so didn't have breakfast but did use the bar on the evening which was very nice to relax in. Toilets in this area have also seen better days and the sink area was covered in tissues. Was a little noisy through the night with singing revellers outside the hotel but probably typical of Saturday night in the city. Car park was a reasonable £7. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the friendliness of the hotel team, and the comfort and general cleanliness of your bedroom. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Very good quality hotel, only let down by the bathroom in the room. Lobby, entrance and bar area all top notch, outside area looking onto the river... Although not the prettiest setting... Still nice. I had a top floor room, very big, comfy bed, stylish room with all you need... Iron, hair dryer etc. Good wetherspoons just down the road and about 15 min walk into the city. Would recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for one night on 4th floor of hotel, sat nav managed to direct us directly to the hotel which was a huge plus. reception was very quick and painless, receptionist was very friendly. Room was perfect and just what I would expect from a four star hotel, we had a room over looking the river. Had dinner in the hotel on the early deal between 6.30 and 7.30pm three courses for under £15 which was extremely cheap for a four star hotel. We were down for a concert in the metro radio arena and the hotel is reasonably close. Room was quiet all night, added breakfast for only £8.95 each which again was very cheap but was of a four star standard. Car park was only £7 which again was very cheap. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AddiKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the friendliness of the reception team, the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom, and the quality of both dinner and breakfast. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is much appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#28 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £57 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing