We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for functions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good for functions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Have held three AGM's followed by dinner for a small North East Charity. Function room, meal and overall ambience excellent. Will be back next year. Restaurant has a particularly nice view over the river.

Room Tip: As far as I know, all rooms overlook the river with a lovely view of the bridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you you are so pleased with your recent events held here at the Copthorne, with particular regard to the standard of the room, the quality of food and the overall ambience (helped through the great views from the hotel over the river Tyne). I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    575
    427
    228
    92
See reviews for
183
637
70
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Copthorne hotel for a hen party on 5th July. Hotel was lovely and in a great location. We walked into town most of the time but we did get a taxi once or twice which was reasonably priced at £4/£5. The room was spacious and had a little balcony overlooking the river which was lovely.
When I got home, I realised I had left a top and jacket in the wardrobe by mistake! I rung and spoke to Amy (I think that was her name), she was extremely helpful and my clothes were returned to me in the post free of charge! Thank you!
I would definitely stay at the Copthorne again if I was to visit Newcastle.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the hotel location, the spaciousness of your bedroom, and the high standard of guest service. Your lovely feedback in particular regarding Amy on reception is really appreciated, and will make her day I'm sure! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just hosted our Sixth Form Leavers Prom at the Copthorne on Saturday, was a bit wary at first because it wasn't where the school usually pick but I'm so so so glad we chose differently! We got the Gold Student Graduation package and it well worth the money! £28 per person for everything! Includes Bucks Fizz on arrival, a brilliant DJ, a quality photographer (who's prints aren't extortionately expensive), a 3 course meal and free wine on the tables!
We had our drinks reception in the atrium of the hotel and some beautiful photos on the Quayside because it was a lovely day outside.
The food was brilliant and the hotel was really considerate over dietary requirements so everyone had something to eat that they liked on the night.
The hotel staff were brilliant too, really friendly, hotel manager and food/beverage manager were so lovely on the night, so helpful over everything.
The room was set out exactly the way we wanted it on the night and I honestly have not heard a bad word about the night, brilliant atmosphere and brilliant venue, cannot recommend it enough!
Honestly is the best venue in Newcastle for proms and graduations so I can't imagine it being much different for Weddings etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Many thanks for your great review, following your recent Prom event which was held here at the Copthorne this past weekend. I'm delighted that you were so pleased with the event, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the value for money from the chosen Prom package, the quality of food, and the party atmosphere on the night. On a personal note, it was a pleasure for myself to manage your event on the night. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
Level Contributor
292 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

First time I stay at a Copthorne Hotel and was very well impressed. Staff at front desk and concierge very pleasant and professional, location is good, breakfast is good, rooms are nice and spacious, clean, new, nice view, luggage handling very prompt as well as wake up call.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service from the reception team, the hotel location, the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom, and the quality of breakfast. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights to attend a a concert at the Metro Arena. Hotel is excellently located for everything. Very welcomming and informative reception staff who were genuinely interested in our stay. Our room was very clean and spacious but a little tired as was the bathroom.
The view over the river was brilliant from the large floor to ceiling window in the room.
Car parking was easy and secure £14 for two nights and you are able to leave your car there after checking out incurring no extra cost.
We would definately return to this hotel.



.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbow188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service from the reception team, the comfort and spaciousness of your bedroom, and the hotel location overlooking the river Tyne. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed her a few months ago on a Buisness trip. Arrived to a very happy receptionist who asked about my day and the reason for my visit, it was a nice start to my trip.
The hotel is right on the banks if the river and my room looked over it. The room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. I didn't use the restaurant in the evening, however the bar meals were excellent.
Be it Buisness or pleasure I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service from the reception team, the hotel location overlooking the river Tyne, the comfort of your bedroom, and the calibre of breakfast. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed for a week recently on business and found it to be very pleasant, the rooms were clean, tidy and very well furnished and overlooking the Tyne. The food in the restaurant was nothing to rave about but ok if you don't want to go into town, not a lot of choice on the menu. Staff very accommodating but car park pricey at £7 overnight £28 for the week is a bit steep for a resident

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olwen101265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us overall, with your constructive feedback noted for review with my management team. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing