We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My hubby and I visited the hotel with a Groupon for Champagne Afternoon Tea. It was fabulous! The sandwiches were so fresh and the scones just warm from the oven and the little desserts/cakes were thoughtfully made. Portion sizes were just right. Without mentioning names I went to another more prestigious place for afternoon tea - not on a Groupon - and this was far, far better. . The staff were so polite and attentive without being overbearing. A 'must do it again' experience .Definitely recommended .

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowgoose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    179
    106
    45
    34
See reviews for
68
209
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Me & the wife stayed for 2 nights Bed & Breakfast & eveneing meal. Hotel is in a prime location in the student area of Jesmond (only 5 minutes to the town centre).

Hotel was clean, room was nice with a good sized bathroom. Tea & Coffee making facilities in room, also had a fridge and flatscreen TV.

Lots of choice at breakfast with both hot and cold help yoourself buffet. Evening meals were also very good with 5 to 6 choices of each course. The menu completely changed for the second night which was also a pleasant surprise.

Overall very impressed with the stay and would go back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the lively bar that is attached to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was our first stay at a peel Hotell offer,
and to be fair judging by this I hope it wont be the last.
Hotel was nice staff were excellent, and it was excellent value for money.
Free wifi was a bonus, neery pleased with our 2 night stay.

Room Tip: try and get a room facing the road, I found this very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here on New Years Eve, the evenings entertainment was excellent, the food etc. The hotel room was dated and the bathroom came out of the 70s. We had to move rooms as we were above the pub and the noise was unbearable. The new room was better and quieter but still could do with updating. I am hoping that this has been done for next year as we would go back for the New Years Eve entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
257 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Our second use of the Peel Hotels offers. £99 for dinner bed and breakfast for two people for two nights. For that price, expectations are not very high, but this hotel was very good! Executive room that was a little small but well equiped. Free Wi-Fi throughout. Nice bathroom with very powerful shower. The thinnest and narrowest toilet paper I have ever seen, however! Good location in a residential suberb. Lots of student rooms around, which may account for the reports of noise from other reviewers. Excellent three course dinner each night and a reasonable choice of wines. Breakfast was buffet with wide choices but lukewarm at best. Very friendly staff. Quite handy for city centre. Pleased overall!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northallerton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Very clean and tidy hotel,excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. Pleasant area and some marvellous pubs within walking distance.Easy to get into the centre of Newcastle from the hotel,either by bus or Metro. Plenty of parking at the rear of the hotel which is a plus. like a lot of other people we got an upgrade to an executive room which was ideal.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiptonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here to see Michael McIntyre at the metro arena. We normally stay at the Hilton or Copthorne as it is within walking distance, however didn't want to pay £300+ for the night so opted for jesmond as was £99 b&b. when we pulled up it has its own car park which is free: perfect!
Reception are was very clean as were the receptionists. They were extremely friendly and happy. At time of booking I requested a back of building room away from the main road and we were granted a lovely room on the second floor. Little bits of a track to get there but didn't care as we had been upgrade free to a deluxe room. It was huge and very welcoming!
Breakfast the following morning was adequate and I will definitely be booking here again for our next trip to Newcastle.
Love the fact it is on the Main Street for jesmond and joined on the Billabong bar which is reasonably priced yet once in the hotel the noise is little to none.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rochelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#64 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Property: Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing