We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty average stay at the Caleodonian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed here with 3 friends as part of my birthday weekend away. The hotel itself is ok - fairly nice reception, pleasant enough staff, kind of central location etc but it isn't really any better than ok - the rooms were adequate for one night but the decor was dated, small tv and the bathrooms were not well equipped i.e. I hate it when they just supply you with one bottle stuck to the wall labelled Showergel/shampoo - how can it be both? I dont want to wash my hair with shower gel! but that's a personal thing, and I know if I want luxurious toiletries I should either bring my own or book a more expensive hotel.
The price was ok for what we got I guess and it was good that there was a free hotel car park and we got a space no problem. It's clearly very popular with stag and hen parties so there was a little bit of noise once we came in on the Saturday night, but generally nothing to complain about. Just average.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheekydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We went for afternoon tea, I must say the best we have had. A very nice selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones cream, jams etc could not fault it all well presented too on cakes stand etc. Very enjoyable and would go back. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This ticks all the required boxes for business travellers...It has warm family feel about it...instead of the big corporate hotel chains. The rooms are smaller but that adds to the family feel...There are plenty of eateries, bars, and small supermarkets around the hotel...and the metro station is 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My hubby and I visited the hotel with a Groupon for Champagne Afternoon Tea. It was fabulous! The sandwiches were so fresh and the scones just warm from the oven and the little desserts/cakes were thoughtfully made. Portion sizes were just right. Without mentioning names I went to another more prestigious place for afternoon tea - not on a Groupon - and this was far, far better. . The staff were so polite and attentive without being overbearing. A 'must do it again' experience .Definitely recommended .

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Snowgoose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Me & the wife stayed for 2 nights Bed & Breakfast & eveneing meal. Hotel is in a prime location in the student area of Jesmond (only 5 minutes to the town centre).

Hotel was clean, room was nice with a good sized bathroom. Tea & Coffee making facilities in room, also had a fridge and flatscreen TV.

Lots of choice at breakfast with both hot and cold help yoourself buffet. Evening meals were also very good with 5 to 6 choices of each course. The menu completely changed for the second night which was also a pleasant surprise.

Overall very impressed with the stay and would go back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the lively bar that is attached to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was our first stay at a peel Hotell offer,
and to be fair judging by this I hope it wont be the last.
Hotel was nice staff were excellent, and it was excellent value for money.
Free wifi was a bonus, neery pleased with our 2 night stay.

Room Tip: try and get a room facing the road, I found this very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here on New Years Eve, the evenings entertainment was excellent, the food etc. The hotel room was dated and the bathroom came out of the 70s. We had to move rooms as we were above the pub and the noise was unbearable. The new room was better and quieter but still could do with updating. I am hoping that this has been done for next year as we would go back for the New Years Eve entertainment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
553 reviews
0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#43 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#50 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £46 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing