We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for bars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good place for bars”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

On a stag do so anything would do really, but this was a very nice hotel surrounded by bars. Room was very hot, it was a very hot weekend and air conditioning while needed wont be needed for many days like that. Overall a good hotel and much more than I'd expect on a stag do, would be happy to stay on a work trip. Decent buffet style breakfast and helpful staff.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Facefeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    180
    107
    48
    35
See reviews for
72
214
20
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a group of 12. First night the room was hotter than a sauna, no way to get air in through the tiny windows. One of our guys is in a wheelchair and got out on the 2nd floor, before being moved the next day.

I woke up with a broken back from the beds being so uncomfy.

No cold water in the bathroom.

Shower was really good and powerful.

Breakfast was good, bar was good. Staff were mostly quite friendly. Apart from 1 - my friend took a bottle of brown sauce to the table at breakfast only for it to be snatched by a waitress followed by the dirtiest look I've ever seen.

Overall, quite average and overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Large comfortable room. Very jazzy carpet. A refreshing change from the corporate greys and magnolias. If anything, there was a lack of electrical sockets, as this is an old building, the lamps etc are fitted with the old round 3 prong plugs which means you are very very limited (ie an extension behind the TV) to electrical sockets to charge your phone, use hair dryer, straighteners etc. other than that, a lovely hotel and will definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A large group stayed in this hotel on a very busy weekend, the hotel seemed to be fully booked. as it was a surprise for a 70th birthday staff had upgraded the birthday girls room free of charge which was a very nice surprise, we had a table for 12 booked in the bistro and the food and service were both excellent, couldnt be faulted.
the rooms are a little dated and do need redecorating but they are immaculatly clean and well presented. clean sheets, clean surfaces and clean bathroom (which are all a must)

the staff both front of house and restaurant/bar staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful.

i would recommend this hotel for any type of stay, and we also noticed they do wedding packages for £2500! this seems excellent value and i will certainly be looking into this in the future. much cheaper than a lot of the other local hotels and venues.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I booked the caledonian via a third party company clear cut weekends for my stag party. I have to admit I have stayed in some less than desirable places when travelling as a group before and I was expecting the same here. However this was not the case. The hotel seems to be in quite a trendy/upmarket area and seems to be popular with groups, however I would still stay here as a couple. There is quite a few amenities in the hotel room and a good hotel bar which operates a happy hour. In the immediate vicinity you have a waitrose/tesco and quite a few restaurants to choose from including a good pizza express within a minute walk. The service there was faultless. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking as staying as a group and visiting newcastles night life.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel last week. Accommodation was good and the rooms were clean although some of us had rooms at the front of the hotel and the club opposite was rather noisy into the early hours. The food however was dire. We had the same vegetables for three days and the roast potatoes were unrecognisable. After 3 days we complained en masse and for the remaining two days of our stay the food improved. We had several tables allocated to us but the hotel insisted that we sat in the same seats for our meals! We have never heard of this in any other hotel and complained, but complied with their request. This prevented us from mixing with other members of our group as we like to interchange our seating to keep in touch with everyone. A rather strange and unnecessary request.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the main road as the hotel/club opposite was rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel has plenty of bedrooms and although the road and bars outside (as well as the one inside the hotel) are full of people enjoying themselves especially at the weekend we have never suffered any noise problems in the bedrooms we have used there. There are also decent restaurants opposite. It is also convenient for the city centre.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back and on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhanks776616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#46 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Property: Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing