We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful. Room was warm, clean & comfortable. Food was tasty, breakfast was divine. Hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location, easy access to the metro and the city centre. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jslaredpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    178
    106
    44
    33
See reviews for
67
208
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

At very short notice (and I mean within half an hour of arrival) the reception staff of this attractive hotel kindly accommodated myself and four friends, having had an issue at another hotel involving an online booking error. They looked at giving us the best deal possible and even threw a breakfast in for good measure. Nice clean rooms, comfy beds, and although bathroom could do with being modernised, they had a powerful shower! only complaint would be the 1970s hair dryer in the bathroom, so would advise to take your own!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Booked this hotel so that I was walking distance to the University and had somewhere to leave my car without clocking up parking charges, this hotel scores well on both. The room we had (a double) faced the street at the front and was noisy especially on the second night which was a Friday. The bar downstairs spilled out into a courtyard and was filled with drinkers until late. Having said that so do all the other hotels in the same road, it seems to be a busy place after dark. The room itself was OK but not great, the bathroom old and dated. The breakfast was good and the staff helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Booked this hotel for one nights stay for 50 people. On arrival we were dealt with promptly and efficiently. The hotel room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable that we did not want to get out the following morning. The breakfast was buffet type with plenty to choose from. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly recommend this hotel and if we are in the area again will. definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for room on back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We arrived at the Hotel as part of our National Coach Holiday Durham and Bemish. 23|24th November. on first impressions it seemed a small hotel, but in fact it was a large hotel. on arrival we were quickly processed. and were informed if we would like our cases taken to our rooms just leave in the entrance, and they would take care of it. (nice touch),

Dinner was at 6.30, it was a bit slow coming, fine by me as there were 90 of us in 2 coaches. The meal was of a very high standard. lovely and well presented with tea to finish with, there was a bar and relaxation areas in the hotel.

The room we had was 117. at the rear very quiet well appointed and very clean, no dust at all, the bedding was lovely.

Breakfast in the morning was a buffet type arrangement, there was a good selection of food, nice thick Bacon and real sausages, would have liked a fried egg though, all the staff were very helpful and pleasant nothing was too much for them, we could again leave our bags outside our rooms, if we wanted them taken to the Coach. Would I return YES most certainly.


Thank you to the Manager and all the staff for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: I believe all rooms good, maybe the rear rooms a bit more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allanscarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked this through a Peel Hotels deal we heard about through the moneysavingexpert.com site. Quite pricey (I should have haggled) - £289 for a Friday/Saturday dinner, bed and breakfast deal in an executive room. Discovered on arrival that one could get a three course meal for £30 for two, including a bottle of (decent) house wine, if eating before 8.00 p.m.! So that made the room look distinctly pricey. Room was well appointed, newly decorated and spotlessly clean. Restaurant food was pleasant but unmemorable. Would go again on another occasion if I could get a better deal!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side or rear of the hotel are quieter. There's quite a club scene on Osborne Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxationseeker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for five nights recently as I was a guest at a wedding held in the hotel.On arrival there was a total mix up with the booking despite my relations having been in the previous weekend to check the accomodation bookings.The hotel room itself was reasonable but rather dated and another irritation was the swipe cards for the room seemed to easily to stop working resulting in long trek back to reception.The breakfast in the hotel was very enjoyable however at the weekend the influx of stag and hen parties meant the buffet system was not capable of dealing with the numbers.The hotel staff were pleasant enough.A major disadvantage was the lack of a lounge as the only area to sit and relax was the reception area or the bar both of which were extremely busy. The hotel however did a wonderful job of the wedding which was absolutely first class service and highly professional.It is a pity that many of the hotels in Newcastle now need to cater for stag and hen parties at the weekend as the number of people coming in late and slamming doors and on the occassion of my stay a fight at 4 o clock in the morning.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel is better as the noise from Jesmond Road is not for anyone who is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#52 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Property: Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing