We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a really pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here 15th and 16th. Jan 2014. Not heard of this group of hotels before, but very impressed. The rooms were very clean and had everything you could want. Nice touch of water, crisps and biscuits in room. The food was excellent quality and presentation. Staff were very hepful. really enjoyed our stay here. Love the quirky lift!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Have only stayed here when our corporate bookers could not get a booking at our normal hotel.

Rooms are on the small side, and for some reason they think that an extra mountain of cushions on the bed is required. My boss had to complain about stains on those in his room, for which the fix was simply to remove them rather than replace.

Food in the restaurant is decidedly average, except for the burger from the bar which is very good. Breakfast is edible, but nothing special.

Being in an area frequented by students expect to be woken at closing time by the young revellers staggering home if you have a room facing the street.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A great stay at new year, excellent room with all the facilities you need, nice touches with crisps, biscuits and water left in room. Staff excellent and very helpful. Breakfast and evening meal in restaurant excellent value for money. A 20 minute walk from the city centre. Between christmas and new year we stayed in a 4 star hotel in Glasgow the Caledonian is every bit as good.e

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I had explained in advance that I had a problem with climbing stairs so was pleased to find that my room was accessible by lift -however then discovered that there were stairs inside the room! Eventually negotiated a move with a member of staff who was far more helpful than the receptionist in the morning. My room smelled of vomit and there was continuous noise from the bar downstairs and from the bar outside. Could not afford the breakfast which was over £10. Much better standards at the New Northumbria opposite, where the food is affordable and really well cooked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaci10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Caledonian hotel, (a gift off my daughter ) with champagne on ice and chocolates in our room. Lovely big spacious double room SO comfortable bed and bedding. Spotless clean and nice quality towels. Excellent facilities, hair dryer , iron/iron board plus tea & coffee in room. Compliment bottled water a nice touch especially after New Year's Eve celebration. Very friendly staff front of house. Lovely buffet English breakfast eat as much as you want!! Perfect location if you don't mind a 10 minute walk to Newcastle City centre or jump on the metro. Free Parking limited to rear of hotel. A very enjoyable stay!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Huddleston_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

New Year's Eve at the Caledonian hotel nice room with good buffet style breakfast ,drinks at the bar are very expensive ,good location with a 15 minute walk into the heart of newcastle city centre and not many parking spaces at the rear of the hotel

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dean67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful. Room was warm, clean & comfortable. Food was tasty, breakfast was divine. Hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location, easy access to the metro and the city centre. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jslaredpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#50 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#52 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#44 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £48 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing