We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in the Caledonian Hotel last weekend and can't fault the place at all!! We arrived at the wrong time....just behind a Hen party but an extra receptionist came on and checked us in. Our room was on the ground floor near the function rooms and we were worried it was going to be noisy......there was no need. Never heard a sound all night. The suite was lovely with complimentary water and crisps. It was also a great size!!!
The location of the hotel is ideal. Lots of bars nearby and a 5 minute walk to the Metro and 3 stops takes you to the heart of Geordie Land!!! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambocaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Purchased groupon afternoon tea and was not disappointed. Lovely attentive staff and glass of prosecco immediately served at the table. Lovely selection of sandwiches, cakes and both cheese and fruit scones. Big pot of tea and coffee also. Was a lovely setting and wouldn't hesitate in going again or recommending and paying full price for afternoon tea.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Travelled with friends (all female) was lucky enough to be offered a suite as opposed to triple room as originally booked for same price. Delighted with the room and the service we received. Jesmond west metro station 5 mins walk from hotel or £4.50 to monument/nightclub bar area by taxi. Booked buffet style breakfast for £7.95 again great value. Highly recommend staying here and I will return.

Room Tip: Stayed in Prince of Wales suite downstairs just behind reception area, very spacious, clean and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IceIceBaby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly staff , clean rooms and public areas.

Nice meal in the bistro on the dine for two and a bottle of wine for £30.

The Billabong bar is lively with nice cocktails, they have a pool table and show all the sports (it's not rowdy) .

Highly recommended

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carol1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Spot on. Arrived at 01.15am expecting to have to wake staff up, not the case: I even managed to secure a cold Stella after a very long journey.
The rooms were clean and more than adequate, with a familiar smell (although not bad at all).
The reception staff was welcoming and efficient - what more could you ask for at that time of the day. Surprised to see people sitting enjoying a drink - but why not, made it even better.
A long long journey was completed in a lovely soft, homely bed.
Breakfast was a spot on choice - proper English.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Visited the caledonian in january with there gold voucher deal having visited this hotel a few times my son wasat uni in newcastle decide book in for a weekend to visit himself who now works there well what a bargain £119 two nights b an b an two nights 4 course meal (not a put on menu exact same as if you just booked into resturant) this was for two people in an excutive room which had it's own seperate living area the bathroom with it's shower the best ever experienced toiletries supplied bottled water in room biscuits an crisps. Robes an slippers supplied even a fridge to keep your drinks chilled as we not flying home to belfast late evening asked about a late check out which I was willing to pay for told not a prob had room till 4 pm at no extra charge so all at the peelhotel group an especially caledonian excellent value for money lovely staff especially rachel in the dining room breakfast also fab on a note to close I stayed in a five star hotel in dublin to celebrate my birthday in october an the price paid for it was 2 timesx more for only one nite b&b and it would not have came any where near the standard of the value and service of the caledonian so had I realised how good value this was would have booked a second break later on in the year but will be back

Room Tip: Think it was room 218 we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georginacollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Visited this hotel on three separate occasions. Each time it was excellent. Room comfort is first class, food very good and staff very obliging and always pleasant and courteous. Loved the toiletries. This hotel is very handy for the town, Metro centre and local parks

Room Tip: Go for an executive suite. Ask about the gold card
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babswroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#50 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#44 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £52 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing