We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
West Sussex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have just stayed at this hotel and there are only two positive things to say about it....the staff were very friendly and helpful and its location to Newcastle. The entrance looks ok and welcoming but the bedrooms were something else. The colour scheme, especially the carpet has to be seen to be believed. The beds were quite simply the most uncomfortable I have ever attempted to sleep in and the bathroom was well past its sell by date. The windows rattled and that matched the constant banging of the doors up and down the corridors. The hotel faces the main road, full of bars and full of people enjoying themselves and nothing wrong in that. However, the hotel has no double glazing to make an attempt to cut the noise out and the curtains only just met. Breakfast was ok.....parking limited....all together, very very poor....we will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    179
    106
    45
    34
See reviews for
68
209
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The hotel is a short taxi ride from Newcastle city centre.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and had niether double glazing nor air conditioning. It was very, very noisy and stuffy, but to open the windows increased the noise level, the very worst point about the hotel.
Noise which came from the ancient lift, the street, the creaky floors and transferred noise (of a very personal nature) through the wafer thin walls.
In front of the hotel and immediately across the road are very busy and popular bars with outside seating. There is also a busy taxi rank.
The beds (two singles) were lumpy and hard, very much past their best. The bathroom was old fashioned with a very cheap loo seat which crashed down.
The two redeeming features were the quality of the breakfast and the cheefulness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleapit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

impression from hallway quite modern till you entered the room,very out dated and tired looking.needing to update colour of paint work.room we had was a mixture of red,blue & yellow.noisy with doors getting shut,breakfast ok.staff friendly enough.for £70 for one night i suppose you only get what you pay for.wouldn't liked to have paid anymore than that.was a bit disappointed for a friday night all was shut up for 11pm in the surrounding area although the city centre was less than 5mins away for more nightlife if need be.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marydoll74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The hotel was good, clean and tidy. The restaurant was good and for the two nights we stayed the staff were very helpful. Limited parking may be an issue so you should check before arrival but the hotel is one of the best in this location. Breakfast was good so If you are looking for a short break in this area I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrazYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here last night and had a lovely time. From the time we drove up outside and parked the car - we were impressed with how modern and well cared for the hotel looked. The free car park didn't seem very big, but we easily found a space. The reception staff were very friendly and were happy to answer all of our questions about the local area, how to get into town etc...

The reception, bar, restaurant and corridoors were all very modern and look as if they have been recently decorated. Our room was less modern than the rest of the hotel, but it was very clean and comfortable. We did hear a lot of noise from the bar below, but we didn't really mind because we were there for the bars and restaurants too. Anyway - the noise stopped when the bar closed at about 11.30pm so it wasn't a problem all night long.

There are loads of nice bars along the road that the hotel is located on, and although it is about 10 minutes from the city centre, the area seems like a popular night spot, the bars were all busy and there was a great atmosphere. The hotel bar itself serves lovely cocktails - which you get at happy hour price all night if you are staying at the hotel.

If you do want to go into the centre there is a bus that you can catch or you could take one of the taxis that wait outside the hotel. We did this and it only cost about £6 each way.

All in all - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukhappyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Me and my partner have just come back from a 1 night stay at this hotel. We booked it online and had an excecutive room for 79 quid with breakfast. It was brilliant value and worth every penny and more. Our room was beautiful and looked like we had been the first people to have stayed in it, it was that clean. It was modern and the bed was really comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful, because we were staying in the hotel we got all cocktails at happy hour prices all night, brilliant. The surrounding area had an abundance of pubs and restaurants. Not only was our room lovely but the whole hotel was really nice, it has obviously been renovated recently and the cleaning Staff do a very very good job.

The only down side was some of the people who were staying there, on arrival one guy was being evicted out of the hotel, I over heard the Manager telling his friend 'she had to think about the other guests in the hotel', you can't want more than that really and the hotel can't be held responsible for some peoples behaviour and values.

The breakfast and service was second to none, with everything you could expect at breakfast time. Staff were nice and helpful, they were there with top ups for coffee and tea regular.

I would definitely go back there and stay no problem, we loved it. Go you will be pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny-ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

First of all, this is a massive improvement on the other hotel in Jesmond that I stayed at on my last visit to Newcastle - the rooms were generally cosy and larger than I was expecting (especially after my experience with the other place), looked recently refurbished, clean and tidy! My room had steps and its own hallway which made it feel a bit less like a standard hotel room. Hospitality facilities are excellent, staff are all friendly and the hotel does smashing lunches for functions.

The main problem was that I stayed there during some unexpectedly cold weather and the tiny radiator in the room couldn't take the edge off it at all - I ended up using the oil heater in the wardrobe but there wasn't much you could do about the bathroom (which seemed a lot older than the bedroom area and had a nasty fixed shower head). Hot water took a long time to come on but was always there in the end!

For some reason the corridors and common parts were much warmer than the bedrooms. Surely it ought to have been the other way around!

I'd certainly consider staying here again when heating wouldn't be an issue, but if I was coming to Newcastle in winter I might look further afield.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#64 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Property: Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing