We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

the hotel has a great location. conveinet car parking, and a great gym. rooms are spacious, The reception area is lovely with an amazing chandalier and large staircase. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Will return

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    628
    305
    123
    119
See reviews for
184
575
186
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stay here one night on a business trip and was pleasantly suprised at how nice the room and hotel was, as others have stated the interior and reception is very grand. For the price paid to include free wi-fi, parking and use of the leisure club I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. I paid for a cooked breakfast but found it to be below average but they do have a good selection of other items to choose from.

Next time I am back in Newcastle this hotel would be at the top of my list to stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 237 which is a bit of a trek away but does not face any roads or pavements so very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac10biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

well located but with no double glazing and a room facing the railway station you can guarantee to be woken at 6 am with train annoucment and as the room had no aircon the window had to be left open all night making the noice worse.

the room was rough the bed was terrible like sleeping on a pile of bricks also found a bug catcher under one of the beds with bugs included. booked a twin room but was given a double with two single beds squeesed in no room to swing a cat. hygine didnt seem to be a strong point no toliet brush in room.and broken hand dryer in bar area toilet .

Room Tip: just avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel and must say it is a lovely building. The reception is lovely with big sweeping stairs! Very Dynasty. The room was very smart,very clean and very cozy but I must admit I did find the room very small with the pictures online really not showing that. Overall the bed and room were comfortable I have to admit that, but not sure I would call it value for money due to the size if room. I never ate breakfast there so I can't comment on that and the bar was closed for refurbishment so not sure what that was like too. Most probably would stay again as its convenient for the station but I think I would haggle for a bigger room for the money

Room Tip: Ask to check the size of the room as many are a bit too cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I was pleased with this hotel. I has a good location being close to transportation, shops, the river and restaurants. The price was reasonable.The staff are excellent. The fitness centre and pool were free and very good. Our room was good. The hotel has old world charm. I enjoyed my short stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I was in Newcastle for a course. This hotel is right next to the train station and a taxi rank which is so handy. Nice lobby. Room had fridge with free chocolate and drinks-a lovely touch. The hotel had installed double glazing windows behind the old sash ones, so maintaining character and keeping room quiet. Unfortunately though there were bathrobes there were no belts for them. Pool facilities not connected to hotel and involves a quick walk across a courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocoheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions due to the value and location. The reception area is lovely with an amazing chandalier and large staircase. Parts of the hotel are in need of decoration and modernisation although from my expereince it has always been clean. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Cannot comment ont he breakfast as usually go oveer the road the whetherspoons. If you are looking for a hotel which is central and relatively cheap this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneM306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing