We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed only one night for an engagement party in Gateshead so really didn't have time to use the whole hotel.

The good - Very nice building, convenient for the bars and station (maybe a little too close) The staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms seem well maintained.

The not too good - Stayed in a standard room #124 it was small, the bed was very small and I'm only 5ft 7in and my Fiancée is 5ft 1in and we found it cramped, the room was warm even though we had the window open, so at 6am we was awoke by the tannoy at the station, with our room at the rear looking onto the station a double glazing window would have been nice, also was awoke at 3:am guest returning on a Saturday night.

If we had stayed any longer I would have asked for a room change or marked this lower. If we had a deluxe room I assume this would be at the front and maybe just as noisy from the Saturday night revellers out front.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baroslfc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,599 - 1,605 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Obviously spent a lot on a recent refurb, certainly in the public areas. Great first impressions of reception and bar areas and the service was very positive and polite.

The room however (allegedly a superior double) was small and cramped by comparison to expectations.

Stingy on the toiletries too although very clean and fitted out to a decent specification.

Final "complaint" was very early AM noise from the railway station which woke me up and kept me awake.

Would not be rushing back - certainly to a rear facing room, although the check out bill was refreshingly small.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not back onto the station concourse area or that is within range of the tan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkTraveller1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel has magnificent character and charm. The entrance hall is magnificent and very grand. The central staircase is brilliant and creates the grandeur of the place. It is like going back in time to an elegance which is often lost with many modern hotels. This hotel has class. The breakfast buffet was good and adequate. The room was very good and the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately this hotel does not have airconditioning. It did not matter as it was not a hot day. The staff were always very helpful and polite. For those coming from the south Newcastle City centre on a Saturday night is a buzz with activity and the place doesnt quieten down until after 2am. it is a lively place. The hotel is a quiet retreat from the Buzz.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor plus which was really the sixth floor so we did not hear the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwichExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night in November last year as my sister in law was celebrating her wedding. Hotel is fantastic inside and rooms of high standard. Breakfast good, and fabulous location to explore Newcastle.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

the hotel has a great location. conveinet car parking, and a great gym. rooms are spacious, The reception area is lovely with an amazing chandalier and large staircase. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Will return

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stay here one night on a business trip and was pleasantly suprised at how nice the room and hotel was, as others have stated the interior and reception is very grand. For the price paid to include free wi-fi, parking and use of the leisure club I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. I paid for a cooked breakfast but found it to be below average but they do have a good selection of other items to choose from.

Next time I am back in Newcastle this hotel would be at the top of my list to stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 237 which is a bit of a trek away but does not face any roads or pavements so very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac10biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

well located but with no double glazing and a room facing the railway station you can guarantee to be woken at 6 am with train annoucment and as the room had no aircon the window had to be left open all night making the noice worse.

the room was rough the bed was terrible like sleeping on a pile of bricks also found a bug catcher under one of the beds with bugs included. booked a twin room but was given a double with two single beds squeesed in no room to swing a cat. hygine didnt seem to be a strong point no toliet brush in room.and broken hand dryer in bar area toilet .

Room Tip: just avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,228 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £44 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing