We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Station Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,017)
Filter reviews
2,017 results
Traveller rating
679
718
346
142
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
718
346
142
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall bottle of winecomplimentary watersuperior roomkit kattravelling by trainleisure centremini fridgetaxi rankleisure clubstreet noiselovely hotelnewcastle central stationsteam roomwould stay againbuffet stylefull englishlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,562 - 1,567 of 2,017 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My first visit to Newcastle and stayed at this hotel because it was where the course was facilitated . Really lucky choice ! Right next to the raiway station . Very friendly helpful staff at reception , the weather was SOOO COLD and it was a pleasure to be shown to a lovely clean cosy well appointed room , the gust of heat on opening the bedroom door was bliss . The room was pristine , including a little fridge with water orange juice milk and 2 bars of kit kat . Bathroom was spotless . The food in the restaurant was ok and edible . Location central . Would definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor , great view out onto busy street but wasnt noisy and slept like a log .
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANITA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Right next to the train station and also right at the centre of the shops, restaurants, and bars/clubs!
The room was lovely, nothing spontaneous but very modern and clean! Also the leisure centre was great! We had it to ourselves all day on the Saturday. Had a great pool and amazing jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom and a plunge pool - which was great to cure the hang over lol! All round great hotel! Will be staying here everytime we visit newcastle! Also we went out in the diamond strip and this was like a 2 minute walk from the hotel! Fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilllee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just had a one night Sunday stay and on arrival the entrance and central staircase is quite impressive.The receptionist(Oliver) was very helpful and friendly and completed our check in with no problems.\breakfast is served until 9.30 on a week day at a cost of £9.75 and to be honest may be ok for a business trip but when on a leisure trip it would be nicer if it was a little later as in other hotels we have stayed in.Weatherspoons is just over the road so it wasn't a great problem. Rooms are quite nice and have been modernised to a reasonable standard but not what you may call premium quality.Our room was really quiet and we had lovely nights sleep.Check out is also a little bit early at 11.00 .. A 12.00 check out would have been nice.Rooms were very clean and the cleaners should be proud of what they achieve. All in all a good Hotel and we would stay again..Thanks to all concerned

Room Tip: Rooms to rear may overlook the train station
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Booked in at the Royal Hotel as I was in Newcastle to deliver two days training. So booked this hotel as it was near the venue and I was travelling by train. I got a good deal of just £55 per night through booking .com. On entering the hotel the entrance was stunning and vey grand. Lovely friendly local staff, stunning stair ways and the room was way beyond my expectations it was beautiful with all the facilities you could nee including free water, juice and kit kats. Great gym and pool facilitues a great two days thakyou very much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have been a frequent visitor to this hotel over the last 2 years. It's centrally situated and can be accessed direct from the railway station. For car travellers there is a small car park - but a large park next door that comes complimentary with the stay.

This is a hotel with a huge amount of character, so if you prefer the "plastic" of the motorway hotels, you will not find it here. All the rooms I have occupied are large, clean and comfortably furnished. When travelling on business I look for a peaceful atmosphere and good service. You get both here, with a strong emphasis on service. All staff are first class, including the manager who is always visible and available if needed. Very reasonably priced and no additional "rip-off" fee for wi-fi broadband! Try it!

Room Tip: Just ask the staff - they are so helpful.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews