We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for transport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location for transport”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a lot recently and would recommend it . The staff are efficient and friendly. The rooms are very clean and maintained to a high standard. The hotel is ideally situated for transport links and within walking distance of city centre shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel can sometimes be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill Hannigan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Our staff certainly do pride themselves on the level of service they offer to all guests of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    640
    311
    129
    121
See reviews for
187
595
188
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I staid at the Royak Station Hotal in a business trip to Newcastle. The location is perfect if you arrive by train as it's just beside the train station.. although you can't hear any noises.
The building it's really charming, in an old fashioned way. The room was big, nicely decorated... I loved the complementary juices and chocolate, perfect for a little snack after coming back from a long day at work.
The staff was very helpful and kind.... although I still have to find one person who is not kind in Newcastle :-)
Last but not least, the rates were very convenient for the quality. I'll definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi

Many thanks for your kind words regarding your recent stay here at the Royal Station Hotel.

The complimentary items contained within the fridge are a small bonus of booking with ourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle and also the Royal Station Hotel.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel was lovely ,the staff were very friendly and welcoming , rooms were large and very nice.The hotel was close to the centre of the town which was very helpful if you you wanted a night out on the town.It was very cheap to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank joanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I've stayed here several times and like the location, the character of the building in a world of bland lego brick hotels, and the friendly, helpful, local staff. The rooms can be a hit and miss if you just book the cheapest available, but the 'premium' rooms are still cheaper than most of the chains standard rooms. The premium room I had was excellent - large, well fitted and furnished. The room was on the front of the hotel and had none of the noise issues you might expect from being on top of a station. Overall an excellent stay for a very modest price.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a higher class room is very cheap and is well worth it - the premium rooms are large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi

Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay.

We do offer various room types in terms of superiors, suites etc, all of which are very different to one another.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I've stopped at The Royal Station Hotel several times over the years but this was a very disappointing stay.

The staff are friendly and will go that extra mile to help, free wi-fi and the bar area are all top notch but the room I was booked into had a broken toilet seat, broken circular tap on the bath and an appalling toilet smell which their response to was to open the window.

After a short complaint I was given an alternative room however this was at the end of the hotel near the clubs, so no possibility of sleep until after 2am.

The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment, I will not be stopping there again and would advise anyone seduced by the central location to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the building with sash windows are noisy and some poorly maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

stayed here a few times now, hotel right outside Newcastle train station so very easy to get to also placed in the center of town so nightlife easy to get to. rooms are lovely anything in fridge is yours free of charge granted not much but the water come in handy when we woke up with stonking hangover lol. receptionists lovely, cheap to stay, cant go wrong if your wanting a good night out in the toon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi

We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay!

Being in a city centre location is certainly a huge benefit to the hotel and to its guests as it can therefore offer all a central point in which to explore Newcastle and the surrounding areas from.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,313 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel is ok in most areas, particularly its location in the town centre and proximity to the railway station (a bit too close to be honest as you can hear the trains and even the platform announcements from the rooms).
However, there are some areas where a refurbishment or replacement of faulty equipment is very necessary (no actually... CRITICAL). The first room I was allocated had no central heating and was freezing cold. I phoned to reception and they allocated a different room where the heating was working. I went out for dinner and when I came back later, the room was very hot. I opened the sash window to cool the room for a few minutes whilst I got ready for bed. When the room was at a normal temperature, I went to close the sash window and it dropped down suddenly, trapping and almost severing my finger. I was left with deep cuts on either side of my right index finger which was very painful and pouring in blood. I dressed again and went down to reception in search of treatment but there was no-one around. My car was parked quite close by so I got my first aid kit out and dressed my injuries myself. The following morning at breakfast a waitress commented on my bandage. When I told her what had happened she escorted me to reception where I was provided with some plasters (The receptionist winced when she saw the extent of my injury to my finger which was still bleeding although the incident had taken place about 10 hours earlier) The incident was recorded in the hotel's accident book. I could include a photo of the injury but didn't think it would be appropriate for tripadvisor. Oh! I nearly forgot to mention. Finally, as a concession for my injury, the hotel gave me a complimentary breakfast!! although I struggled to eat it due to the incapacity of my right hand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing