We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and couldn't fault it , really helpful & friendly staff , rooms clean and comfortable and quiet , food & drink (wine) good and reasonably priced (and plenty of it) , the hotel décor is old fashioned and classy , I will definitely stay there again .

Room Tip: we just booked a standard room and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    660
    322
    129
    121
See reviews for
200
607
193
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel many years ago and was not looking forward to it due to a previous bad experience. However I was pleasantly surprised that the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms seems to have been refurbished (bright, clean and modern). The best thing about the hotel is it's central location. If you are travelling by train it's slap bang next to the station. There are lots of bars and places to eat in the area and of course the metro station is a few minutes away if you need to travel further. The shopping area is about 10 minutes walk away. The breakfast was a bit disappointing as there was not much choice. All in all I would describe this hotel as fine (no major faults).

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Global_Traveller_a-z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at the station on May 21st, upon arrival reception staff were very welcoming and happy to accommodate us. We had booked a "superior double room" via their website, there wasn't much superior about this room, very small and cramped not like in the picture on their website, the dressing area was dark and dingy, not providing much natural light to get ready, the bathroom had no blind, above the shower there was a gaping hole!!! The tap was missing a section and there was no shower curtain resulting in a soaked, slippery floor! The "fast wifi" was the slowest connection I have ever experienced and my partner couldn't even connect to it on her phone. Room service was exceptionally over priced for the quality and when finished and placed outside our room at 4pm, was not collected until after 11pm(this is roughly when we returned from our concert) The only positive part of our stay was the reception staff and the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLambert86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Excellent position in the city with an impressive lobby. We booked a "superior" room and it was well worth the extra. It was spacious and welcoming. The freebies in the mini-bar were a nice touch. The bathroom was very large but the washbasin was slightly uncomfortable to use as it was set a little too far back in the counter-top. The shower was excellent. Our sleep was spoiled each night by the street noise - both traffic and late night revellers - however the beds were comfortable. The room and the bathroom were well cleaned.
The breakfast was only average although the staff were welcoming.
The evening meal in the restaurant was disappointing and expensive but there are many nearby restaurants that are worth going out to use.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible in the hotel to avoid the street noise. The "superior"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My fiancé & I have just returned from our fab Saturday night stay, as it was a birthday present for my partner we booked a lovely suite (The French shabby chic room) which was gorgeous, lovely big room, spotless & the shower was fantastic! The staff were really helpful & courteous and we couldn't fault the breakfast ( big pot of tea which was good) also freebies in the fridge was a nice touch. We would highly recommend this hotel + excellent location! we will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We booked a suite which was at the front and we never had any issues with noise etc, it was also rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed over after a marker training course. Welcoming staff, clean hotel room and very hospitable. Bar was reasonably priced and despite not having one , the breakfasts weren't too expensive.Would definitely go back again as it's a stone throw away from the station.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Excellently situated in the heart of Newcastle & next to the central train station, this is a very nice spacious hotel with friendly & very helpful staff. Built in the 19th century, it combines Victorian elegance with modern facilities, comfort and convenience.

My double room was spacious & well-equipped with en suite bathroom, colour TV, satellite channels, hair dryer, tea & coffee-making facilities & direct dial telephone.

Only flaw was the two flights of stairs I was faced with on arrival, but a member of staff helped me with my heavy case.

I would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay but probably not for anything more - it is looking a bit dowdy but then again it is an old hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing