We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Over for Concert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stopped with my daughter for one night after attending the one direction concert in Sunderland.
I paid £68 for the room for one night which was a good price.
The hotel is lovely and the entrance is magnificent. The booking in process was quick and the staff on reception were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious with a large queen size bed, table and two chairs, ironing board, iron and a hair dryer, complimentary bottled water, kitkats and orange juice were in the fridge. The television had a good selection of channels and we even had the complimentary slippers and dressing gown
The room and bathroom were clean and although the room was on the front of the hotel above a busy road we heard no noise due to the glazed window.
Would recommed and would book again.
It is a perfect location for the shops, bars and restaurants and ideal for rail travellers as directly outside the rail station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickygdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,163 - 1,169 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner took out her parents and sister for he mams birthday and had afternoon tea it was fantastically priced the whole atmosphere was lovely and service was fantastic but the food its self was so cleverly put together savoury and sweet that complemented each other brilliantly cant wait to return x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank drewthedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and my friend booked this hotel for a one night stay for a night out! Firstly we got to the hotel at 3 o clock in order to use the pool which shut at 4 (far too early) anyway we was refused entry as you have to be in the pool by 3.15.... we arrived at 3.10 so they was too strict in not letting us in and the next day the pool was close for bank holiday. We booked the hotel sepcifically for the pool and was not alowed to use it. Next we get to our room and the bed was practically a single bed. The location is great for the diamond strip but when we wants to bring friends back to our room they had a guest list on the door so our friends were not allowed in our hotel... which is an outrage. We wont be staying here again and advise to look elsewhere. We are pretty laid back people but the treatment was a joke and saw a lot of people kicking off at reception.

Room Tip: Choose Another Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and couldn't fault it , really helpful & friendly staff , rooms clean and comfortable and quiet , food & drink (wine) good and reasonably priced (and plenty of it) , the hotel décor is old fashioned and classy , I will definitely stay there again .

Room Tip: we just booked a standard room and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel many years ago and was not looking forward to it due to a previous bad experience. However I was pleasantly surprised that the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms seems to have been refurbished (bright, clean and modern). The best thing about the hotel is it's central location. If you are travelling by train it's slap bang next to the station. There are lots of bars and places to eat in the area and of course the metro station is a few minutes away if you need to travel further. The shopping area is about 10 minutes walk away. The breakfast was a bit disappointing as there was not much choice. All in all I would describe this hotel as fine (no major faults).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Global_Traveller_a-z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at the station on May 21st, upon arrival reception staff were very welcoming and happy to accommodate us. We had booked a "superior double room" via their website, there wasn't much superior about this room, very small and cramped not like in the picture on their website, the dressing area was dark and dingy, not providing much natural light to get ready, the bathroom had no blind, above the shower there was a gaping hole!!! The tap was missing a section and there was no shower curtain resulting in a soaked, slippery floor! The "fast wifi" was the slowest connection I have ever experienced and my partner couldn't even connect to it on her phone. Room service was exceptionally over priced for the quality and when finished and placed outside our room at 4pm, was not collected until after 11pm(this is roughly when we returned from our concert) The only positive part of our stay was the reception staff and the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkLambert86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Excellent position in the city with an impressive lobby. We booked a "superior" room and it was well worth the extra. It was spacious and welcoming. The freebies in the mini-bar were a nice touch. The bathroom was very large but the washbasin was slightly uncomfortable to use as it was set a little too far back in the counter-top. The shower was excellent. Our sleep was spoiled each night by the street noise - both traffic and late night revellers - however the beds were comfortable. The room and the bathroom were well cleaned.
The breakfast was only average although the staff were welcoming.
The evening meal in the restaurant was disappointing and expensive but there are many nearby restaurants that are worth going out to use.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible in the hotel to avoid the street noise. The "superior"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £54 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing