We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel decoration is fantastic but find it was kept for the eye of arrival only as when you get your room it was a bit of a let down.
I booked the superior room which was nothing like advertised and have had a more luxury double room cheaper elsewhere.
Also it said room with dressing gown and slippers but none all stay.
And be careful if you have large luggage as you could get a room where you have got to go up and to many stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

First stayed about 7 years ago. Paid £88 for a Saturday night & £53 for the Sunday for one person occupancy of double room. The room was clean & well maintained. Complimentary toiletries and fridge with complimentary bottles of water, cartons of orange juice and a Kit Kat :-) Tea & coffee making facilities. Bathroom was clean & modern and shower was powerful & worked! Flat screen TV with good reception. Didn't eat there, so can't comment on food service. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Tony,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

Very happy to see that you would return to visit us again, shows that we made a lasting impression.

Our housekeeping staff ensure that all bedrooms and public areas are kept spotlessly clean.

You will definitely have to sample the menu in the empire restaurant on your return

We look forward to seeing you again

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A very nice and old fashioned architecture hotel. Was more expensive than others but totally worth it. Right next to the central station, just across the street from all the clubs and very close to the city centre (just 5 minutes away on foot). Perfect city, we had a blast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irena-Areti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the moment we checked in on the Thursday afternoon, to checking out on Sunday, we just kept saying how much better it all was than last time we stayed (which was the day of the bombings in Kings Cross). So a lot of water has passed under the bridge, and perhaps all the staff have changed and the rooms have been updated. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with all mod cons including a fridge. The shower was excellent, with plenty of pressure and hot water, though I do prefer walk in showers rather than baths. Housekeeping staff were friendly and unobtrusive. Michael in the bar was a real charmer. Everyone on reception was friendly and efficient, in fact that much touted northern friendliness was very much in evidence everywhere. We were there for a family wedding, and the whole show went off beautifully, the food was very good and the decor was lovely. Only gripe was the noise on Friday and Saturday nights. Lots of bars and nightclubs in the area so really noisy outside, which is understandable, but noisy guests at 2 am is not acceptable. Perhaps a notice similar to the Premier Inn's, reminding guests to be quiet in sleeping areas, would be a good idea.

Room Tip: If going on a Friday or Saturday night, ask for a room at the back. The noise from station announce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seawife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi there,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

As a hotel we are always looking at ways to improve our service, so all feedback is helpful in making this possible.

I am pleased to see that the staff have managed to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable on this occasion. I will be sure to pass on your comments to reception, housekeeping and Michael in particular.

We do try to keep noise to a minimum, however if guests do experience any problems our nights team are at hand to deal with these as efficiently as possible.

I hope your time at the hotel has encouraged you to come and visit us again

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Went as a surprise for my birthday with my boyfriend, was so excited to go as the pictures looked so nice of the superior rooms! We got there and the room didn't look anything like the picture. It was dirty and the carpet was soaking wet! The noise from the train station was very bad too! The best part of our visit was the meal we had, was the only thing we couldn't fault! Steak was beautiful and the service by the waitress was brilliant. The lady on the desk of the pool was miserable and nasty towards us both days that we went. We definitely will not be coming back to stay! Far too over rated and pricey for the state the rooms are in!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brogan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Brogan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as anticipated.

As you can see from previous reviews we are often praised for our high standard of housekeeping.

Regarding the issue with the member of staff in the leisure club, I will pass on your comments to senior management for review.

I do hope you will consider returning in the future so that we are able to rectify any problems you experienced

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here with my partner and parents , lovely old building, my parents were in the disabled room which was excellent for my father. Downside was that this was just above the function room, we were informed that the music would seize at 12midnight, this did not occur, just before 2am the first night and unsure of the time the second night but was still blasting out at midnight.
We had an issue with the restaurant staff the first night, a very stroppy young girl , this was reported to the duty manager. The manager offered us complimentary cocktails the following evening which we enjoyed.
The bar and restaurant could do with separating as having a evening meal amongst drinkers ( loud) is not my idea of the having a meal out. However was fine for breakfast , tables dressed etc.
The rest of the staff could not have been more helpful, assisting with my father's poor mobility , ordering taxis , more pillows etc . Would stay again as I love the old building , probably not eat in but the food was good quality. Breakfast a bit expensive , but was given free breakfast on our second day to compensate the noise at night.
Free parking at front and rear if you get there at the right time.

Room Tip: the rooms on level 1 above the function room are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Left our booking for Newcastle until couple of weeks before we went, choice was limited for hotels in area we wanted. Found this hotel had vacancies however when contacting hotel found we had to book two nights at the weekend. As the trip was to celebrate a friend's Birthday thought we would make a weekend of it and booked two nights in a superior room. We enquired about parking and were told there were limited spaces in front of hotel otherwise the station long stay car park was £8 for 24 hours. On arrival we were lucky to get a spot at front of hotel we were given pass to put in and car was fine all weekend. We checked in and went to the 4th floor to find our "superior" double room. The corridors were grey and dark and our room looked like someone had broken the door at some point. Very off putting first impression, on entering the room we were very disappointed to find a very small room and not very superior. However the room did contain a mini fridge with complimentary water, orange and kit kats and bathrobes and slippers which was what superior rooms should contain. Looking at the picture on the ipad our room looked exactly the same as the double on the picture and not as luxurious as the superior room on the website. My husband went downstairs to complain and was told that we had been put there as we wanted a quiet room. He was shown another room which looked like the picture but was on the first floor at the front near to the club and he was told it would be very noisy around 2/3am when people left. We decided to stay in our small room. The bed was comfy but no where as big as you get in a premier inn and we were not disturbed by loud noises. Breakfast was ok, fairly good choice of food.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room you need to be around the back, trains stop around 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bouncyhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,214 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £49 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing