We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a Saturday night out on the toon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for a Saturday night out on the toon”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived on a Saturday lunch time, got parked out the front of the hotel for free and our room was upgraded for free. There was loads of paid car parking in the train station long stay car park at the back of the hotel. Had a top floor room which faced the station. Don't remember there being much noise. They had security on the hotel door entrance on the night when I came back making sure we had a room in the hotel before we could enter which I thought was nice. I didn't use the facilities or eat there. I would go back as location is central or good if you are arriving by train.

Room Tip: Receptionist advised room to the rear as they would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank User1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

The hotel is extremely popular for weekends away and people wanting to experience the night life in Newcastle.

We find having security on the door helpful in making sure that our guests feel safe and comfortable in their surroundings.

The hotel reservations team offer free upgrades as regularly as possible, adding that extra touch of luxury to your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    638
    308
    126
    120
See reviews for
186
589
188
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Being the daughter of a railwayman I love station hotels and this one is my favourite. The 'Fools & Horses' chandelier in the entrance hall always makes me smile and the hotel has an air of grandeur reminiscent of a bygone age of rail travel. The staff are always helpful and welcoming and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The sound of trains is kind of like a lullaby to me but it's not noticeably loud anyway. Little touches like orange juice and kitkat in the fridge are very much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
hi there,

thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review.

With the building having so much history we strive to maintain a lot of the original features of the hotel and it's charm and character.

I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary contents of the fridge, your right in saying it's the extra little touches that make the difference and keep people coming back to us time and time again.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Rooms were ok, bathrooms where lovely but for a hotel not soundproffing its windows all u could hear is the staff over the tanoy In train station every 5-10 minutes from around 6am. Very poor pay cheap get cheap!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matthewthatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Matthew,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

As a grade 1 and 2 listed building we are somewhat limited to making renovations and being a city centre, station hotel noise is inevitable.

I do hope that you return to visit us in the future so that we can rectify any problems that you experienced.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel makes travelodge seam like a luxury hotel. Do not have 1 good word for this hotel. Rooms are shabby and my loft room had cracked ceiling with plaster peeling off. No sprinklers and cheap room door did not make me feel safe. Sorry but this the worst hotel I have stayed in. Even free would not be good value

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOMinRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Tom,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

We are often praised for our good value, high standard rooms so I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed

I only wish that these issues had been brought to our attention at the time of your stay so that we could have resolved them.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This grand old Victorian hotel has great character with a spectacular full-height staircase lit by chandeliers. It's very central, ideal for the railway station and all city centre attractions. The room was pleasant and comfortable, a fridge full of complementary refreshments and nibbles, breakfast was generous with great choice, service was satisfactory. So much nicer than all those boring bland samey chain-hotels with no character!

Room Tip: We had a superior room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Edmund,

Many thanks for sharing your kind comments with us.

We do pride ourselves on being different from other chain hotels, this factor alone helps to attract a diverse range of customers and is often commented on as you can see from previous reviews.

Breakfast is always well received too, offering such a wide range of choices, it's good to see that this was enjoyable for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is, as the name suggest, right on the doorstep of Newcastle Central Station and its Metro station. It was ideal for my one night stay in Newcastle and was very good value.

I had what was fairly described as a small double room. It was attractively furnished with an immaculate bathroom and a good selection of toiletries. The room's two shortcomings were the fact that it was uncomfortably warm, even with the heating off, and its only chair was an upright chair for use at the small desk. I mentioned the temperature when I checked out and the receptionist knowingly said that it was a characteristic of top floor rooms. The free wifi worked well.

The breakfast buffet had a good selection of hot and cold choices, although the scrambled eggs were watery and the fried eggs looked as though they had been sitting around for too long.

One of the other positives about the hotel, in addition to its convenience and value, were the very friendly and efficient staff on reception and in the restaurant.

Would I stay there again? Yes, without hesitation - this was, in fact, my second stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi James,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

The staff at the hotel are often commended on their high level of customer service and I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

The location and good value is a main attraction for many of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is smart as you go in and the staff were really helpful. I was with my Mum and we were out into a twin room with no windows other than a skylight. There was frosted glass window to the corridor so you could see people walking past which was a bit unnerving. Also when they walked past talking it was very loud.

I would stay in this hotel again but I would ask for a room with a window next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your comments,

I'm sorry to hear that the room was not suitable for you on this occasion.

When you wish to return please call the hotel directly before booking and we will ensure that you are allocated a room more to your preference.

The reservations team will be more than happy to help

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#39 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing