We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If your travelling by train then its great off the train and straight into the hotel were the staff are excellent 1st room we got was on 4th floor and was too hot but staff were great and moved us to another room. Considering its next to train station it is very quiet. And if you've been Newcastle before then you know the nightlife is great and basically on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Top of hotel was very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi Mark,

Many thanks for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Our staff provide nothing but first class customer service and are always happy to help wherever possible, I will be sure to pass on your comments to staff on duty at the time of your stay, I'm sure they will be delighted to hear what a pleasant experience you had.

Being extremely close to transport links is always an advantage and we are literally a stone's throw away from Newcastle Central Station.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Station Hotel in the future

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Was wary because some reviews here are so negative, but it's absolutely fine. Very nice decor, spacious rooms. Noisy? Yes; it's at the train station! Still, all you hear is the odd rumble from a train, and it didn't stop me sleeping. Some people moaned about the mini bar not having much in it, but I was happy with free juice and mineral water, and several KitKats. Bathroom really lovely, good toiletries. My only tiny issue was that I always had to queue at the front desk, but I guess my visits must have coinced with busy times. It's hardly their fault. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luffsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear reviewer,

Can I firstly thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to take advantage of the complimentary mini bar and toiletries.

Our housekeeping staff work hard to maintain spotlessly clean rooms and public areas, so it is good to hear that this has not gone unnoticed, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to them.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced a wait at the reception desk, we are an extremely busy hotel operating at full capacity the majority of the week, I am confident that the reception staff would have aimed to make sure you were seen to as soon as possible.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very surprised to see negative reports on this hotel as it certainly was not the findings of our group of four who stayed one night in mid June 2014.From the minute we arrived it was a pleasure to stay. Lovely rooms,spotlessly clean facilities,super breakfast and very helpful and attentive staff.We had travelled by train and found the hotel well positioned for visiting the City Centre and will certainly stay at the Royal Station Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Room on 4th floor stiflingly hot to the extent I had to take two cool showers through the night. Can't open tiny window due to noise from railway station. Was given a fan after complaining, which did nothing to help. Did change rooms after two nights from hell to much better room but was amazed to be told the staff are aware of the problem yet nothing is done about it???
Housekeeping staff all converge around lifts on floor 4 in morning and stare at you which is quite intimidating, no smiles or 'good morning.' if not there, they'll be smoking outside the back of the hotel. Very professional!
Reception staff on the whole are sullen faced and not particularly welcoming apart from lovely deputy manager.
I had no idea there was a pool I could use until I read Tripadvisor today.
Don't expect any help with your bags from the night porter, no matter what time you arrive, you'll be left to struggle through narrow doorways and up and
down stairs.
I complained and was issued a £25 refund from a £340 bill with special rates on my next stay.
Next stay???? I don't think so!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dibbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

9/07/2014 Stayed Here twice ,first time on the front of the building and it was horrendous for the the two nights we stayed ,did book three nights but cancelled the last one due to being that knakered we opted for a different hotel.
The lady on reception told us that the back is better ,so we took a bet and tried for the next week ,well it isn't that much different apart from it being red hot and a lot poorer rooms .
If your a contractor expect to be treated completely different from people with suits on and to be looked down on .
Rooms were tidy enough though and if you have any problems see the staff out the back near the car park barrier ,easy to spot look for the clouds of cigarette smoke .

Room Tip: Ask for ear plugs and one on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Karl,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to learn that you were disturbed by noise during your stay. Being located in the heart of the city, we recognise that street noise can prove to be a nuisance if you are not accustomed to it.

I can assure you that the staff at the hotel treat all guests equally and we have never received a complaint regarding this matter previously, we have contractors staying with us every week who are more than happy with the service provided.

We do have smoking areas available for the staff however these areas are separate from the guest smoking areas.

Once again many thanks fro your feedback, we do hope that you will return to visit us in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I'm writing this review as a reaction to their poor service. I've just arrived from a long journey and reached my room - a fair way from the reception - and ordered a meal and drink via room service only to be told that I needed to come down to the reception to pay by credit card - not having sufficient cash to pay. I gave up in the end and went out to eat. Not good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our room service.

Guests are given the option on check-in to leave credit on their room at reception in case of any extras such as room service.

I do hope you will return to visit us in the future so that we are able to rectify the problems you experienced

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place stayed 2 nights, right at the station, and near taxi stand. A place to stay dispute the locale, it has history, great ambiance, rooms are good, good price too. There are plenty of restaurants, all within walking distance. Can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zappa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi there,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feed back with us regarding your stay.

Our central location is one of the main attractions for our guests.

I am pleased to hear that you would recommend us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,214 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £49 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing