We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break to visit The Metro Arena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Break to visit The Metro Arena”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago to visit The Arena found staff very unhelpful , not showed to your room or any offer of carrying luggage , Had to wait at reception for staff to finish their conversation before being acknowledged , returned to room at 12.45 only to find our room allocation was over their night club asked to be moved which they did Our previous room had a 6 foot cot bed in would have thought they would have removed this before our arrival . Found gentleman on night shift very helpful the rest not at all , Dining room staff miserable also would not expect this kind of service from any hotel .Never would we use again overpriced for atmosphere!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarensY9585BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We have a porter available on request 24 hours a day to help with luggage if needed.

The staff at the hotel, as you can see from previous reviews are often complimented on their high level of customer service, so I am surprised to hear that you were dissatisfied.

I do hope you will return in the future so that we can rectify any problems that you experienced

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    627
    305
    123
    119
See reviews for
184
574
186
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Rooms can be a little noisy due to the proximity of the train station but the freebies (chilled water, orange juice, KitKat) were great and the staff were very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable and large room, and the location could not be better. As a newcomer to Newcastle it was great to step off the train and be right there. They also have an innovative door-hanger system for ordering room service breakfasts, which I thought was great! There is free wifi, but you may have to persevere a little if the login page doesn't work straight away.

Room Tip: If staying on the 3rd floor, some rooms are not accessible by lift as there are a few steps up. Be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lauren,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that the staff have lived up to their good name in providing high standards of customer service, we are always happy to help guests with any questions or queries, or offer advice regarding places to visit or places to eat.

Our location is ideal, being central to all major transport links.

I am happy that you were able to take advantage of the freebies in the fridge, thy are just a little added extra for guests and have proved very popular.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Station in the near future

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is only our second stay at this hotel in the last 6 months months. I have to say fought against it previously due to some of the historic reviews. My husband finally persuaded me as he had originally stayed on business & was convenient for meeting up with our daughter who lives in Newcastle.

I hold my hands up, thoroughly enjoyed the stays we have had. Fabulous location, great staff, very helpful, polite. Compliments to Karen who made our first joint visit a roaring success. Hence choosing for a second time.

Love the opulence, fab chandeliers & sweeping staircase. Felt like Rose Selfridge herself!!
Look forward to staying again in the not too distant future.. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 340sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi there,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel.

It is always good to hear from guests who have returned to stay with us and have still received the same high level of service.

Karen works for our reservations team and takes pride in ensuring that our customers are very happy with their stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments directly to Karen.

The chandeliers are fabulous, a real eye catcher and something that all our guests seem to remember us for.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, to make your third visit even more successful that the previous two.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms for a family trip to my daughter's graduation in the city. Great central location, and beautiful entrance area. Breakfast was decent and a good hot selection. Good sized rooms. Free wifi and a handy small fridge with a small selection of free goodies including beer! A couple of things that need improving, though. For the size of the hotel, there was insufficient car parking; the station car park is very conveniently located at the back of the hotel, but is expensive. The carpet in my room (115b) was stained and needed cleaning. It was very warm; with no air con in the room, a fan was a necessity as the windows were too high up to reach and open - this needs providing as standard. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay.

Our location is very convenient for our guests, being in close proximity to all transport links and city centre attractions.

Free wifi is an advantage for many of our guests as this is not widely available in city centre hotels.

Due to our location car parking is limited, with may hotels in the city centre car parking is usually unavailable or extremely expensive.

We have 18 free spaces available at the hotel on a first come, first serve basis, depending on how busy the hotel is many of our guests are able to take advantage of this, I am sorry to hear that you were unable to on this particular occasion.

We are somewhat limited to making renovations to the hotel with it being a grade 1 and 2 listed building. Although air conditioning is unavailable, the staff are more than happy to provide fans to guests who require them.

I am happy to hear that you would return to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

As a local from Newastle(GEORDIE) my wife &i have stayed at several hotels in & around the area with a variation of likes & dislikes.
After several stays at the ROYAL STATION we cannot find any better place to be. I have stated before in these reviews,RE the charm upon entering,the elegance of the Building,including THOSE beautiful chandeliers.

The staff of the hotel are to be given the highest 5 stars all through out the hotel,as each department does an excellent job of Work.
This hotel may be one of the oldest in NEWCASTLE,but if you wish to be impressed not only by it's location,which in it's self is excellent,the rooms are upto date with all the requrements you need for a short stay or a long stay &a swimming pool in the backyard (so to speak) BRILLIANT.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staying at this hotel for business on a bed and breakfast basis for 4 nights I was very pleased with the quality of the room.

And initial impression of the hotel - I challenge you to not be impressed with the chandeliers.

Comfy bed-check.
Fridge with free water, juice -check.
Power shower - check.
Quiet room - check ( requested when booking in and definitely got a good night sleep )
Safe in room - check.
Friendly staff in bar and reception - check
Evening meal in bar - good value before 6pm and good quality regardless of time. Never busy.

So what wasn't so great:

Breakfast!!!!

This was exceptionally poor - poor facilities for buffet style and poor quality. It looked and tasted sad.

The chefs that cook the. Evening meals cannot be the same who do breakfast as it is like chalk and cheese - a totally different experience. Come on management - sort it out. Bet you don't eat breakfast here.

So if you can do without breakfast then give it a try.....or not.
It is up to you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeW310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the royal station hotel for the Northumberland plate in a superior room. The hotel reception reminds me of victorian times and is very old fashioned.
The reception staff were both friendly and helpful.
The room was massive and well equipped, however be warned the hot water is sparradic.
There is a small gym and swimming pool on site and an awesome hot tub. Worth a visit.
The ground floor bar was bouncing and the Friday happy hour is great value. (Buy one get one free on cocktails).
I also thoroughly enjoyed the Sunday lunch. It was £10 for three courses and delicious.
Overall a decent hotel and great if you want to be near the nightlife action and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing