We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed probably the worst nights stay anywhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very disappointed probably the worst nights stay anywhere.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have just returned from a stay in this hotel and one night was more than enough ,we were overwhelmed by the entrance to this hotel .stunning decor ,lovely staff all was going well until we finally found our room ,along a dark dingy corridor we entered the room to find two very large beds an adequate bathroom then we realised there were no Windows the room was claustrophobic to say the least .I rang reception to say how the room felt we were offered another room but we're told I was a long way from where we were and it had a window looking onto the main train station not wanting to be kept awake by noise we said we would stay in room 238 ,it felt like servants quarters it had an external window which faced the landing unfortunately it didn't open and no light came in .the air con was broken and the room had no air circulating it was unbearable neither myself or my daughter slept it was horrible .as I got out of bed I stood on something which turned out to be medication which concerned me as it could have been a toddler that had found it ,I googled the pill which turned out to be a form of viagra ,this made my blood boil to think the room hadn't been vacuumed since the last clients getting up to God knows in the bed I was sleeping in .a thoroughly horrible night I did complain when we checked out to a young receptionist who could only apologise ,they do not mention these stuffy internal rooms on the website I paid £ 98 for one night .totally disappointed they offer you a free mini bar and that is because your so hot in the room you need to drink oh and they send a fan which makes no reduction in the heat the noise keeps you awake .rest assured I will not stay there again and the medication I found will be sent to head office.

Room Tip: Check you're not getting an internal room and also check the aircon works !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    641
    311
    129
    121
See reviews for
188
595
189
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of wight
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were given a free upgrade to a king size room. It was huge and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and newly renovated. The minibar included was an excellent touch. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and gave us a great start to a long journey home. The convenience of stepping out of the rear exit of the hotel onto the station platform was amazing...... and we hadn't once heard a train.
The room was hot however, not too bad when you could open the windows through the day. The noise at night from the local party animals at 4am did not allow you to do this through the night.
All in all, it was an excellent choice to break our journey overnight.
Th

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindyloo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi there,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading such a lovely review.

We do our best to upgrade the majority of our guests to a larger room or a room of higher standard than they have booked.

The housekeeping staff pride themselves on taking great care in the service of rooms and public areas, so I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

Being a city centre hotel noise can be unavoidable but I am pleased that this did not affect your stay at all. We do also have quiet rooms available on request.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Coast
Level Contributor
296 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We attended a wake that was well organized, plenty of food and drink and space. Major snag was that toilets were along a corridor, across front hall, through a restaurant and downstairs.
Some lovely decor: some has seen better days. Interesting to explore parts of the station from the back entrance when we left.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if they have one -busy roads one side, station another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed a couple of nights before embarking on a cruise to Norway. There was no apparent signage to the Hotel from the Station although we did find direct access from the platform when we left! Access from the street is up a flight of steps. We booked an upgraded room as this was the beginning of a holiday. Although the room was a reasonable size, the lighting was poor and the temperature was hot and the window would not stay open. Breakfast was good - no marmite. Staff were noisy (particularly the girl who wears noisy heeled shoes on a hard floor!) and clearing the room before we had finished eating made us feel quite uncomfortable.
Reception staff and cleaning staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is actually a real nice hotel. We stayed here 5 nights in July, and in general we think its very nice.

The room was a family room and it was actually 2 big rooms with beds in each og them. In England measure the room was huge!
Positive with the free minibar stocked every day. Cleaning of room was good and beds nice.

The bathroom was almost new, and really modern. Shower pressure bad, but it was including quality soaps on the positive side.

We had a rate including breakfast. Breakfast was a cold buffet including a full hot english breakfast. We liked it a lot, good quality of everything there. Coffee nice as well, and staff really nice.
Also liked the restaurant, really cozy.

Wireless was included, but unstable and deadslow. Also be prepared for a lot of stairs around in the hotel. The elevators only cover the main. For us its no problem. But for older people i can easy see potensial issues here.

Staff at the hotel was very nice and we also got 1 hour late checkout. Positive!

So to the major problem with this hotel.
Our room was like a baker oven, and the windows can only be opened a few inches. It was extremely uncomfortable, and almost impossible to sleep at all.
We got a fan, but the value of the fan is very limited. So an horrible experience sleeping here. And worst so far during all our years with massive travel around the world.

I'm sorry but the missing AC totally destroyed our experience totally.

Cannot recommend this hotel in summertime at all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Apeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A beautiful building with huge potential. I feel that the hotel and decor is in need of a bit of TLC which I believe the hotel are attempting to do. In view of the size and genre of building, this is obviously a work in progress which is understandable .
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was quite small and like i have said, in need of modernizing in keeping with the hotels history. Overall a very pleasant stay with a feel of history due to the architecture and old fashioned ethos which I liked.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

this is in a great location for the station and looks amazing when you enter it. It is a bit noisy as it's between the station and the main street but I had earplugs so it didn't bother me. I stayed here on 2 occasions - first time I was upgraded to a suite on the 1st floor which was 2 really large rooms with lovely antique furniture. If anything the rooms seemed a bit too big and they needed something (pictures?) to make it seem less stark. The second time I was in an attic room on the top floor which was comfortable but really cold. I asked for a heater as the heating wasn't working but was told it would just take some time to heat up (it didn't but I put a cardigan on and was okay). I had room service dinner both visits which was quite nice (pasta was really good) and the breakfasts are okay too. The pool is tiny and the changing facilities need some TLC although don't suppose they can do much with the small space (across the car park) they have. It all feels a bit jaded and needs a bit of doing up but still would recommend for the location and value.

Room Tip: suites are nice although on the 1st floor so could be noisy - take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing