We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but mediocre service on our visit for Sunday lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food but mediocre service on our visit for Sunday lunch!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat here one Sunday afternoon on hearing about the three course offer for 12 pound which sounded good and also because of a friends recommendation from a previous visit. The look of the restaurant itself was fine and the staff were very helpful, polite and attentive.

The starters of soup or salad were good and no one was unhappy with them. The carvery had a great variety of tasty looking meats and vegetables to choose from, the chef serving the meats allowed us to have a piece of each on our plate which was great and we could also return for more vegetables if we liked which were all cooked well and seemed fresh. However myself and a friend had to wait nearly half an hour for plates to be available for our carvery by which point the other four people in our group who did get a plate had finished their meal and were starting on their dessert.

We were not given any real explanation by anyone for this except that we would get plates 'soon' so were sat twiddling our thumbs while waiting for some plates to be available. You would have thought that plenty of plates should be available with the restaurant itself being quiet, staff sometimes standing around with nothing to do but I understand that these things can happen for whatever unforeseen reason.

Finally we had a mixture of cheesecake, chocolate cake and apple crumble with custard for dessert and we were very happy with them. We all agreed that we would eat here again although you would hope that something as simple as clean plates being available in a quarter full restaurant should be a given. Good quality food overall for the price and service except for the plate issue so definitely worth a try!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 870gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing your comments on your experience of our Sunday Lunch.

We are sorry to hear there were insufficient plates available.

We do hope this did not detract from your overall experience.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    660
    322
    129
    121
See reviews for
200
607
193
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've stayed here several times & love the overall experience; it's in such a convenient location with friendly staff, glorious furnishings & small touches like free fridge contents.
There was an issue with drunken guests in the early hours banging on doors, shouting, etc when I stayed at the weekend, although the staff on duty tried to intervene promptly.
I plan to stay here whenever I visit Newcastle in future.

Room Tip: Request not to be near a wedding reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay.

We do hope the guests did not detract from your experience too much.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we have stayed in this hotel several times and each time it has been fantastic. it has such a central location for everything. we had a superior room, which was very spacious and delightfully decorated with gorgeous furniture. also included in the room was iron and ironing board, fridge with complimentary items, such a nice touch Our room was at the front of the hotel, and we didn't hear any noise at all. the check-in staff were extremely nice, fast and efficient. we were recommended to take one of the hotel car spaces at the rear of the hotel which were free, another bonus, especially for a city centre hotel. prices for our weekend were reasonable too. just cant fault this hotel at all.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: its worth paying a bit extra for the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments.

The hotel certainly does boast a central location offering easy access to the city of Newcastle upon Tyne.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was very lucky to be upgraded to a suite by the Hotel, the staff especially Steven and the waitress' could not have been kinder or more helpful to me whilst I was staying there. They made my trip extra special by suggesting other places to visit and restaurants to try for lunch whilst out exploring. The location itself was perfect as I was travelling alone via train and they kindly looked after my bags after I had checked out until my train was due. The breakfast that I had was of a high standard and the room service was especially efficient and prompt. Many thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making this a trip I will always treasure! Also, as a solo female traveller I felt very safe in the hotel and in the area it is located.

Room Tip: The rooms can vary from pictures on the website, and it is worth ringing to ask what room you will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear of your recent experience at the Royal Station Hotel.

We will ensure your comments are passed on to the staff.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights. The room was very nice but in the first night it was windy and the windows rattled. As the windows are old wooden frames they have a lot of movement in them. A folded bit of paper solved this problem. They really do need upgrading if they wish to get a higher star rating. May as well put double glazing in to cut the noise out from the station. Apart from that small issue it's a great hotel. They do a great cooked breakfast. Which is worth getting up for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LFOOD-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback.

Can I ask which room you stayed in and the date of your arrival?

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed here three times now - it's a convenient stop to/from Scotland. Very central, easy parking (station car park), handy for the restaurants along the river. Spectacular old hotel, a bit frayed around the edges but worth a look. Rooms seem to vary quite a lot i.e. size, noise - we prefer ones at the back, despite a bit of low noise from the station, and we were given a free upgrade this time.

Given it's a big hotel, there can be quite a walk to some rooms, along slightly dingy corridors and with quite a lot of stairs (ask for assistance with luggage) - but the rooms themselves always seem fine, if lacking a little attention to detail (e.g. unemptied rubbish bins, minor curtain malfunctions).

Decent enough breakfast. We will continue to use this hotel when in Newcastle - very good for purpose but could be a bit disappointing if you were after somewhere special.

Room Tip: Rear rooms tend to be quieter - busy road out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indie-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for providing your comments and feedback.

Our staff pride themselves on offering the help and assistance required to ensure our guest stays meet and exceed their expectations.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My friend hired the Collingwood Room for her wedding party. The room was lovely, and large. Plus a separate room for the buffet. The food was excellent. We had a great night. The DJ' s music was also great maybe a little too loud. Ideal location for any party.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted you enjoyed your friends party here the Royal Station Hotel.

Along with offering first class accommodation we also cater for meetings, parties and weddings.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing