We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you book a room at back of hotel so aren't woken by pneumatic drill from street works”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Make sure you book a room at back of hotel so aren't woken by pneumatic drill from street works. And also if you want to book the beautician you need to call and book a day in advance, their website doesn't stipulate that. Otherwise all good!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexaEwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel.

Your comment regarding the beautician has been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very impressed by this hotel and its friendly staff. Clean,well-appointed room (one of the "superior" rooms) at a very reasonable rate. The Leisure Centre is the cleanest and best-maintained that we've seen in any of the hotels we've visited.
(The Hotel itself could usefully make the times when the Centre isn't open more obvious on its main website.)
All of Newcastle that's worth seeing is easily reached on foot. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Back of hotel preferred by us - the front looks out on an interesting but busy part of Newcastle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our Superior bedrooms.

Taking pride in the cleanliness of all areas of the hotel is one area the staff take great pride in.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at the Royal Station on a Saturday evening- one of the busiest nights and the quality was still brilliant!
The rooms were sparkling clean and spacious, with excellent amenities. Food was fantastic and view brilliant to all make for a very enjoyable city break!
I had a couple of minor problems which were acknowledged and looked into immediately- giving a great DO CARE attitude to customers and their well-being!
I was driving and the train station car park was pricey ( nothing to do with the hotel ), but literally a stones throw from central station for train travellers.
A very enjoyable stay- highly recommended! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us of your recent stay.

The staff all most certainly do work with a principal of DO CARE for our guests.

Being literally next door to the train station is certainly one of many advantages of using our hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Recently stayed here as a group for a hen do. The hotel was beautiful, clean and the service from staff was fantastic. The full english breakfast was delicious, loads to choose from! We used the luggage room as couldn't check in until 3pm but the service was quick and efficient. The hotel is in a central location and close to all restaurants, shops, etc. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfy! The free fridge contents were an added touch, definitely what was needed after a night out :-) Overall our stay was fantastic and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sugarsweet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your glowing comments of your recent stay at the Royal Station Hotel.

The fridge in the bedrooms does offer that little extra touch of comfort to our guest stays.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

recently stayed here for the wkend...had a fab time, central location, had an upgraded room which appeared to have been recently refurbished, staff all really friendly and polite....the only draw back was lack of car parking spaces, needed to park in train station car park which is quite expensive....would definately stay again but would get train next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback on your recent experience at the Royal Station Hotel.

We do have limited car parking unfortunately, however the spaces we do have are complimentary.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We decided to eat here one Sunday afternoon on hearing about the three course offer for 12 pound which sounded good and also because of a friends recommendation from a previous visit. The look of the restaurant itself was fine and the staff were very helpful, polite and attentive.

The starters of soup or salad were good and no one was unhappy with them. The carvery had a great variety of tasty looking meats and vegetables to choose from, the chef serving the meats allowed us to have a piece of each on our plate which was great and we could also return for more vegetables if we liked which were all cooked well and seemed fresh. However myself and a friend had to wait nearly half an hour for plates to be available for our carvery by which point the other four people in our group who did get a plate had finished their meal and were starting on their dessert.

We were not given any real explanation by anyone for this except that we would get plates 'soon' so were sat twiddling our thumbs while waiting for some plates to be available. You would have thought that plenty of plates should be available with the restaurant itself being quiet, staff sometimes standing around with nothing to do but I understand that these things can happen for whatever unforeseen reason.

Finally we had a mixture of cheesecake, chocolate cake and apple crumble with custard for dessert and we were very happy with them. We all agreed that we would eat here again although you would hope that something as simple as clean plates being available in a quarter full restaurant should be a given. Good quality food overall for the price and service except for the plate issue so definitely worth a try!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank 870gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for providing your comments on your experience of our Sunday Lunch.

We are sorry to hear there were insufficient plates available.

We do hope this did not detract from your overall experience.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've stayed here several times & love the overall experience; it's in such a convenient location with friendly staff, glorious furnishings & small touches like free fridge contents.
There was an issue with drunken guests in the early hours banging on doors, shouting, etc when I stayed at the weekend, although the staff on duty tried to intervene promptly.
I plan to stay here whenever I visit Newcastle in future.

Room Tip: Request not to be near a wedding reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 202Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay.

We do hope the guests did not detract from your experience too much.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £53 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing