We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meant to be 70s/80s bar we were decieved” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flares

Flares
Attraction details
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Meant to be 70s/80s bar we were decieved”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and my partner had a short break in newcastle i heard about this bar on the internet cant tell enough how disuappointed iwas to find it being a normal dance place no music from 70s/80s at all. The place was freezing we only stayed an hour then left it spoilt the night for me . Dont go if you are expecting the same as me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    4
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
“How nice is that? :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was in Flares with friends Friday night and lost my bag. Some lovely folk helped me look but we couldn't find it. Went back in on Saturday afternoon and the really nice woman cleaning up was delighted to return it... laughing at me she told me It had been found pride of place in the middle of the dance floor :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“90's music on a Saturday!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I used to really enjoy going for a dance in Flares due to the genre of music played, the majority being 70's. However last night about 75% of the music was 90's. So if you are looking for a cheesy 90's bar this is the place to go.....yet don't expect much 70's or 80's on Saturday night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Just the place to let your hair down and people watch. Good dance music, friendly staff and the place to be to finish the night off. Door fee weekends.
Bearing in mind after reading other people's comments, the place starts out clean but obviously there is no accounting for client's bad cleanliness!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank willden-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Down for a night out from town near Glasgow and this place had been recommended. Dont know why. The place was very much in need of new decor. Drinks are overpriced. Toilets are a disgrace. Totally stinking, not clean ,no attendant in ladies only in mens. I think there was just about as many toilets in the ladies without a seat.
We had prebooked a booth which was £30, DONT BOOK THIS. Everyone is dancing so seats are empty anyway. Didnt stay long, went somewhere better which was not hard to find.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kwazzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flares also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Flares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing