We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our perfect wedding day made even more perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our perfect wedding day made even more perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We married in the hotel on 15th July. We booked our wedding here 18 months ago and enjoyed planning it, right down to the actual day. Any questions needing to be answered were done so in a friendly and warm manner (even when I almost turned bridezilla)
In our heads we had an idea of what we wanted from the day and what it was to look like, those expectations were completely blow-out of the water and were made even more perfect.
We did not have to worry about a single thing and that made us relax, alot.
The service was wonderful, the afternoon brilliant, the meal was served efficiently and was gorgeous! Not a single complaint with anything from anyone.
The staff, including the waitresses bar staff and even kitchen staff and reception were exceptional. They involved themselves with our guests, laughing and joking and none of which was false or forced. They were genuinely friendly staff who appeared to enjoy our day as much as we did. Even to the point of telling us how much when we seen them the following morning.
Stuart, who was looking after us on the day went beyond anything we could've asked for also, he mingled with the guests, whilst not once taking his attention from us and was there at any point we needed him. There was no glitches or problems and for that we will be eternally grateful. He made our magic happen, and made our day perfect! We could not ask for more.
Everything was as it should've been, and I would without a doubt recommend this hotel to everyone.
Thank you to all who made our dreams come true. we look forward to returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-AnneBentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    314
    90
    23
    14
See reviews for
130
208
35
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We enjoyed two short stays during July 2011. The location is very good - just a short walk into the centre of the city, very close to the Metro station and well placed for walks in Jesmond Dene. The hotel has a large, free car park which is a huge benefit in Jesmond. Facilities are modern and spotlessly clean as expected from a big chain hotel, but what made this special was the friendly and personal attention from all the staff we encountered - nothing seemed too much trouble. I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agoodroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations016, Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond. We are happy to hear that you had a very pleasant and comfortable stay and appreciate your comments I have passed them onto our team, and look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed here in June with two friends and really enjoyed it and would absolutely come back! Normally we stay in the Holiday Inns cheaper counterpart Holiday Inn express however paying that little extra was absolutely a good idea! We stayed Friday and Saturday night and on the friday night sampled the special menus in the restraunt which were ideal. My friend and i each got 2 courses and a bottle of Rose for £29 and my other friend had a pizza from the ala carte menu and said it tasted better than pizzas shes had in italy itself! There was a function on so the bar next to the restraunt was very busy but it gave a nice atmosphere for a friday night in the toon! The bedrooms were stunning and had little gadgets so you could plug in your ipod! We payed the ten pounds for breakfast on the saturday morning and that was good value for money compared to other hotel breakfast upgrades ive had in the past. Nice selection of cold continental foods as well as a wide range of cooked breakfasts. Staff were very attentive considering a whole load of people from the function the night before had all appeared at the same time as us. still had our tea and toast on the table before we had even had a chance to look at the buffet selection! Reception staff were also attentive and wished us a pleasant drive home which was nice. also had free car parking which was a bonus and saved any dramas. all in absolutely a great stay and will definitely stay here again next time we're up in newcastle!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chappy_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations016, Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond. We at the Hotel appreciate feedback from our guests. Our restaurant has a wide range of menus available and are happy to hear you chose our Wine and Dine for £29. I have passed your compliements to all our teams within the Hotel regarding your stay and they are appreciative of them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

I had the pleasure of stayin at this hotel and really enjoyed it! Although it was a short buisiness trip the staff at the hotel made it very enjoyable, The reception staff gave me a warm welcome and were very eficient and helpful. The room was well presented and the furnishigs were modern and I had the pleasure of an up to date entertainment system including free wifi and the ability to record a tv program whilste I enjoyed the delights of there dining experience.The restaurant was modern and a pleasure to sit in while dining. The waiting staff were very polite and eficient serving my 3 course meal in a timley manner. upon leaving the hotel I checked out and as when I checked in the reception staff were very polite and efficient. I would highly recomend this hotel and look forward to visiting again on my next trip to Newcastle.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastcoast_traveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations016, Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Newcastle Jesmond. As always we strive to maintain a high standard throughout the stay of our guests and are happy to hear that this was maintained during yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed here with a few friends and despite the reviews I read was satisfied. Pleasant de core, and attentive staff. Wasn't on the list at breakfast but staff were very polite and sorted this out with no problems. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p_thompson_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations016, Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for your review regarding your recent enjoyable stay at Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond and look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

stayed here for one night and wont be checking in again. Receptionist lacking any sort of manners, bedrooms need tlc ( tv not working, light bulbs broken and marked sheets), Service in the restaurant very poor with staff not even present and a very loud cook with a fowl mouth. Breakfast was ok although tables were dirty, however the bar was very pleasant but not enough to win me over .Management needed and would be a superb holiday inn .

Room Tip: dont check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darthvader123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Hallingbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here for one night on business at the University of Northumbria. Very conveniently located 1 metro stop from the centre, and a 5 minute walk from the metro stop. Looks very new from the outside, and a nice bright welcoming foyer, with friendly staff at reception. Rooms are nicely decorated, not chainy-looking at all, with a bath in every one, comfortable bed, fast and free wi-fi and digital plasma tv.

After a great night's sleep, i was looking forward to my free cooked breakfast, but firstly they didn't have my room on their list, secondly they sat me down at a table that wasn't properly laid, and thirdly didn't ask me if i wanted tea or coffee and toast, when everyone else that came in was. There weren't any glasses at the juice station, and despite it only being 9 o'clock and 1 hour of breakfast service to go, there wasn't much choice of cooked breakfast at the buffet. The egg and beans dishes had the lids on and were too hot to remove, there was no-one behind the counter to take them off for you.

I only booked this for the Priority club reward points but i wouldn't hesitate to come again, (and get up a bit earlier next time!) There are so many hotels in Newcastle but if you can get a good rate here book it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirtualOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing